We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fels Point Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fels Point Hotel to your Saves list
Fels Point Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dan Spring Road, Tralee, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Tralee)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Newbridge, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent three nights in this beautiful hoten in Tralee it was a very relaxing holiday. I asked for a upgrade and got a very large room with a balcony. I can recommend this hotel you can relax or party breakfast in bed is a must.

Room Tip: book a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am glad you took the opportunity to have room service breakfast - always a great treat when staying at the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    161
    83
    37
    26
See reviews for
135
174
17
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Four of us booked into this hotel and had a really nice time.The hotel is very nice,clean and comfortable.Really nice friendly staff on front of desk.Full of information about the area.Got a really good deal on facebook through the hotel.Is worth adding because they let you know about specials.Rooms are a good size.When we arrived we were given two doubles even though we wanted twins but there was no problem with them changing.The hotel is a bit outside the town but that's no big deal.right next door to aquadome.We checked out kids club which looks really good.Going back in Aug with kids.Ate in restaurant at wetlands one day which was fab and good price,really worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and delighted you had a enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tralee very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here at the weekend and while we had a really good time there were some comments that id like to make.

Firstly, we booked our dog into local kennels through the hotel using their dog package, Murphy (my dog) was to receive a doggie goodie bag on arrival which was never received, however on arrival we discovered no one knew anything about us having a dog with us which was alarming considering we were in Tralee having driven nearly 5 hours to get there, it all worked out however in the end up and the boarding kennels we booked in with were fantastic.

Secondly a plus, we asked for a room with a balcony and were instantly given one which was a brilliant plus considering it was 26 degrees all weekend.

Thirdly we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and the service was very good. One thing i would like to comment on was me and my boyfriend are in our late 20's he has long hair and i suppose could be considered alternative looking. There seemed to be what i assumed to be a manager, a woman in a suit walking around asking people how they were, where had they come from, did they like their food, giving them recommendations making them feel welcome. On every occasion that we were there, including breakfast time in the morning, she completely ignored me and my boyfriend every time, at one stage chatting to the tables on each side of us and walking by us. I found this to be very rude, as if we weren't worth bothering with, the time was spent schmoozing with the older people and me and my boyfriend both discussed how it would serve her better to be nicer to the internet generation who are more likely to go on the internet and write reviews. It felt like we were not good enough to even acknowledge and as my boyfriend said at the time clearly our money wasn't as good as other peoples.

All in all we did enjoy our stay, apart from a few things as noted above. It had its pluses and its negatives and i would recommend it if your the older generation as it really seems to be geared towards that.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for you kind comments and delighted you had the opportunity to visit Tralee is such amazing weather.
Please be assured that it would never be our intention to ignore any of our customers and I am very sorry that you perceived this to be the case.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your dog to Tralee once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Hotel is situated outside the town, but within easy walking distance. There's free parking. Overall we felt the hotel lacked character. It wasn't cheap for mid week either. The entrance is confusing but once you get inside the staff are very friendly. Breakfast is average - no fresh orange juice

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for your lovely comments on our staff. Based on recent feedback we are currently reviewing our breakfast service with a view to introducing improved service standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

stayed here for 4 days b/b 1st the good bits reception staff fine our room spacious and clean bedroom staff do a good job. now for the bad bits remember this is a 4 star hotel breakfast was to say the least average food kept in hot plates not always warm this was every day people kept having to ask staff to refil plates ,tables half laid missing knives spoons milk butter, tables near us remained uncleared during our breakfast stay , my advice management need to up there game,wont be rushing back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry that breakfast was disappointing. Please be assured I have shared your comments with our food & beverage team and each of the points your raised will be addressed immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystones, Ireland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just stayed the one night here. Hotel was ok. Rooms were reasonably sized with all mod-cons although the walls were not clean and the ironing board was left out. Major issue was that there was a wedding on that nobody informed us about. It ran amok until all hours so very loud. Spoke with reception and nothing was done. On check out, strangely no question as to how our stay was. I didn't visit the rest of the hotel nor did we eat in the hotel. There are plenty of better options in Kerry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Diarmuid thank you for your comments. I was sorry to read about the disturbances you experienced regarding noise from the wedding. We are currently reviewing our procedures in an effort to minimise noise disruption to guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The room was large and the shower was good. Best part was the bed - very comfortable. Another plus was a docking station which allowed you to play music from the i-Phone. Some scuff marks on the wall as you enter the room could do with being painted. The breakfast was adequate. Staff are friendly. Didn't make it to the pool or fitness centre. No major complaints about the hotel but it just lacks a little quality for a four star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I have shared your comments with our team who will action the points you have raised. Looking forward to seeing you in Tralee again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fels Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fels Point Hotel

Address: Dan Spring Road, Tralee, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Tralee)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#7 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fels Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel Tralee (formerly Fels Point Hotel), prides itself on the standard of service, quality and courtesy offered to all our guests. Each of the 165 fully air conditioned luxuriously decorated superior and executive guest rooms provide the relaxation and luxury our guests deserve. Clarets Bar & Morels Restaurant Tralee serve contemporary cuisine using the best of fresh local produce served in relaxing surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fels Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fels Point Hotel Tralee
Fels Point Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fels Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.