We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend 4th october” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fels Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fels Point Hotel to your Saves list
Fels Point Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dan Spring Road, Tralee, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Tralee)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
hert
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“weekend 4th october”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

didn't really take advantage of all services but got 3 good breakfasts the room was very good and cant knock it atall. its modern clean and ideal for a short break, Tralee itself is gt for walking, its a small town and the square was our favourite place to stop, chill eta and drink.

Room Tip: away from any parties eg weddings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Jeff C,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Carlton Hotel Tralee.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hotel.

We hope to see you again soon

Denis Deery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    161
    83
    37
    26
See reviews for
135
174
17
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Staff extemely friendly & helpful - top marks
Room very quiet and relaxing, nice lighting and decor
Excellent Breakfast in bed.
Bar staff friendly
Clean Bathroom
Tea and Coffee in room
Great Value
Plenty of Parking
Other guests also seemed very nice

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear TheLittlestHobo2013,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Carlton Hotel Tralee. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to see you again soon.

Denis Deery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very clean, newer hotel. Very good rate and walk-able to pubs and restaurants. Breakfast was very good and well-managed. I was travelling with friends and there were many families there with small children. Seemed like the management made an effort to keep the families/children in one part of the restaurant (but still right next to the buffet) and the people without children in an abutting section (also right next to the buffet.) I found that to be a thoughtful "win-win" approach. They also have a sign up in the elevator using a stop light motif to show the best times to go to breakfast (7am - 8am, not crowded, green light, 8am - 9am, more crowded, yellow light, 9am - 10am, very crowded, red light.) That is probably obvious to most travelers but it is nice to have it shown so directly and cleverly. To me this indicates that this is a well-managed property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Kazak9999,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for the Carlton Hotel Tralee,

I am delighted to read of your experience and glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to see you again soon.

Denis Deery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed for business last week for four days and i must say it was verry good! The room was clean the personal was friendly and the breakfast excellent. I think i found my favorite Hotel after seven trails in this town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Olaf M,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay in the Carlton Hotel Tralee. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Denis Deery
General Manager
Carlton Hotel Tralee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Ideally located with good parking facilities. The hotel rooms are spotless and well equipped. The breakfast is lovely and the service of the breakfast staff excellent. Overall the only downfall would be the service in the bar, which is extremely slow.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear iccna,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay in the Carlton Hotel Tralee. We greatly appreciate your kind words and I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us!

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Denis Deery
General Manager
Carlton Hotel Tralee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

There are two things that annoy me about this restaurant.....firstly the 10oz steak was actually a 6oz at best and secondly a medium cooked steak should not be dry as a bone. Should have gone down the town as I had planned.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Barryohss,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for the Carlton Hotel Tralee.

I am dissapointed to read of your experience with us. We have taken your comments on board and we will strive to improve the quality of our steaks.

If you would like to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the Hotel.


Denis Deery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I had stayed here once before under its old name and my memory was that it was Celtic Tigery - all flash with little substance. Five years later and under new management I still concur. I stayed for business this weekend, and arrived late on Saturday (just after 9pm). Was checked by a rather surly receptionist and when I asked whether room service was available I was told the kitchen was about to close and I would be better off going into the bar to order and ask for it to be sent up to my room. That's exactly what you want after a long day, without food and still with all your bags in your arms!!! It's the little things that make the difference guys...

Other than that, room was fine as expected but I would concur with other reviewers about the breakfast operation - massive slow moving queues for hot buffet and in particular the toaster. I know they put up 'traffic light' signs warning people about busy times for breakfast in terms of seating (common sense) but you would still expect to be able to get your food in a timely manner. Two toasters? Two lines for buffet?

A bit of thought and attention to detail would lift this hotel greatly.

Room Tip: Couldn't fault the executive rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Donnchadh,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Carlton Hotel Tralee.

I am dissapointed to read of your experience. I will investigate all issues in your complaint and have taken your comments on board so that we can strive to improve in the coming year.

I would be pleased to discuss the matter further with you should you wish to contact me directly at the Hotel

Denis Deery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fels Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fels Point Hotel

Address: Dan Spring Road, Tralee, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Tralee)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#7 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fels Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel Tralee (formerly Fels Point Hotel), prides itself on the standard of service, quality and courtesy offered to all our guests. Each of the 165 fully air conditioned luxuriously decorated superior and executive guest rooms provide the relaxation and luxury our guests deserve. Clarets Bar & Morels Restaurant Tralee serve contemporary cuisine using the best of fresh local produce served in relaxing surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fels Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fels Point Hotel Tralee
Fels Point Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fels Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.