We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated but great location and friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Club House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 hotels in Kilkenny
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A bit dated but great location and friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

If you like chic modern hotels with a lift to your room then don't bother with this one. However if you like a bit of old world charm, clean rooms and good service then this hotel is great value for money. Ok it's not the Ritz but its all you need for a few days to explore the beautiful Kilkenny. We stayed in the more recently built extension at the back and this was definitely more quiet than the front rooms. The breakfast was lovely and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They arranged an extra early breakfast for us as we were there for a sporting event and it was no problem making hot chocolate for my daughter who didn't drink tea or coffee. There's a nice wee bar downstairs if you don't want to go too far but the hotels central location means most bars and restaurants are only a few paces away.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    43
    38
    19
    20
See reviews for
16
54
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

e visited here for a one night break in Early November 2012. Like others have said it is a maze of corridors. The Gentleman at reception was most helpful. The hotel is very central. The rooms were clean. The staff were very nice. The car park is central and accessible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I've just come back from a 1 night stay in the Club House Hotel. The only good thing this Hotel has going for it is it's location. As it is pretty central to town. However, there are plenty of other Hotels, also central to the town, that I would recommend you stay in. It's a dark, dreary, dirty, damp, smelly dump. It had narrow corridors and plenty of stairs. The walls on the corridors were filthy, the staff's appearance left a lot to be desired. We were informed at Check-in that Breakfast was being served up until 10.30am. We reluctantly decided to chance the Breakfast at 10.25am. On arrival to the Restaurant, we were greeted with "What do yiz want girls ?, Yiz won't be gettin breakfast, Breakfast is finished". When we explained that we were informed at Check-in that Breakfast was being served until 10.30. We also checked with other guests in the group and they confirmed that they were also told 10.30. We were shocked, horrified and embarrassed by this staff member's attitude to paying customers. Might I add, that we stayed in a triple room, at a cost of €100 per head, which included a full Irish Breakfast. On reflection, it's unbelievable that in this current climate, a dump like this can get away with charging these rates. We ended up leaving and going to a Restaurant next door, called Zuni, where we were treated to a delicious breakfast and served by professional staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Good location, parking, clean, helpful staff in a central location in Kilkenny. They serve an excellent breakfast. The hotel itself is a bit of a maze. The attached restaurant serves good meals. A bit high priced for what you get.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in mid October . On our arrival on the Friday evening, when we eventually found our room, there are lots of corridors and stairs, we found our room to be musty and smell of damp. Although it was very clean the bathroom was from another era. Breakfast the next morning was basic and small, one sausage one rasher etc.Our meal on one night was included in our package it was ok, I got the monkfish which was chewy, my husband had duck and his was a much better meal then mine. Overall for the money we spend I didn't think we got good value and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitestone, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had a wonderful time staying there--v/charming--great location--great food--v/accommodating--wonderful price--upon checking out at 5:00 AM the hotel staff moved mountains to send us off in proper style by fixing for us an iconic full Irish breakfast well before the normal hours for food service--when you talk about extending oneself this said it all--would definitely stay there again--Kevin and Ellen Flynn--Whitestone NY

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here for a hen party for two nights. Easy location to find, car park is located at back of premises. Check in was very quick and receptionist was friendly. Bedrooms were located to back of hotel and had to carry all our lugguage up stairs and walk down corridors to get to our rooms. Shower was just okay. On the plus side the breakfast that was included with our room was very good and the dining room staff were extremely nice and friendly. The late bar was great and bar staff were very helpful. The location is the main advantage to this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club House Hotel

Address: Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Club House Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing traditional hospitality with modern day luxuries, The Club House Hotel Kilkenny is a charming family run hotel in the heart of Medieval Kilkenny City. This magnificent 18th Century Kilkenny Hotel maintains a 210 year old traditional of effortless comfort hospitality and efficiency. The Club House Hotel Kilkenny is located in a quiet area on Patrick Street, just around the corner from the famous Kilkenny Castle & Design Centre and less than a minutes walk from shopping, bars, restaurants, nightclubs and attractions making it the ideal place to stay for your visit to Kilkenny. Complimentary Wireless Internet Access is also available in certain areas of the Club House Kilkenny Hotel as well as complementary onsite carparking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Club House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club House Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Club House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.