We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Hotel- best in ireland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Newpark Hotel to your Saves list
Newpark Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castlecomer Road | Kilkenny City, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
dublin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family Hotel- best in ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just back from a second family break in Newpark, brilliant facilities and a great family break again. For the price and the activities on site, it has to be the best family friendly friendly hotel in Ireland. Our little one didn't want to leave after a three day break and the staff were brilliant with her.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear DublinIrishdave,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and indeed for choosing to stay with us on a family break once again.

It was a pleasure to read your review, and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your visit. I am very glad to hear that your child didn't want to leave. This is the environment we aim to offer for all guests.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future and please don't hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
General Manager
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Tel: 056 7760500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    298
    88
    29
    25
See reviews for
364
271
15
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed only one night at this hotel but had a fantastic night sleep. We arrived in Dublin and after a day of exploring the eastern country side, crashed quite late at this hotel. But the rooms were lovely and the breakfast in the morning was very appetizing. This place is only 10mins walk to the major attractions in Kilkenny and the staff at the reception were very helpful in guiding us through the old town. There was a spa and other lovely facility which we could not explore since we were short on time but would certainly make a perfect getaway for a weekend or even more. They have a little farm behind the hotel with sheeps, llamas, rabbits and many domesticated animals which was very cute to walk past. Would recommend this place as a perfect getaway for either couples or people with children as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear bebo23,

Thank you very much indeed for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to write your wonderful review.

It was an absolute delight to read through your review, and I am thrilled to know that you all enjoyed your stay

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Newpark Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
General Manager
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Tel: 056 7760500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This Hotel is Simply Stunning. It is comfortable and spotless.
On arrival We were greeted by a very friendly and polite young Lady
Check in was very efficient
Our Room was gorgeous with a flat screen television and free wi fi which works
Parking was good also
Used the facilities the sauna and my Partner used the Spa. We both found this to be excellent
Breakfast was self service and there was something to suit every ones tastes
Dinner was excellent and the portions was very decent
Had afternoon tea which was gorgeous there was a selection of sandwiches and pastries to choose from
The Pet Farm was also a lovely feature offered to Hotel Patrons. This would be ideal for animal lovers or Young Children
Would Definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Second Floor very Quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear tonysteph,

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Newpark Hotel, and also for taking the time to write your review of our hotel.

I am thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Its delightful to read that we delivered on service on all aspects of the hotel.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
General Manager
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Tel: 056 7760500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a small reunion of classmates of a certain age. The hotel gave us a private dining room and an excellent meal. Very good value and a lovely night was had by all. The bar remained open as there was a wedding on that evening, and we enjoyed the craic well into the small hours. Some of us stayed in the hotel that night. The rooms are of a very high standard, similar to its sister hotel, The Imperial, in Cork. I would recommend the place highly. We hope to return for another get-together next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear dittany,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind review, and for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Kilkenny.

I am thrilled that you and were so pleased with our hotel and the facilities on offer.


I very much hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Newpark Hotel again in the near future

Kind Regards
Mark Dunne
General Manager
The Newpark hotel
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Tel: 056 7760500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent last weekend at the hotel to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. It was a family celebration with 19 of us staying there. I don't think we could have had a better experience anywhere else. From the time we checked in on Friday afternoon until we left on Sunday we were treated with such care and attention. Nothing was too much trouble. And it was done in such a natural homely way (nothing forced and over the top like some places) and yet remaining so professional.
We were given an upgrade to a superior room which was really nice. The decor was very tasteful and the bed was extremely comfortable. There was also a bottle of wine waiting in the room for us which was much appreciated!
I really could not fault this hotel at all. The food was delicious on both evenings with a lovely relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant. Again the staff were amazing and very patient with some of the younger children in our group. They pulled out all the stops for the birthday dinner on the Saturday night and gave us a beautifully decorated private room. They were so attentive and friendly all night and never once hinted we needed to vacate the room.!
The facilities are excellent with part of the hotel being an original older house which Is where the dining area is, which I hadn't realised. The grounds are lovely to stroll around and have a small petting zoo which the children loved.
Will definitely be returning to the Newpark

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Carliefinn,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent party with Newpark Hotel.

It is wonderful to know that you had a great service experience in the hotel and that your stay was enjoyable and relaxing for your family.

I look forward to personally extending some of the Newpark’s renowned hospitality on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
General Manager
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Tel: 056 7760500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Its very rare that I stop and think "wow, this is a really great experience". But that happened last weekend at this hotel, and so I made a promise to myself to give it the review it deserves on Trip Advisor. Very noticeably friendly staff, helpful and relaxed. Tasteful interior design. Incredible value with the autumn special offer package. Decent standard of food in the restaurant. One of the best all-round hotel experiences I've ever had.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Micheal B,

Thank you for the lovely review following your recent visit to Newpark Hotel.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your experience at Newpark Hotel.
The is the service we aim to deliver at all time.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
General Manager
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Tel: 056 7760500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spend in Newpark hotel one night, 2 of us and baby. We booked package including breakfast a bottle of wine in room , a very good evening meal and huge afternoon tea with sandwiches and cakes :-) Our girl loved little farm on the back of the hotel, and play zone, we loved swimming pool and jacuzzi outside. Staff in reception and restaurant were very nice and professional. We really liked the size, cleanest of the room . We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear maya1972,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently on Newpark Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne
General Manager
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Tel: 056 7760500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Address: Castlecomer Road | Kilkenny City, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amind 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newpark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.