We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to sites and nice meals available” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anocht

Anocht
Castle Yard | Kilkenny Design Centre Cafe, Kilkenny, Ireland
056 7722118
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 145 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Close to sites and nice meals available”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

If you want a quick meal while walking the castle grounds, this place is perfectly located. The store is also full of great local products which make great souvenir gifts!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    44
    22
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“neat but the prices are high in the stores”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Café was good. Take a walk thru the back of the building and look in all the doors. The silver smiths are very busy. The house behind has a lovely garden with some neat sculptures. Worth a look for sure.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Eat, Pray, Love moment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I took a day trip to Kilkenny, Wicklow and Glendalough from Dublin and had a coupon to this place. It was one of the best lunches I had during my six weeks in Ireland. For $10, I got a delicious sweet chili chicken wrap, scrumptious slaw, a kettle of tea, a side salad and dessert of my choosing (I went for the chocolate biscuit cake, which was one of the best things I've ever tasted.) Great location beside the castle, good for a quick yet delicious bite.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great place for a light lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

As on most of the other days during our two weeks in Ireland, wife and I opted for a very light lunch of soup when we visited the Kilkenny Design Center. But unlike most of the other places, the soup we were offered was hearty and flavorful (tomato basil) rather than some kind of watery pureed vegetable soup.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stunning gourmet food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We went to the evening restaurant and were so impressed we went back the next night. The food was delicious and well presented and the service was spot on, thanks Lee. Oh almost forgot the cocktails were great too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anocht also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Anocht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anocht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.