We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ballyroe Heights Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ballyroe Heights Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballyroe, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Tralee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“family break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for just 1 night to meet with some family. The hotels location is lovely, very scenic and not too far from the town about €10 in a taxi. The rooms are nice but the shower water never seems to be hot, just luke warm. We only stayed one night but the other members of family stayed for 2 and mentioned it was the same for them. Hotel has free WiFi which is always a bonus! Staff are lovely and really helpful, we had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and the food was lovely. the breakfast room really makes the most of the views the hotel has! Overall a lovely hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear edellepen,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments, I will certainely take them on board. The views of the Sliabh Mish Mountains and Tralee Bay are magnificent from our Summit room. Thank you for your kind comments, I will pass them on to our team.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    72
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
76
98
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Omagh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at Ballyroe last week for a 2 night stay- It is a beautiful hotel with wonderful staff who go out of their to please you!! It is very well kept and the views from the hotel are great- I would recommend it to anyone who wants a good value break

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear vgiven,

Thank you for your kind review and kind comments. I am pleased you took in our spectacular views during your stay. They really are breathtaking.

Hope to you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay here with my wife and three children, nothing negative to say about it. The staff were very friendly and sorted us out with a bottle of milk for our 2 yr old at midnight so even he was happy!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Seanh318,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous review. I am delighted you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for my nephew wedding for two nights excellent hotel very clean good food freshly cooked breakfast only negative is they should use fresh fruit instead of tinned great staff would recommend this hotel set in beautiful country side

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Maryrose2012,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your lovely review.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for a friends wedding. Staff were all very friendly. The food was excellent for the dinner and the breakfast. Room was very clean and modern. No problems with noise so I had good quality sleep. The views from the hotel are amazing and I couldn't recomend enough doing the ring of kerry for a day trip. I would definetely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear 1980stevie,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and will pass on all your kind comments to our team. I am particularly pleased that you enjoyed our peaceful surroundings and the delights of the Ring of Kerry.

Best regards,
Mark Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a tour with Travel Solutions. Nice hotel but unfortunately we did not get to eat in the restaurant but they had set tables up in the ballroom which made it feel a bit recreational and the food on the first night was like school dinners but after having a word with our tour manager the food improved and each night seemed to get better. The reception and bar staff were very helpful and friendly and all in all a nice hotel to stay in I think it would be better if maybe you were not with a tour as then I'm sure you would dine in the restaurant. Not within walking distance to Tralee but easy enough to get a taxi which was 10 euros. A good three star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear IrisK123,

Thank you for posting your recent review. I am delighted that your feedback was acted on immediately and you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to accommodate such a lovely group of people and hopefully we will see you and your guide Alistair again in the future.

Best regards,
Mark Sullivan,
General Manager/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My Husband and I recently travelled from Scotland on a Glenton Tours six day break and stayed at this three star hotel . We have been in four star hotels which have been no better !! The food was good and the fact that we had had just a two choices menu, was perhaps more to do with Glenton keeping their tours affordable than the hotel's fault.The rooms were lovely and the beds comfortable. The staff were attentive and and did their jobs with a smile.This was highly commendable and much appreciated by us, as, tragically, the owner's 25 year old son, who had a wife and two young ,children and who was a colleague and friend of the staff,,was in a fatal car crash on the evening we arrived at the hotel. This is a lovely hotel with stunning views over very green countryrside.Would visit again.

Room Tip: I was told high floor rooms have balcony. Ask for clear view of countryside,as some rooms had tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Eunice1841,

We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday in Tralee. Thanks for your extremely kind comments which are much appreciated.

Bed regards,
Mark Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballyroe Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyroe Heights Hotel

Address: Ballyroe, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tralee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#6 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballyroe Heights Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Ballyroe Heights Hotel, Tralee offers its guests the very best in service, value, top class facilities and all the comfort and relaxation of a quality three star hotel.Located in the heart of Kerry and only 4km from Tralee town centre on the R551. The hotel has free on-site parking.A warm welcome awaits you on arrival in a bright and stylish lobby featuring magnificent local paintings, Italian leather furniture, baby grand piano and panoramic views of the Bay and Mountains.All bedrooms are finished to an impeccable standard with features including: Tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary wireless broadband, flat screen LCD television, ensuite shower and bath, steam free mirrors, complimentary toiletries, high performance hair dryer, remote control lighting and direct dial telephone.Diners are offered the finest food in unique and stunning surroundings in the Palace Bar & Bistro or Summit Restaurant.Ballyroe Heights Hotel's ideal central location in Kerry is perfect for touring the Ring of Kerry or Dingle Peninsula. Tralee has a wide range of tourist attractions, great shops and lively nightlife.Hotel services include weddings receptions, functions, conferences, meetings.Awards from WeddingDates ~Best Wedding Venue in Ireland Best Country House Venue in IrelandBest 3 star Venue in IrelandBest Munster Venue Best Kerry Venue 2012 and 2013 Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012,2013 and 2014.Radio Kerry ~ Excellence in Business Award 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ballyroe Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyroe Heights Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballyroe Heights Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.