We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kilkenny to your Saves list
Hotel Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mayo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed here for valentines weekend. Restuarant staff very on the ball. all the extras for valentines were lovely.
Rooms are plain and basic but with everything you need.
Food is good not a typical country menu but nice to have something different.
Would definately stay again if i was in kilkenny.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and great review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I will ensure your comments are passed to the Kitchen Team. Hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again soon.
Regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    312
    181
    80
    35
See reviews for
195
440
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stay here regularly always get well looked after. The food is alright and don't want to speak to soon but has actually improved recently. Breakfast ok but could do with some more fresh fruits and stuff that is actually good for you(fyi I stay away alot so a good full irish doesn't always suit) Always get one of the superior rooms which are large but lack that homely/comfy feel (a little like the monart) and imagination. Staff fine some better than others! Leisure centre pretty good plenty of equipment in the gym good sized pool and sauna steam room all working well, it could do with a bit of a face lift but all in all clean and more than acceptable. Not a bad hotel at all!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Another repeat guest ! Customer feedback is very important to us and none more so that from our repeat Guests.... so thank you for your comments. We have just completed the upgrade on our standard rooms and the Club rooms which you mention are next !.... this hopefully will be done over the next few months. Hopefully on your next stay you will see the improvements. Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

2nd time to stay here and really like the place. really nice decor and friendly staff. Location is a little out of town but no more than 10-15 min stroll into city centre. Good selection for breakfast and use of the leisure centre is always nice.

Room Tip: stayed in Room 414 with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to see this is the 2nd review from a repeat guest this week.... thank you. I will make sure the Team get to see a copy of your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Thanks again,
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Went away for weekend, hotel is okay or fine, but it's missing something, rooms are ok, bar is ok,
Breakie is ok, gym is ok, spa is ok,
No place for guests to sit around and watch the world go by, small sitting area beside front door or in the bar, not sure if I would return, better hotels in town

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
I see that you didn't enjoy your time with us and while you though the Hotel was OK clearly we didn't meet with your expectations in some areas. Should you feel you would like to make contact with me directly to elaborate on your review please do not hesitate in making contact with me directly.
Thank you again and kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager - experience@hotelkilkenny.ie
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Hotel looks great and we felt welcomed by the warm reception staff who advised us we had been upgraded to a deluxe room which meant our weekend was off to a great start. Really nice modern room and bathroom which we could not fault. Lovely relaxed atmosphere in the hotel which was complimented by live music each night in the bar. Cocktails could definitely be improved though or else stay clear! Breakfast and dinner we were not impressed with. Dinner felt very rushed and the menu is uninspiring. Feels like the chef has lost interest. Improve the food and this would be an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am very sorry that your experience with us was not up to your expectations. I will ensure that both our Chef and Bar Manager get a copy of your comments. However I can read that you did enjoy some areas of the hotel so thank you for your kind comments. Hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us in the future.
Regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed at hotel Kilkenny. To get a feel for it as we were considering it for our wedding. The staff were amazing especially Jason what a gentleman he was so helpful answered all my questions,showed us around I explained what we wanted and he said all could be done, our wedding party will be quaint small numbers, he showed a smaller room that would be perfect with beautiful lighting and banquet table, the hotel was spotless the food gorgeous and room was lovely thank you Jason for a lovely experience Cecelia and Donal county Louth

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Cecelia & Donal,
I am so delighted to read your review, I have also passed a copy to Jason how remembers you well. Maybe we shall have the pleasure of hosting your wedding, it is a very special time for everyone and we would be more than happy to help in any way we can.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The Hotel Kilkenny is a wonderful place and our room was great, nice and spacious with a beautiful bathroom and a lovely little balcony to watch the river run by. One slight concern was that there was no mattress protector on the bed and when my wife pulled the sheet back by mistake while removing the duvet all the stains were shocking to see and made us both feel very uncomfortable, with the amount of guests that must sleep in those beds a washable protector is a must for even just basic hygiene standards!

The staff in the hotel were lovely especially reception, however when the bar staff are screaming at the Man Utd game when the guests are silent and enjoying a quiet lunch its a bit weird, I'm a soccer fan so I didn't mind, don't think I could say the same about the others eating though. Plus we ordered 2 things from the menu, only 2, and they both came out wrong; too busy watching football me thinks! Also there are 2 pillars in the bar area, one has the wallpaper falling off at the top and the other has damp damage and the paper has been stretched from top to bottom, that acompanied by the well past the use by date of the tables just makes the place feel really shabby, not a nice place to be and were learnt our lesson fast.

The leisure centre was like a slice of heaven, just lovely, lovely staff, great atmosphere and luxurious surroundings. BLISS!! Couldnt get enough of the place.

All in all, great great hotel just let down with a few minor details and certain staff that need to realise the environment that they are in and act accordingly. I realise that the winter months are hard for hotels especially Sunday to Thursday so the issues I raised didn't impact on our stay too much and to a degree are understandable but still this is our lasting memory now of the Hotel Kilkenny.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I will ensure ALL your comments are passed onto the relevant Manager and your comments with regards to the Bar will be actioned straight away. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Unfortunately the recent storms in the city did some damage to the bar and this is currently being worked on. Maybe we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#8 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Hotel Kilkenny is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimmingpool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swin analysis room and superb kids club. Live music five nights a week in Pure bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free carparking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kilkenny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.