We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Marks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kilkenny to your Saves list
Hotel Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Top Marks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Spent a weekend in this Hotel - staff all lovely and very very helpful - as we were early checking in and room not ready gave us another room which was lovely - very large and good sized bathroom with especially nice toiletries. Tea and coffee making facilities which are always appreciated. We ate in the hotel on the first evening - although you will not be stuck in Kilkenny City for somewhere to eat as loads of bars and restaurants. The food was excellent as was the breakfast - well cooked and served to your table. This hotel is about a 10 minute walk into the city centre but is an ideal place to stay after travelling from Belfast - easy to find and easy access to the motorways. Would highly recommend although take up the offer for softer pillows!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your time as customer satisfaction is something that is very important to us and to hear that we have succeeded in this area and our guests leave happy is always great to hear !
We look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    288
    177
    75
    35
See reviews for
185
405
25
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hotel a little dated in some areas and barely walkable to town centre. Staff were nice and checkin was quick and smooth. Alot of drilling and maintanance noise everywhere. Beds very hard! Good value for money but would rather pay a little extra next time to stay elsewhere!

Room Tip: Stay away from ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review, my apologies if you were disturbed by the maintenance that we have at the moment, please be assured that this is very minimal, however I am sorry if the drilling etc... did disturb your stay with us. Thank you again for your feedback and kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here during November, with family. The hotel is what you'd expect for what you pay. Nice staff and good child-minding option if you need an hour or two to yourselves. Best thing about it was the pool area - kids loved it. Breakfast was nice also. All in, would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Kids Club always proves to be very popular and so its great to hear your feedback. Hopefully we shall see you again soon .... maybe the next Mid-Term Break in February !
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I have visited Kilkenny nearly every fortnight recently and this hotel is my favourite!
I booked a triple room for New Years Eve. The hotel was full but the staff could not be more helpful.
The rooms are large, modern and you will sleep well.
The main strip is a ten minute walk so I'd get a taxi if you are in heels.
The swimming pool is perfect for the morning hangover.
I.d recommend eating in Pure bar, great value, great food!
I will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great review, I will ensure that the Team at Hotel Kilkenny will see your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the very near future.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very nice hotel rooms not as nice as in the pictures but that is to be expected.Breakfast was very packed food was ok. However we did not eat in the restaurant as we found the food prices to be way to expensive went into town and got food for half the price. Went to the bar that night and the bar staff were very friendly got cocktails and were lovely.We did not get much sleep as the room next door had teenagers in it and they were playing music and shouting for most of the night.I would not stay here again though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, overall you seemed to enjoy your stay with us with a few comments about our pricing, all feedback is welcomed and I will ensure that your comments are passed onto the Beverage Manager. Thank you again for your time.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here with my husband & 3 kids for a night away during Christmas 2012 - Booked a family room with breakfast & dinner included. The room was ok. Bad smell of smoke in corridor though. We booked dinner in restaurant as it was part of our package. The food was without exception the worst meal i've had out in a long time. Everything was poor. Even the kids meals.... & its hard to go wrong with sausages & mash. My son - who would eat a sausage out of the bin - wouldn't eat them & my husband tried them & said they were awful. They offered "smoothies" for kids and they were just innocent smoothies poured into a glass - my 9 year old recognised them immediately. The choice for adults was not great (& we love eating out & will eat pretty much anything). We both ordered steaks as nothing else seemed appealing (5 to choose from and 2 of these were noodles) & they were atrocious. Tough, small, tastless, not cooked as ordered. Mine was so bad I didn't even bother to send it back. Even the chips were yuk! On the up side, the service was good & the kids enjoyed the pool. Very disappointing thouth - & the kids meals were not included in the price as it turned out & they were not cheap (3.50 for the Innocent smoothie - I kid you not)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear that you didn't have a very good dining experience with us, I have taken your comments on board and will ensure that our Head Chef is made aware of all.
Many thanks and kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Rooms are very nice, leisure centre was lovely to, food in the bar was amazing! chicken curry and their fish and chips..yum!! abit to far to walk into the city if you dont know your way around, but taxis are in abundance and very quick!
would stay here again in a heart beat

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to read your review, thank you for posting such great comments about our food on TripAdvisor. Helpfully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#8 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Hotel Kilkenny is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimmingpool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swin analysis room and superb kids club. Live music five nights a week in Pure bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free carparking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kilkenny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.