We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The 'Rafter' Dempsey's

Save Saved
You added The 'Rafter' Dempsey's to your Saves list
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Friary Street | Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 93 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
1 review
“Too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011 via mobile

Part of a hens wkd. Stayed in a quad room. Very small window so we were all sweltering in there. Room was in need of decorating and could do with full length mirror. Great location. Overall I'd have been happy if we'd paid much less than 200 eur for the room. It was more like a hostel. We could have stayed in the 4 star Ormonde hotel for 30 eur more.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    22
    8
    6
    11
See reviews for
9
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed in a family room with 4 beds. Rooms are basic and a little worn, same for the bathroom. The pub downstairs is a friendly place, suitable for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or evening drinks. The proprietor Jerry Rafter works hard to please his guests.

Location is great for walking around Kilkenny, as it's right in the center, on a small side street. The only downside is the lack of parking, which is recommended in a garage about a block away, for 5 euro per day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The 'Rafter' Dempsey's had a great location in the city. We originally considered the "Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel" right around the corner, which looked quite nice in the bar and lobby area, but was not as economical as The 'Rafter' Dempsey's. We had a friend traveling with us who was staying by himself, and the 'Rafter' Dempsey's per person rate was cheaper than paying the Hibernian's room rate. Finding parking in Kilkenny was more challenging for us than anywhere else in Ireland, and the 'Rafter' Dempsey's does not have a parking lot. They have an arrangement whereby you get a slightly discounted parking rate in a garage around the corner. The garage closed while we were out at the pubs and we had to find (and pay) at another lot. The gentlemen from the bar at 'Rafter' Dempsey's, who showed us to our rooms, was a friendly guy. On the way up to the rooms, there was a pretty strong smell of cigarette smoke, but we didn't smell it in the rooms. Overall, a basic B&B with friendly service and reasonable rates. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILKESTON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Three of us stayed at "The Rafter Dempsey's" during the "Kilkenny Roots Music Fest" and we couldn't have made a better choice for the price. Upon our arrival the staff made us very welcome and the craic started from there. The 3 bed room(2 singles & 1 double) was spacious, clean and had everything you would need for a short break. It had an iron & ironing board, plenty of coat hangers & hair dryer, although because this was 3 blokes on the razz, these were not put to good use. The en suite bathroom was clean and the shower was good with plenty of hot water & clean towels. The location of "Rafters" is perfect for the local sights & bars & it's also just around the corner from the Patrick Street bus stop. The rooms are secure from the pub and access at night is by way of ringing the doorbell and being allowed in by the porter. The Irish breakfast is excellent and sets you up for the day. The pub Landlord is a real gent and very knowledgeable about the area, he even cooked us breakfast early on our last day as we had to make an early start. So unless you was born with a silver spoon in your mouth, I don't think there's any need for hesitation when looking for somewhere to stay in Kilkenny. Choose "The Rafter Dempsey's".

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We arrived in Kilkenny on St. Steven's Day (Dec. 26) and asked around about a place to stay. The couple that we stayed with had better luck with their room. I think that we just had a bad one out of many good. There was no heat and we were right above the pub, which blasted great 80s tunes for the night. St. Steven's night is a big party night and we knew that. The bed was comfy and warm. In the morning, we had breakfast in the pub. Mike the bartender/waiter was VERY sweet and accommodating. He as also very sorry when we explained how cold our room was. We also had very little hot water. Ireland had just had a cold, snowy spell and then the temp rose 20 degrees causing water issues all over the island. I would like to think the hot water issue was related to that :) Staying at RD was part of the adventure.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vine Grove, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Very nice atmosphere filled with good Irish traditions, located in the old town center so you are within walking distance to all the city’s sites and night life. City parking garage right around the corner was a big plus also. And I can’t leave out the nice people you might run across in the pub, along with the owner Gerry who will explain Irish football if you ask nicely. Gerry also serves up a great breakfast as well as a good pint. This is a B&B I will be staying at every time I visit Ireland.
Thanks for the great hospitality.
Bart & Susanne Edgell

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We were given the name of Rafters by another B&B in town that was full. SO glad we went. We loved everything about this place. Its got a lot of rooms but we never heard any noise from other guests. The manager Gerry, bartender Mick, and the friends we made in Kilkenny will always be one of our best memories of our Ireland trip. The Irish Breakfast is HUGE and their other food from the restaurant was very tasty. If you go to Ireland you must go to Kilkenny and you would be crazy not to stay at Rafters. Tell them TIm and Steph sent ya :)

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The 'Rafter' Dempsey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 'Rafter' Dempsey's

Address: Friary Street | Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The 'Rafter' Dempsey's 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a great city centre hotel/guesthouse for anyone who wants to stay in the centre of all the shopping and nitelife attraction's that Kilkenny has to offer. A warm welcome and friendly staff await all guests, whether they want to wine or dine, or just unwind.Has won many awards for it's fantastic shopfront flower display's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The 'Rafter' Dempsey's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 'Rafter' Dempsey's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.