We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break, with an expensive sting in the tail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Newpark Hotel to your Saves list
Newpark Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castlecomer Road | Kilkenny City, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Kilcoole, Ireland
1 review
“Great break, with an expensive sting in the tail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband, five year old daughter, three year old son and I stayed in the hotel for three nights in January. We had a great time, and really enjoyed the pool and easy access to the city. The food in the bar (which we thought would be more relaxed an environment than the restaurant) was divine. However, as we were packing up and getting ready to leave we realised that out spare wheel, worth €300 had been stolen from the back of the car (VW Caravelle). The hotel management had a look through the CCTV footage but couldn't identify the thief. It was a real slap in the face, and in retrospect tainted our otherwise lovely memories of the break.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear JoanneM,

Thank you for feedback and for choosing to stay at The Newpark Hotel.

I’m delighted that your overall experience and stay with us was an enjoyable one and I would welcome an opportunity to discuss your comments regarding your departure, at a time convienent to you.

I have listed my contact details below and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne

General Manager
The Newpark Hotel
Castlecomer Road
Kilkenny

Tel: 056 776 0500

Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    296
    88
    29
    25
See reviews for
362
271
15
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Staff are always friendly and willing to help in anyway. Superior rooms are just beautiful. So cosy and clean. Room service is prompt and friendly. Have stayed here a few times and its is consistantly high quality. Twice there were weddings on during my stay and there was a great atmosphere in the hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Dublin_Aoife,

Thank you for wonderful feedback and for choosing to stay at The Newpark Hotel.

I’m delighted that your experience and stay with us was an enjoyable one and that you had an opportunity to enjoy all of the wonderful facilities available to guests here at The Newpark.

Please don’t hesitate in contacting me personally before your next visit to the Newpark Hotel as I would be delighted to personally extend some of the Newpark's renowned hospitality.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne

General Manager
The Newpark Hotel
Castlecomer Road
Kilkenny

Tel: 056 776 0500

Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Not a great hotel at all. Our room was a double room with Only a door dividing us and the guests next door who we did not know. Double rooms should be given to families only. We had to listen to the young couple next door until 3am both nights shouting and up to the usual bedroom antics. Restaurant and lobby are dated and drab. Food also was below par for a 4 star. That said, good location and staff. I would just book somewhere more modern if i was staying in Kilkenny again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear The muffinheads,

Firstly thank you for feedback and for choosing to stay at The Newpark Hotel.

I can assure you, your experience is in no way indicative of our usual level of guest experience here at The Newpark.

I would welcome an opportunity to discuss your comments at a time convenient to you and I have listed my contacts details below.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Mark Dunne

General Manager
The Newpark Hotel
Castlecomer Road
Kilkenny

Tel: 056 776 0500

Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I along with our two young children stayed for one night on Saturday 19th Jan, 2013 and would highly recommend this hotel. My husband had a meeting in Kilkenny on the Saturday afternoon and we decided to stay at the Newpark based on other Tripadvisor reviews.

We had a nice family room, access to the pool and a delicious dinner in the bar/bistro in the evening. Breakfast was equally as high standard and the staff could not have been more helpful. They were very accommodating of any requests/menu substitutions for the children and were very friendly. We look forward to returning again for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher numbered room as the 00/01/02 rooms are right by the stairs/lift which I would imag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear eaka2007

Thank you for wonderful feedback and for choosing to stay at The Newpark Hotel.

I’m delighted that your experience and stay with us was an enjoyable one and that you had an opportunity to enjoy all of the wonderful facilities available to families here at The Newpark.

Please don’t hesitate in contacting me personally before your next visit to the Newpark Hotel as I would be delighted to personally extend some of the Newpark's renowned hospitality.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne

General Manager
The Newpark Hotel
Castlecomer Road
Kilkenny

Tel: 056 776 0500

Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Had a superb Christmas break in the Newpark. We opened our bedroom door to find a Christmas tree lit up in our room. What a fabulous touch. Loved it all & such great staff. It's a superb hotel for families but has class, quality & comfort other family hotels don't have. This was our fourth stay & it gets better every time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Rox09

Thank you for continuing to choose the Newpark as your prefferred hotel when visiting Kilkenny city and for your wonderful feedback.

I’m delighted that your experience and stay with us was an enjoyable one and that you especially liked your Chirstmas tree.

Please don’t hesitate in contacting me personally before your next visit to the Newpark Hotel as I would be delighted to personally extend some of the Newpark's renowned hospitality.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Mark Dunne

General Manager
The Newpark Hotel
Castlecomer Road
Kilkenny

Tel: 056 776 0500

Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for two nites, I thought it was a very nice hotel the staff on the other hand were not very nice. When I checked in and went to my room I was shocked to walk in and find sumone else in it, when I went to sort it out the receptionist was'nt a bit nice. On the day of my departure I settled my bill for room service. A couple of days later I receive a bill from the hotel stating that I ate a few times and that I owed them money which in fact I hadn't even checked in to the hotel on these dates they had billed me for. I rang the hotel and explained and they didnt even hve the decency to appologise. I would under no circumstances stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Kcgw,

Thank you for choosing the Newpark during your recent visit to Kilkenny City.

I’m delighted that overall you enjoyed the facilities available to you here at the hotel. However I was disappointed to read your comments in relation to your stay and billing errors.

I would be delighted to discuss your feedback in persons at a time suitable to you. My contact details are listed below and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Mark Dunne
General Manager
The Newpark Hotel
Castlecomer Road
Kilkenny

Tel: 056 776 0500

Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Have just spent 3nts here with my wife,and we were both very pleased with hotel,and staff.They were all very friendly and helpfull,from check in,to bar staff,waitress,and night porters,they could not do enough for us.We stayed in room 333,and it was clean and quite,and the bathroom is quite modern with a fab shower.(no shower caps)but rang reception and they had some sent to our room withen a few min.Would defenitely stay there again if we return to Kilkenny.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Ballymote,

Thank you for wonderful feedback and for choosing to stay at The Newpark Hotel.

I’m delighted that your experience and stay with us was an enjoyable one and that you had an opportunity to enjoy all of the wonderful facilities available to guests here at The Newpark.

Please don’t hesitate in contacting me personally before your next visit to the Newpark Hotel as I would be delighted to personally extend some of the Newpark's renowned hospitality.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Mark Dunne

General Manager
The Newpark Hotel
Castlecomer Road
Kilkenny

Tel: 056 776 0500

Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Address: Castlecomer Road | Kilkenny City, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amind 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newpark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.