We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful 18th Century mansion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castletown House

Castletown House
R403 | Celbridge, Ireland
01/628-8252
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The grandest Palladian-style mansion in Ireland was built in 1722.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful 18th Century mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Enjoyed a tour of this beautiful house. Everything about the house was exquisite. Well worth a visit. Also the grounds were magnificent. there is a small café in the Courtyard, whish is located within the original kitchens. Wonderful experience

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    6
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Amazing castle with nice history, the tour is very nice and informative. the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Moreover, there are free concerts every Sunday 2pm, they brought very famous and talented musicians.

Every month there is a nice market, and again free music and nice food to buy.

the landscape is fantastic, I recommend it for everybody.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

When we hired the car in Dublin we were told to go to this hidden gem. The house is fabulous and the history interesting. It has large grounds that are beautiful to walk around.

We had lunch at the café and enjoyed a hot bowl of delicious soup and toasted sandwiches which were all tasty and reasonably priced. The service was good.

We entered the house and we had to go through it on a tour but we were lucky and had a wonderful female tour guide (Helen) who took the 4 of us around. She made the tour very interesting and could answer all our questions. She helped explain things to our children too.

The trip was well worth it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A must near Dublin, unique place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stopped in and weren't sure what to expect. I hadn't done any research on this place but it was on the Heritage Card so we thought we'd pay it a visit. We took the guided tour and were delighted by our tour guide. She was great fun and passionately told us of the fascinating history of this house. It was like being transported back in time. We were amazed at how it has survived with very little restoration. Truly a beauty well worth a visit.

Good parking. We didn't eat at the cafe but I did have a coffee, flat white, and it was great! Friendly and energetic staff in the cafe too, bonus!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

On a recent trip to Castletown House we decided to do the tour of the house.Our tour guide Kevina was excellent - she gave a very good account of the history of the house and made the visit very enjoyable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castletown House also viewed

 
Maynooth, County Kildare
 

Been to Castletown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castletown House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Castletown House to your Saves list