We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Kilkenny Castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kilkenny Castle

Kilkenny Castle
The Parade, Kilkenny, Ireland
353-56-7704100
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Kilkenny Castle like an insider
Top Rated
$445*
and up
3-Day Southeast Ireland Tour from Dublin...
Ranked #2 of 66 things to do in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A stately castle dating back to the 13th century.
Culver City, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Kilkenny Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Beautiful grounds to relax or run with the wind. The castle was well maintained and the rooms in the castle were decorated with beautiful furniture and items. The garden with the fountain was so photogenic and the large park like lawn on the opposite side was impressive with it's size. Easy to park and enjoy the castle as well as walking down the street to the main part of Kilkenny. A really fun day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    906
    694
    173
    24
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A nice place to visit...can you imagine living there?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was the only castle we visited and it was amazing. You definitely need to watch the video beforehand to learn the history of the castle. It was a self guided tour but there were folks around to answer your questions. It would have been nice to see more but what they have is pretty cool. And being Butler's, it was more special (although sadly I don't believe we are related to those Butler's!).

The gardens were lovely and relaxing too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Not stroller friendly - not a must visit but nice to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

No strollers are allowed inside, instead they tell you to park it out by the reception, which is what we did. Luckily the lil one was awake and ready to explore. The tour costs 6 euros (4 for seniors but you have to ensure you ask!) and took us about 45 minutes with many stops along the way. There’s a couple floors to explore and our group of 6 adults and a baby took a bit longer in some rooms than the other. The Rose Garden is a great place to chill after the tour, provided the sun’s out!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Thoughtful restoration”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

For me, the history associated with this castle lacks the depth of so many others in Britain and Ireland I have that visited in recent weeks. On the plus side, the detail given to the quality restoration of the castle was most interesting. The guides with whom we spoke were knowledgeable and willing to spend time giving information and answering our questions.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Kilkenny Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Kilkenny Castle was one of the best preserved castles that we saw while in Ireland. It could still be used as a residence. The grounds are beautiful. The artwork and furnishings are well worth seeing. My one complaint is that you are not allowed to take any pictures, not even without a flash. I was told it was for "security reasons". A woman in Waterford said that they used to be allowed to take all kinds of pictures.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilkenny Castle also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Kilkenny Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilkenny Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.