We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fels Point Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fels Point Hotel to your Saves list
Fels Point Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dan Spring Road, Tralee, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Tralee)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Wexford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Stayed here recently, for 4 nights,as a party of 8 in total. Rooms were very modern, clean, with a very welcome fridge, flat screen tv, and fresh towels and toiletries daily. We had breakfast each morning, both in the dining room and our rooms, with lovely choices, go for the french toast, or omelette, off the cooked to order breakfast menu. We had lunch, which was a very high quality for bar food, the presentation was second to none! We did not eat dinner in this hotel. Swimming for residents is in the close by Aquadome, which is free, and a great bonus for family holidays, as children, nevermind adults will love this.
I would definitely stay in this hotel again. Tralee, is a lovely, vibrant town, with lots to offer people of all ages. You will not regret your stay at this beautiful, modern hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran48, Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay, we appreciate your feedback and thank you also for sharing your impression of our hotel on tripadvisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Carlton Hotel Tralee and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip

Kind Regards
Kieran Murphy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    177
    90
    39
    26
See reviews for
142
187
19
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

This a a lovely hotel, we got a great deal and found it to be very good value for money. Hotel is bright and modern. Rooms are large and comfortable. Staff are very welcoming as well as being courteous and helpful throughout our stay. One slight negative was that internet was not available in our room. When we called reception, they told us that we needed to use a network but this did not work either. We were then told that there was obviously a problem with our laptop. This was not the case however as our friend's were unable to access the internet on their's either. overall, very good hotel and exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran48, Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor from your most recent stay at Carlton Hotel Tralee. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I sincerely appreciate you complimenting the friendliness and welcome from our team.

And that you got great value . The interent problem is something we are in the process
of rectfying

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon.

Yours Sincerely
Kieran Murphy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

I had some business meetings in the Carlton in April 2011 and no time for anything other than a quick soup and sandwich.

The chef is amazing. I would not have believed it possible to slice roast beef so thin. He is a technical marvel. The postage stamp piece of beef in my sandwich is best suited to those who dont want beef in the first place. A real disappointment. It would be better for the hotel not to offer sandwiches unless the content at least meets the description.

I cannot otherwise fault the hotel. I did not stay there so cannot comment on accommodation. Business facilities were good.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran48, Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. While we are delighted that you found our business services up to standard I am very disappointed that your experience of our food did not meet the high standards we have set for ourselves and our guests.

One of our goals is to constantly give excellent service and value for money . This is borne out by the majority of reviews we receive and our return guests which account for 60% of our business. We willceertainly take your comments on board and see what changes we need to
make to give you the best value we can offer

Kind regards
Kieran Murphy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Stayed 3 nights for a friend's wedding (wedding in a nearby hotel). Rooms were clean, big, bright and great value deals booked online. Good choice at breakfast, however I don't think I have ever had worse coffee. On all three mornings it tasted like dish water. Staff were friendly and efficient and when 15 of us went to the bar which was packed, for an evening meal, all meals came out perfect with a very efficient waitress. The hotel itself is a bit soul-less with little atmosphere but happy to forfeit that for cleanliness. Would go back again.

Room Tip: Great priced hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran48, Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.
Your positive feedback is much appreciated. We are very fortunate to have such a professional team who really enjoy their work.
Our food offering is very popular with both locals and visitors and it is an area we pay particular attention to.
I will pass on your comments to all department Heads and we look forward to welcoming you back . In relation to our coffee we have spoken to our coffee supplier to change the blend
and this should improve your expereince of same on your return

Regards
Kieran Murphy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offaly
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Had a great 2 night stay in the Carlton Tralee. Have stayed before and enjoy it every time. The complimentary upgrade was a wonderful surprise. The room was huge and airy with fabulous views. Huge bathroom with large bath and a very powerful shower!! Lots of big bath towels and toiletries. The bed!! One if the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in!! This alone would keep me coming back. Lovely and peaceful. Breakfasts lovely on both morning. Staff eager to help and interested in feedback. I haven't been disappointed in this hotel yet. They have great deals online, worth keeping an eye out for. I will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran48, Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us on Trip Advisor.
and we are delighted you had a pleasant stay and look forward to your return

Best regards

Kieran Murphy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We have just cone back for a 2 night stay to celebrate my fiancé's birthday. From making the reservation with teresa who was very helpful even helped to organise a cake for his to Eoin on checkin & departures was very friendly & helpful I also must mention Tim in the bar who could not do enough for us even Mick the night porter was so nice. The only 2 things that were a disappointment was the service in the restaurant the staff were not very attentive either at dinner or breakfast the dinner menu could also have a better selection and the deserts were only ok nothing that grabbed my attention in the menu . many thanks to all the staff who made our stay very pleasant. We hope to return in the future

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran48, Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon.
I have passed on your loevly comments to theTheresa and Tim and the reception staff
In relation to our restaurant staff again thank you for your comments and we shall work to
rectify your impressions of them . In relation to the food we pride our selves on its variety
and presentation and hope we can give you a more positive image when you return to us

Kind regards
Kieran Murphy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed in the carlton last weekend. While the hotel was lovely, we were disappointed with the room service. We had ordered breakfast to come between 9.30 and 10.00. Thinking that maybe they were running behind schedule, i decided to give them a chance. But at about 10.20 i phoned reception to be told they had not recieved our room service order.
After explaining that we had placed our order the night before, we were able to get 2 full irish breakfasts. The waiter arrived and had found that our order card was still hanging on our door, having not been collected as they should have at 4am.
Our fry ups were certainly not freshly made and seemed like they were just heated up leftovers. No white toast but wholemeal toast which was stale - definately not freshly toasted. No ketchup which is a must with a full irish! As for the grapefruit juice, that was certainly watered down.
I'm never one for forming complaints or causing grief to staff. So I decided that when i was checking out, i would mention it to reception when asked "how did we enjoy our stay" but we were not even asked such a question.
However, it is a nice hotel and it would not put me off staying again (except for the TV - it couldnt be further away from the bed!), i'm just disappointed that their mistake was not acknowledged on our departure.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran48, Manager at Fels Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
I was very disappointed the read about your experiences during your stay here at the Carlton Hotel Tralee. I have spoken to the Head Chef in relation to the food issues you have mentioned. He asked me to pass on his sincerest apologies .
Customer satisfaction is always our number one priority here at the Carlton Tralee but sadly we failed this on your visit. I would really like for you to afford us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Carlton Tralee Hotel in the near future so as to experience our normal high levels of customer service.

Yours Sincerely
Kieran Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fels Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fels Point Hotel

Address: Dan Spring Road, Tralee, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Tralee)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#7 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fels Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel Tralee (formerly Fels Point Hotel), prides itself on the standard of service, quality and courtesy offered to all our guests. Each of the 165 fully air conditioned luxuriously decorated superior and executive guest rooms provide the relaxation and luxury our guests deserve. Clarets Bar & Morels Restaurant Tralee serve contemporary cuisine using the best of fresh local produce served in relaxing surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fels Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fels Point Hotel Tralee
Fels Point Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fels Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.