We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly flawed and disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kilkenny to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Kilkenny
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly flawed and disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We selected this hotel for the fact it was 4star hotel with what looked like a lovely leisure facility.The rooms were nice and spacious and the beds were comfortable.The problem was that you couldn't sleep in them for the noise of doors being slammed and shouting from every direction.The good thing was there is good wifi in the rooms so at least when you were being kept awake you could use a device to surf the web.The next morning we were greeted to vomit outside in the corridor.We were told to wait for breakfast in the mornings because they were catering for wedding parties which by my understanding were paying the same type of money as us to stay here.The hotel bar was desperate.The staff in it were ignorant,clueless and clearly void of any training in hospitality whatsoever.The "Barman" was mopping behind the bar with a filthy mop and when he eventually decided to serve us he didn't wash his hands before mauling the glasses.The leisure suite is portrayed as a nice relaxing place to visit.Its the most unhygienic place we have visited.The jacuzzi wasn't working and a "technician" wandered about with muddy work boots attempting to repair it.All the place needed was a five minute clean and wash down and it would have been reasonably fine.I doubt it had been cleaned for a while though.The hotel to me seems to cater for weddings only and perhaps has forgotten about ordinary guests and what they should be receiving for the money they've spent.All in all,nice rooms and good wifi.Thats as far as it goes I'm afraid.We most certainly won't be back to this place.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us. While I am pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of the hotel I am very disappointed that you felt other areas were less enjoyable. I understand the team were aware of your disappointment however it is a pity you felt the need to rush out of the hotel on the morning of your departure without talking to the Duty Manager. We have asked our Accommodation Manager to see if there was anything outside your room and unfortunately we did not find anything and nor was anything reported this to us at any stage over the duration of your stay.
With regards to the maintenance issue in out Active Club, while something like this is unavoidable we do ensure that any maintenance issues are rectified as soon as possible, but as everyone on the pool desk must wear shoe covers I can't understand how they could have muddy shoes.
Thank you for pointing out the issues in the bar with regards to the mop this is something that will be recitified straight away.
Finally our aim always is to ensure that all guests have an enjoyable stay with us regardless of why they are staying. If you didn't fell this and left disappointed then I am sorry as this was nor is ever our intention.
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    254
    151
    68
    30
See reviews for
168
347
23
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

I was here for a wedding and was very impressed. Big rooms, spotless clean with all the usual touches. Staff were very pleasant and when I left some things in my room had it waiting for me when I arrived back to collect. The gym here is a real plus, again nice friendly staff, great selection of weights and machines with an aerobics room down the end to use if you like. Didn't have time for the pool but im sure it is equally nice.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review, we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a good time a this Hotel, its an average hotel with friendly staff. Folks from the restaurant are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are large that is a very good thing. Beds are great and furniture is average although telly is bit small. Didn't have a chance to hit the kids club so can't review it. Food is very nice ( Dinner), breakfast was also ok but could be better. Only complain is the noise, people arriving drank around 4:00 - 5:00 am making a huge noise. Hard to sleep during this time due the noise, they woke us up 2 or 3 times very annoying. overall is a good place to stay in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for talking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, we are very sorry that your night was disturbed by other residents. While we take every precaution to keep this disturbance to a minimum sometimes other guests do not take this into consideration.
However we are delighted you otherwise enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

It's a lovely hotel with the kindest staff.
The rooms are perfect. Clean, well designed and sufficient attention to detail that makes you feel pampered. The food for breakfast was just wonderful, it was so tempting and everything was perfect. Dinner was filling and a real wealth of options that surprised. I was pleasantly surprised by the array of mains. The spacious dining room allowed privacy and was airy. Parking is grand and security is high with carded entry to rooms.

However, the truly the best bit of hotel Kilkenny is that you will be treated so well. Every staff member was Considerate, compassioante and highly professional. Welcomed into the hotel, I truly felt I received first rate service and recommend it highly. Its the perfect hotel in all situations from the well organised conferences I've attended there to the plush rooms. Overall, it's the best in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Everyone is delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we would also like to thank you for your kind comments with regards to the Team here at Hotel Kilkenny.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed in the hotel for a weekend with the girlfriend, and it was a fantastic place. Stayed in a deluxe room and it was lovely, spotless clean and really comfy bed.

The food in the restaurant was lovely. The staff were perfect and really good at looking after everyone, the lad we had serving us our meal (Jack was his name) was great, very good with us and great advice on the food and wine

The hotel is a small walk out from the city center, only about 10 minutes though. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe small bit more but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Everyone is delighted to hear you had a great time with us, your review is really appreciated and I will ensure that Jack gets a copy of this also.
Thanks again and hopefully we shall see you again soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here when I attended a conference in the hotel. I was pleased that our room was ready when we arrived at 9.30am. Staff were pleasant and the hotel is just a ten minute walk from the city centre. The room rate was very reasonable.The bar was quite busy in the evening - usually I find hotel bars lack atmosphere but this one was pleasant and lively (it was Friday).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments, while check in time is 4pm whenever possible we do try our very best to accommodate all early arrivals.
We look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights here with my friend. We were able to check into our room at 2pm which was great. The hotel is a little out of the centre so we needed a taxi going out in heels, it was only €10 though so well worth it. The hotel is very clean and the staff couldnt be more helpful. Our room was huge, 2 singles and 1 double so excellent value. The leisure centre is worth a visit, the pool was cold and jacuzzi broken but its now being done up! We had to wait a little for breakfast but were given prior warning and its well worth the wait. The only let down was the tv, it was small with a limited choice of channels. I would also recommend girls take their own hairdryer, the one in the bathroom is useless. I'd definately stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the great comments and fantastic review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and got to sample all areas of the hotel. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#8 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Hotel Kilkenny is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimmingpool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swin analysis room and superb kids club. Live music five nights a week in Pure bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free carparking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kilkenny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.