We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit to.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langton Room

The Langton Room
69 John St, Kilkenny, Ireland
+353 56 7765133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 134 restaurants in Kilkenny
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Carlow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Well worth a visit to.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have eaten here twice and on both occasions the selection and the quality of the food cannot be faulted. The first time i ate here was in January 2013 as part of a hen night. The food was fantastic but the service was lacking on this occasion. It took 1 and 1/2 hours to be served and eat two courses. This was a shame as we had it booked through a hen night package and we decided to leave having a desert as it had taken so long to have the first two courses and we had a time schedule through the hen party services so we had to leave as we were already late for the next venue. However the second time here it was a completely different experience. The waitress was very efficient and we got to enjoy all three courses in an hour!!! Unfortunately i cannot review the hotel accommodation as i have never had the privilege of staying here yet. But it is well worth a visit for a lovely meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    86
    71
    34
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Waited 10mins, no service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were in Kilkenny for the day and looking for somewhere to have a nice dinner. We seen the menu outside and decided it looked nice. We went in and sat down at a table in front of the bar. There was a barman there and a waitress walking around serving tables. Neither approached us despite us trying to get their attention. Menus werent on the tables so we couldnt even browse through it while we waited. 10minutes passed and we decided to leave. It is also worth mentioning that a lady went up to the bar to pay her bill and had difficulty getting the barmans attention despite it being a quiet Tuesday afternoon. Would of loved to have tried the food, disappointing that the dire service here prevented that. Who knows how many more customers have walked out after being ignored.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Lunch here is always good fresh and well prepared and also great value for money.We regularly use this pub restaurant when in Kilkenny and it has always been consistently good for many years. I would recommend it for tasty menu and lovely pint of Guinness! also

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have gone to langton lots of time for dinner food is great never disappointed. Good value for sunday dinner but book in advance because it gets busy. Parking a bit of problem.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“AMAZING VEGETARIAN FOOD!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

possibly the best vegetarian food ive ever eaten very quick and friendly service. lovley relaxed atmosphere!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Langton Room also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to The Langton Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langton Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.