We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Kilkenny to your Saves list
Hotel Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Food stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Dreadfull food, lounge is modern , but housekeeping must me midgets, cobwebs everywhere , don't look up....ordered bar food, cold, tasteless, boring never again tried it a few times in the last 12 months no improvement .......1* food

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very disappointed to read your review as you can imagine. I will ensure that the areas and items mentioned in your review are check and corrected straight away.
Thank you for your comments
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    273
    166
    74
    32
See reviews for
181
376
23
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with Pigs back.com great value for €150 and breakfast. The gym and leisure centre are top class. They also have a nice bar and the Heineken was massive. Food at lunch only ok. We would stay here again. Kilkenny is a lovely place

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us, the location of the Hotel is perfect while a little walk into the city we are perfectly located to ensure we don't have the city noise levels !
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

For the price we paid for the hotel We weren't expecting much but from the moment you walk into the reception the hotel is fab. We ate in the bar and the food was really nice, we also had breakfast the next day which was delicious, the room itself is really spacious and the beds very comfortable. It is about a 15 min walk to the town from the hotel, we got a taxi in and out as we were wearing heels and it was only between 6/8 euros depending on where we got out. Overall we were delighted with the hotel and we would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great comments, I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us. Hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

A group of us (9 in total) went to Hotel Kilkenny for three nights to celebrate my sisters 60th birthday (Friday to Monday)...
My experience started before we put a foot into the hotel with the wonderfully helpful Michelle on reservations - she was great. We arrived at the Hotel during a downpour to see friendly and helpful staff who took our dripping umbrellas from us and directed us to the bar while our luggage was taken to our rooms. Everyone very happy with their rooms. Bar food was excellent and presented beautifully. Some of us took to the city that evening - had a great time -the group that stayed at the hotel had a great time also as there was live entertainment. Saturday evenings meal in the restaurant was wonderful, with friendly staff serving and the restaurant manager popping in to say hi (nice touch). Food wonderful and presentation of food excellent. Desert made special for 'the birthday girl' as the staff put a HAPPY BIRTHDAY in icing on her plate. We followed with a surprise birthday cake in the bar (again with live entertainment). The restaurant manager reserved seats for us in the bar and had the group play happy birthday as the cake was brought out.
All in all our experience was great! Hotel managed very well with friendly, professional staff. Lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we all remember your group very well and you were a pleasure to deal with also !
I will make sure to pass your great comments onto everyone here and hopefully we shall see you all again next year !!!
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I think there is something in the water in the city of Kilkenny. Every hotel, restaurant and bar that i have visited I am knocked over with the quality and friendliness of the service. The Hotel Kilkenny epitomises this standard, everything is just right. In the hospitality industry its all about people and this hotel has some of the best. My only gripe and its a minor one is that once a hot breakfast has been ordered it appears very quickly! This suggests its not as fresh as it should be, but in the greater scheme of things its minor when compared to everything else. Top class place, managed very well, and is a delight to stop there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great comments, customer service and satisfaction is something that we strive to achieve daily and to hear your great comments makes all our hard work worthwhile. I will ensure the entire Team get to see your great review.
Thanks again and hopefully we shall see you again soon !
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Westmeath
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A group of us ladies from all over the country (11 in total) hit this hotel for one night. We booked separate, arrived separate and checked out separate and all was no issue. There is a leisure centre etc. in the hotel but I didnt see them to be honest a we were too busy talking!
The bedrooms are a typical nice hotel room with the amenities you would expect, Bed was lovely and firm (with the tightest bed sheets ever experienced!)
The bar was small but perfectly capable of holding us and many others, and the bar food (only had a sambo) was tasty and quick. The dinner was nice, a few mishaps as in steaks not cooked to order and one unfortunately not nice desert but over all again the food was nice.

Staff were a pleasure to deal with too and nothing was an issue for them.

There a kiddies club etc but we didnt need it.

Location - a short drive into town

Room Tip: One had a room at the back (left hand side of corridor) and there was little 'boy racers' do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you had a good stay with us. Hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We priced a few hotels in Kilkenny for 2 interconnecting rooms on a Saturday night in February. Prices varied from €200-€450 so we went with the cheapest which was Hotel Kilkenny. My 2 pet peeves with hotels is sound proofing and shower curtains around a bath instead of a separate shower. Hotel Kilkenny didn't score too highly with either of those but the rest of the hotel and the service more than made up for it. The moment we walked in the door we were made feel welcome. We were early but the receptionist phoned us the moment out rooms were ready. Late checkout was no problem and she recommended a few attractions and restaurants in Kilkenny. The rooms aren't huge but the furnishing was cute, pink chairs with big mirrors. The doors going into the rooms really need to be replaced to help with soundproofing and the bathrooms could be more modern. Breakfast was super, the waitresses were very attentive offering more toast/tea/coffee without being asked. They had hot drinks with juice and cookies set up outside the restaurant for the busy period during breakfast for people waiting to be seated. We had bar food which was fine. The pool and gym are great. I probably wouldn't go there for a romantic weekend but for a family break it was very close to perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay with us recently, our family rooms are indeed very large and as you can imagine very popular. With regards to the sound proofing we are currently updating all our floors with this factor in mind and so going forward this issue will also be resolved. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you back with us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#8 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Hotel Kilkenny is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimmingpool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swin analysis room and superb kids club. Live music five nights a week in Pure bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free carparking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kilkenny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.