We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy owner couldnt handle a large group and went out of his way to make our night hell!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel to your Saves list
MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
24 Vicar Street, Kilkenny 0, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
“Crazy owner couldnt handle a large group and went out of his way to make our night hell!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

On arrival to the hostel we were greeted by a guy who runs the hostel and he must have been hungover cause he couldn't handle a group of 9 people showing up at once, we have booked in 2 separate groups 4 in one room and 5 in another, he was annoyed that the 2 rooms were paying separate and he had not one bit of change for any of us. Only we took order and controlled the situation we would have been there all day. We also gladly paid the 100 euros "noise" deposit but looking back we should have known we wouldn't be getting it back.

The rooms are a nice size with en suites on the ones we stayed in, all very clean but no hot water, he only heats the water after 6pm which was a pain as we all wanted to shower.

We came back that night in separate groups, without warning at 4am we got told that enough was enough (no prior warnings to this) and he called the guards for "noise pollution", when we approached the owner to ask what we did wrong and apologise we were greeted with curses and abuse, he genuinely was so out of line and he is lucky we are a nice group and the guys held their anger back because no man should speak to a woman the way he did! when the guards came we were in bed asleep and they woke us and turned the lights on and warned us but it was obvious they were shocked and wondered why they had been called for such a quite bunch.

Needless to say we didnt get our noise deposit back but I think this is a money making scheme and we were never getting it back.

This hostel might be okay for a couple or a small group but if you are a large group do not stay here, they do not have the know how or experience to deal with people! I am still in shock with my experience of this guy, it was just awful!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    29
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
2
10
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

My friend and I have been on a short trip to Kilkenny just for one night, and we arrived to town without having booked any hostel. We knew about Mac Gabhainns from the Internet and we had a good impression about it - so we just walked in there.
The hostel was booked out, but we were offered to sleep in the tv room - we accepted and slept on the couch and a mattress which was arranged on the floor.
The hostel is small, colourful and cosy... we found the common areas (corridors, kitchen, bathrooms, tv-room) very clean - don't know about the rooms, as we haven't been in there!
The kitchen is very well equipped and offers free coffee and tea all day long. The breakfast selection wasn't very big, though (toast and marmelade, plain corn flakes, porridge).
Location is good, 7-10 mins walking from the city centre. Kilkenny is quite small!
Altogether we were satisfied with our stay there, because of the good atmosphere, the cleanliness and helpfulness of staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estonia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

I stayed in MacGabhainns hostel for 3 days and i liked it there. They are a bit hard to find, about 15-20 minute walk from the bus station. The dorm room i stayed in was a bit chilly, but it was also an early spring, some temperature issues might be pardonable. Bed was comfy enough, the bathroom in the hallway clean and cozy (but also very cold!), but most of all i liked the kitchen - it was big, spacious, very well equipped and also generous - the breakfast materials were available all day long, instead of some cramped time period in the early early morning when any normal traveler would still like to sleep. For more comments please read my post at: http://sshiksa.blogspot.com/2009/05/they-killed-kenny.html

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

Stayed here with a group of my girlfriends for a weekend, great value for money as there was free cereal, toast, tea, coffee, milk, butter which sorted most of us out for breakfast. my one very big complaint was an absence of hot water for everyone to have a shower. the electic shower in room 2 en-suite had zero water pressure, and the room had a fair amount of mould for which we were offered no discount on the room rate! i appreciate they may be just renovating/starting out but basic hot water should be readily available!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel

Address: 24 Vicar Street, Kilkenny 0, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Information:Proudly voted best hostel in Kilkenny in 2011 Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel is a small hostel located in the heart of the city centre, just ten minutes' walk from Kilkenny Castle, close to the railway and bus station.We offer a comfortable and friendly atmosphere for weary travellers.We have lots of free facilities, such as free breakfast, parking, security lockers, internet access, Wi-Fi and even a free map of the city! Breakfast includes porridge, corn flakes, toast and tea or coffee; you can also have as much free tea and coffee as you want, all day long. We even wash your dishes for you!There's a cool barbecue area in our garden. We're also located near pubs with traditional Irish music and some fine restaurants that are quite inexpensive.We were voted the best hostel in Kilkenny in 2011, and one of the top hostels in Ireland. We were approved by the Irish Tourism Board in 2012 and are recommended by Lonely Planet, Routards and Let's Go.We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.