We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballyroe Heights Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ballyroe Heights Hotel to your Saves list
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballyroe, Tralee, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
kerry ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little Gem !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

As a local I can vouch that this hotel is fantastic. The food is delicious and every event I have attended in the ballroom has been fantastic and enjoyable. The location is brilliant and its even nice to call up and to sit outside with a coffee and take in the amazing view. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSullivan, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear ilovethesun12,

Thank you for your lovely review. It is great to read reviews from our local customers and I look forward to seeing you at your next event with us.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    96
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
106
133
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and really enjoyed it. On arrival the reception staff were very helpful to us and went out of their way to get us some information that we required for the following day. Although our rooms were quite a bit away from reception they appeared to be in the newer part of the hotel (in hindsight this was probably a good thing as there were 2 weddings in the hotel during our stay). They were very nice comfortable rooms with free wi-fi (and throughout the hotel) with tea/coffee making facilities in both. I just have one little gripe and that was the absence of a "shower cap" in the bathroom. We could have gotten one from housekeeping but surely putting a shower cap into the rooms is not that expensive? We had a lovely meal in the bistro on our first night and the guy who served us (I think he was called Mossie?) couldn't have been nicer. Breakfast was in a fabulous room with a gorgeous view...it was nice, quiet and relaxed exactly what you need in the morning. The service was excellent and the food was very good. Throughout this hotel the staff were extremely nice and helpful. The hotel is on the outskirts of Tralee and only a 10 minute drive to get there or a short taxi ride. I would recommend this hotel to others and would hope to return. There are no leisure facilities in the hotel - I am not sure if this is something that might come in time but it is a fabulous location for a hot tub with a view.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSullivan, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear GreeceQBee,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review. I am delighted you found all aspects of your stay enjoyable and I have passed on all your kind comments to our team.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thank you once again for such a lovely report.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The view from reception is amazing. Breakfast was good. Rooms are of 4 star standard. We had room 306 and we had no complaints. There was a wedding on the same night and we couldn't hear any noise. The hotel is a nice drive from Tralee though.

Room Tip: Room 306 was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSullivan, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear J W,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and it was great to hear that you enjoyed our peaceful location and you were happy with all our facilities.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We availed of the summer sale as we had stayed there last year and we were delighted with the friendly welcome and very friendly staff at the hotel. Our room was very comfortable, spacious with wifi and the food in the bar was excellent. Breakfast the following morning had plenty off variety and ticked all the boxes! We would highly recommend Ballyroe Heights Hotel and will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSullivan, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear suitseir,

Thank you for returning to us again and I am glad you got to avail of our ever popular summer sale.

We will be delighted to see you again next year.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

lovely stay in ballyroe.....................room very nice....seems all new.....breaky was excellent and served in pleasant and friendly manner..................view from dining room super......car park excellent plenty of spaces................................tv good in room......

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSullivan, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Tomhannon,

It was lovely to read your great comments and I was delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here recently what a fantastic location only minutes from Tralee town centre, Staff were extremely friendly, food was excellent and plentiful, room had a fantastic view of nearby mountains, was sufficiently equipped for our needs, fantastic bar, would highly recommend for the tranquil location definitely will return here. prices also very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSullivan, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Tommygree,

I was thrilled to read you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our fabulous views of the Sliabh Mish Mountains. Thank you for all your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Came here one evening for dinner with our 2 boys, 2 and 5 years old. Can't mention enough how accommodating and friendly ALL the staff were, nothing was too much trouble. Meal was delicious and loads of it! Kids shared a kids meal as there was plenty in one portion. We ate in the bar, and sat outside afterwards. Amazing views of the surrounding mountains. Really lovely hotel, would definitely visit again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSullivan, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear cupcakeprincess1,

Thank you for your lovely review. I was delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your dining experience and we hope to see you all again.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ballyroe Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyroe Heights Hotel

Address: Ballyroe, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#2 Family Hotel in Tralee
#5 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballyroe Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Ballyroe Heights Hotel, Tralee offers its guests the very best in service, value, top class facilities and all the comfort and relaxation of a quality three star hotel. Surrounded by stunning views of Tralee Bay and the Sliabh Mish Mountains, this hotel is located in the heart of Kerry and only 4km from Tralee town centre with free on-site parking. A warm welcome awaits you on arrival in a bright and stylish lobby featuring magnificent local paintings, Italian leather furniture, baby grand piano and panoramic views of the Bay and Mountains. All bedrooms are finished to an impeccable standard with features including: Tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary Wi-Fi, flat screen LCD television, ensuite shower and bath, steam free mirrors, complimentary toiletries, high performance hair dryer, remote control lighting and direct dial telephone. Diners are offered the finest food in unique and stunning surroundings in the Palace Bar & Restaurant or Summit Suite. Ballyroe Heights Hotel's ideal central location in Kerry is perfect for touring the Ring of Kerry or Dingle Peninsula. Tralee has a wide range of tourist attractions, great shops and lively nightlife.Hotel services include weddings receptions, functions, conferences, meetings. Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012,2013 and 2014. Awards from WeddingDates: *Best 3 star Wedding Venue in Ireland *Best overall Munster Venue *Best overall Kerry venue Radio Kerry ~ Excellence in Business Award 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Ballyroe Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyroe Heights Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballyroe Heights Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.