We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for excursions in the beautiful surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fels Point Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fels Point Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fels Point Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dan Spring Road, Tralee, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Tralee)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good place for excursions in the beautiful surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a really good hotel with good standards. The breakfast is absolutely great. It's in a rather central location in Tralee but the area around it is a bit empty (which is probably why they have good parking). The bed was ok but a little bit hard. My only complaint is that they let some really loud kids run around screaming in the inner yard for hours so we had to close the windows even though we were on the 3rd floor. Sure the parents should have stopped the kids but since they didn't the hotel should have (it was very loud and rather late and happened 2 days in a row).

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Jennie 1972,
Thank you for your kind comment regarding our standards and service.
I promise to attempt to address to situation with regard to unruly children creating noise,
Yours Sincerely,
Denis Deery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    150
    81
    36
    24
See reviews for
130
165
14
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Attended a function recently at Fels Point Hotel, the welcome from staff was first class, the food exquisite and the rooms were spacious and extremely comfortable. Full compliments to the chef-we were blown away with the standard and array of food during the buffet. Well done to all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Geraldine H,
Thank you for the fabulous feedback !
I am delighted that you enjoyed the event so much and hope to meet you in the hotel on many occassions in the future,
Yours Sincerely,
Denis Deery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed in Fels Point Hotel last weekend and found it very comfortable and an excellent base for the many activities in the area. I played golf in a brilliant 9 hole links course at Castlegregory and swam at Banna strand where the water wa warm. They hotel had a very warm and welcoming atmosphere The food was very good with very pleasant service..

Room Tip: The otel is located in a very quite area of tralee and all rooms are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Gerald D,
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback which was much appreciated.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future,
Yours Sincerely,
Denis Deery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I was recently at a party at Fels Point Hotel and thought the whole evening was amazing. The hotel staff were brilliant and so helpful. We had a buffet which had a great selection of food and was delicious. I would recommend it for any large party - they easily looked after over 200 of us really well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear RebKemp,
Thank you so much for the great feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed the party.
Look forward to welcoming you back to Fels Point Hotel soon.
Yours Sincerely
Denis Deery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here to celebrate our youngest first birthday. From check in to check out, was almost perfect, will get to the 'almost' part in a bit but all the good points first. The staff were extremely helpful especially the lovely guy on reception to which i forget his name. The family room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The first night we stayed there seemed to be a party of some sort on but while you could hear some noise, it was so faint that it didn't bother us at all. The ensuite was spotless and all facilities within the room worked perfectly.
Now the 'almost' part, the only let down was the food. We had the buffet breakfast which was fine but the sausages, puddings and bacon were like they were used from the day before. Not a problem as such as the fine scrambled egg made up for it. We had an evening meal on the 2nd night and while my partners steak sambo was perfect our oldest had a bowl of soup, again notting wrong, but I had the fish with mash and veg. Now I never complain about food, i just eat and get on with it, but this was the worse fish i ever had, it was so over cooked it was like rubber and mash and veg were over cooked and dry. I ate what I could and that was that, we did say it at time of paying and thankfully didnt have to pay.

I wish I didnt have to mention the food, because we had a lovely time and very happy memories. And no doubt we will return, as its perfect, I might have been unlucky and just got the short straw. But we hope to be back before school starts and have a great time again.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to families, with the added bonus of getting into the Aquadome for €20 for 2 adults and 2 kids, through here.

We will be back, see you all soon and thank you!!!

Room Tip: Family rooms on the 2nd floor are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Deiselad07
Thank you for your kind comments which are much appreciated,
I look forward to welcoming you back before the summer ends and i promise to provide a perfect fish meal.
Delighted that all other aspects of your stay went well.
Yours Sincerely
Denis Deery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my three young children and my grandmother on the 11th & 12th July 2014 in two inter connecting bedrooms. I had stayed there 2 years ago when it was a Carlton Hotel and could not fault it, so we were really looking forward to staying there again, not aware that the change in ownership would have made so much of a difference!
I made my reservation a few days before our trip and was quoted €407.90 for the 5 of us to stay there for 2 nights B&B, one kids club session for the children, one evening meal for the 2 adults and one entry for the family to the Aquadome. We arrived on the 11th and the rooms were nice, however there was a stench in one of the rooms, which I reported to reception, and there was bits of biscuits on the ground in the other room when i pushed the single beds together for the kids. That night there was a party on in the hotel and there was a band playing loudly late into the night. Breakfast Saturday morning was average, they were slow to refill the buffet and the hot food was cold. Saturday evening we wanted to watch Tipperary v Offally match in the bar at 7pm and were unable to as there was NO WORKING TV in bar or any other area of the hotel. They put a small make shift TV in the bar at 9pm for The World Cup game.
Our meal in the restaurant on Saturday evening was very nice. Breakfast on Sunday morning was better, more food available and good service. On checking out at 11.45am, I was told the accomodation cost was €457.90, €50 MORE THAN QUOTED!!!!!!!! I spent 30 mins trying to argue my case with zero satisfaction and had to pay €50 more than agreed, I was furious.
In saying that, we had a nice holiday, the Aquadome was fab and we had a very enjoyable excursion to Dingle via The Conor Pass, breath taking views.
The trip did not put me off returning to Tralee but I will definitely source alternative accommodation next time

Room Tip: Make sure to get a confirmation email when making your reservation with the cost of the accommodatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Anita,
I am in receipt of your comments which gave me cause for concern.
Firstly may i apologise for the inconvenience caused to you and assure you that this is not indicitive of our normal standards.
I understand our reservations department has rectified the error in rate for which i am sorry.
I do hope you will return to Fels Point Hotel so that we may demonstrate our true capabilities.
Yours Sincerely
Denis Deery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night at Fels point passing through on a tour. The gym closed at 7pm and didn't open until 8:30am. I found this quite impractical, particularly as a traveller passing through for the night, and I'm sure I'm not the only one. The food in the restaurant was also pretty average. They did not have a very good gluten free selection of food, and we're really slow at table service for dinner. Not a very enjoyable experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Annabelle A,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay,
Our gym times ore based on historical demand but i am happy to review these to provide a better level of customer satisfaction. We will also address our gluten free options to satisfy the growing trend in this area.
Yours SIncerely
Denis Deery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fels Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fels Point Hotel

Address: Dan Spring Road, Tralee, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Tralee)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#7 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fels Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel Tralee (formerly Fels Point Hotel), prides itself on the standard of service, quality and courtesy offered to all our guests. Each of the 165 fully air conditioned luxuriously decorated superior and executive guest rooms provide the relaxation and luxury our guests deserve. Clarets Bar & Morels Restaurant Tralee serve contemporary cuisine using the best of fresh local produce served in relaxing surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Fels Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fels Point Hotel Tralee
Fels Point Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fels Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.