We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff--food--location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Club House Hotel to your Saves list
Club House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Whitestone, New York
1 review
“Wonderful staff--food--location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had a wonderful time staying there--v/charming--great location--great food--v/accommodating--wonderful price--upon checking out at 5:00 AM the hotel staff moved mountains to send us off in proper style by fixing for us an iconic full Irish breakfast well before the normal hours for food service--when you talk about extending oneself this said it all--would definitely stay there again--Kevin and Ellen Flynn--Whitestone NY

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    54
    41
    22
    21
See reviews for
18
61
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westmeath, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here for a hen party for two nights. Easy location to find, car park is located at back of premises. Check in was very quick and receptionist was friendly. Bedrooms were located to back of hotel and had to carry all our lugguage up stairs and walk down corridors to get to our rooms. Shower was just okay. On the plus side the breakfast that was included with our room was very good and the dining room staff were extremely nice and friendly. The late bar was great and bar staff were very helpful. The location is the main advantage to this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in September of 2012. Greeted by a warm staff. This is an older hotel and I knew this going into it. The hotel is full of Victorian charm. Our room was quiet and clean. It was a few minutes walking distance to everything. The breakfast which was included in the room was quite tasty and lots of it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went here on a voucher for 2 nights b&b and a bottle of wine. The hotel were helpful enough to accommodate us at a weekend even though that wasn't part of the original voucher deal. At the voucher price, it was excellent value and we loved the service that we got from the staff in the hotel who were always helpful, friendly and courteous. The place itself has probably seen better days and the rooms are a little retro with sink in the bedroom and old-school sliding door to the bathroom. That said, the rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. The hotel is well situated in the centre of Kilkenny and has customer parking at the back which is useful. Breakfast choice is good with a buffet available to pick from and hot options also available - I advise hungry people to avail of both. Fish is available for breakfast too which makes a nice change. I must warn you about the full Irish though - there is no black pudding, the serving is quite small and the fried bread is the worst that I have ever had (the rest of the full Irish is good though) - fried bread should be crispy and have flavour (be is salt/pepper or whatever was in pan) - it should not be soggy and limp and taste only of lukewarn vegetable oil - yuk! Fish was also lovely with poached eggs and breakfast staff were very good. Though I doubt that I would pay full price to stay here to be honest, if they've any offers on then it's certainly worth considering.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I bought a voucher for a two night stay in this hotel with breakfast and a bottle of wine included in the price. This was a good offer but I think I would be disappointed if I paid full price...so opt for the voucher....
It was a nice hotel and the few staff that we encountered were pleasant but there were one or two things that need to be improved. Without the risk of insulting the character of the hotel, there are stairs everywhere; it is a bit of a maze and there was no-one to help us with our bags. My partner and I were given a room in the extension, which was not a gentle addition to this hotel. From the wooden floors and rich carpeting of the original house to the faded green, needing a revamp carpet in the extension, it was more than a little drab. Our room was clean, but the bathroom definitely hasn’t been updated in a long time...with the blue and white clinical tiles. We didn’t sample breakfast as we weren’t blown away by what the hotel offered us so far, so we opted to eat out.
Overall the hotel was comfortable but nothing to write home about. The staff are not unpleasant in any way, but they didn’t really make their presence known either. It was a basic but comfortable hotel to stay in but I think I may sample a different hotel on my next stay in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

THe location of this hotel is great, a stroll away from the castle and the night life. The room was spacious enough for my wife and I. The beds were comfortable the room clean and a large ensuite. The reception staff and staff in general were friendly and chatty. The breakfast was very nice and well presented in a timely manner. We would definetly return and would recommend this hotel. If you want a seven star hotel, look elsewhere, the Club House does what it says in the tin.
We both loved the originality of the hotel and didnt mind the stairs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in the Club House hotel in June 2012. Luckily we got a highly discounted rate because if they had charged us full price we would have left as soon as we saw the room. For a start we had to drag our luggage up a few flights of stairs as there was no lift. The carpets were stained and threadbare in some places. The hotel itself felt like a maze. It looked as thought it might have been a nice place 20 years ago but little money has been spent on it for a long time and it has a very run down feeling to it. The shower barely worked, it just trickled luke warm water, and when I mentioned it to the lady at reception when we were checking out she offered no apology or discount.

On the plus side the breakfast that was included with our room was surprisingly good and the dining room staff attentive and friendly. It also had a good central location close to the castle.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club House Hotel

Address: Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Club House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing traditional hospitality with modern day luxuries, The Club House Hotel Kilkenny is a charming family run hotel in the heart of Medieval Kilkenny City. This magnificent 18th Century Kilkenny Hotel maintains a 210 year old traditional of effortless comfort hospitality and efficiency. The Club House Hotel Kilkenny is located in a quiet area on Patrick Street, just around the corner from the famous Kilkenny Castle & Design Centre and less than a minutes walk from shopping, bars, restaurants, nightclubs and attractions making it the ideal place to stay for your visit to Kilkenny. Complimentary Wireless Internet Access is also available in certain areas of the Club House Kilkenny Hotel as well as complementary onsite carparking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Club House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club House Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Club House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.