We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marble City Bar

Marble City Bar
66 High Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 149 Restaurants in Kilkenny
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Looking for a restaurant for dinner in Kilkenny with our 2 teenagers, we went to the Marble City Bar. A large room with modern decor welcomed us. The food was traditional (Cod and chips, burgers,...) but set up in an original way.
We really enjoyed the dinner and had a good time there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    84
    30
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Reputation exceeded reality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Lunch a few weeks ago was a disaster. The service here is usually rushed and you would think an extra staff member would solve the problem. However my beef was with lunch itself, more specifically the main course. The lamb was tough. Impossible you might say, but true. It was accompanied by over-cooked, soggy vegetables, all serve don a cold plate. Not coming back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a Kilkenny fixture and has a nice, more upscale atmosphere from most pubs and restaurants. Good variety on the menu and the food tastes good, but I feel a bit expensive for what it is with some portions a bit small in comparison to other places. Very good and attentive service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Down
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“great service and tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Recommended by the campsite owner we were staying with. Didn't disappoint...asked barman if we could watch the Ulster rugby match on tv, no problem. Decor is smart and trendy good atmosphere spotlessly clean restaurant/bar. Will return someday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I always end up back in this bar/bistro every time I am in Kilkenny. It is small, but they have a much larger cafe/bar on the level below the High Street. The clientele is very mixed from local business men to tourists. The staff are very efficient and they turn round tables quickly with out being pushy. I recommend the creamy seafood chowder which you can also get as lunch special with an open sandwich for €11.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marble City Bar also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Marble City Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marble City Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.