We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinlans

Quinlans
The Mall Tralee | Tralee, Tralee, Ireland
066 712 3998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 80 restaurants in Tralee
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Irish, Healthy, Fish & Chips, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Our Fish Shop is Open from 8.30 to 6.30 and the Fish and Chips is open from 12 to 10pm daily.Quinlan’s are unique in Ireland as we source all our Fresh Fish and Shellfish from our very own boats and fish factory at Renard Point, Caherciveen. Quinlan’s Seafood Bar, situated in the heart of Tralee will tempt diners with fresh seasonal fish and seafood in a casually elegant setting.The fish menu is extensive and is based on what has been landed by our boats in Renard and Caherciveen. Fresh Hake, Cod, Haddock, Whiting and Plaice, from Dingle bay are available throughout the year. Every day a range of specials depending on what is in season and has landed that morning is available.
Kerry
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW

We love this place and eat here every other weekend, our usual is the meal deal which is fish, chips, onion rings or peas and a drink although they seemed to have taken the onion rings off of the offer now. This deal is around €12 and is enough to feed two as portions are generous. We used to have a loyalty card but this also seems to be gone now as we havnt been able to get one here for quite some time - pity. Would also be great if water could be an option for the meal deal drink as we're not really into fizzy drinks. Staff are also very friendly and place is kept very clean.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIAM Q Q, Owner at Quinlans, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello A H,
Thank you for your kind and comprehensive review this feedback is very important to us so as to communicate our offerings properly.
We do now offer both still and sparkling water and the loyalty card will be coming back also as we are presently trying to incorporate it into the till system.
Regards,
Liam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    47
    19
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Portugal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

had cod and chips staff friendly service efficient cod perfectly cooked big portion of chips reasonably priced I will definitely be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIAM Q Q, Owner at Quinlans, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello mike2101,
Thank you for your review.Cod is the most popular of all our species however if you are going to come back you could also try Hake or Haddock both excellent and very abundant in our local waters.
Regards,
Liam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pity about the veg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Good things first, I was highly impressed by the wet fish counter when I dropped in for a menu during the day, only wish I had something half as good near to home. Lovely friendly staff as well.

Returned for an evening takeaway and cannot fault the fish or the batter - the one sweet and fresh and the other properly light and crunchy. The problem was the accompaniments; sorry chaps, the mushy peas were over salty and far too sloppy, more like badly made soup than the thick purée they should be, and the 'real' (their quote marks) chips distinctly mediocre, not precisely flabby but entirely lacking the contrast between crisp exterior and floury inside which is what defines a good chip. If that's reality I'll settle for fantasy, preferably triple cooked.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIAM Q Q, Owner at Quinlans, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello Bibliobat,
Thank you for your review.Mushy peas be their nature are naturally runny and some of our customers like them like that and some like yourself like them more purée'd we do drain them when customers ask.Regarding the chips again personal choice we do serve them crunchy but some like them more well done,regardless i welcome your comments and have spoken with all our staff to keep our standards high.
Kind Regards,
Liam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My First time having Fresh Fish & Chips!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My first time eaten in Quinlans. An it was highly reckmoned by the owner of the B&B. An the 2 lads behind the counter where very pleasant!!. Its was well worth the visit an the Fish & Chips was very fresh. I would highly reckmoned it to anyone who will be in Tralee. To go in!!. if you like Fish & chips!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIAM Q Q, Owner at Quinlans, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hello Gary C,
Thank you for your review and I see that you were very happy with the quality of our offering.We only use FRESH FISH and this comes through in the taste,please come to visit us again.
Regards,
Liam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good FISH AND CHIPS and CHOWDER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I was looking for some takeout food. (Tired of eating in restaurants.) Saw this restaurant and went in before reading the TRIPADVISOR report. One item that caught my eye was the chowder which my wife likes.

Ordered one chowder and one Fish and Chips to go. Everything is cooked to order. Staff very friendly.

While waiting for my food I checked TRIPADVISOR and found that this is a highly rated restaurant. One negative comment was that the facility did not have real tables and chairs. There were several people seated and enjoying their meal. This is not a "fancy sit down" restaurant but does have facilities for those who want to dine in. The waitress will come to you and take your order or you can order at the counter. I did not see this as a problem.

My take out order was packaged nicely and good quality plastic cutlery was available.

The food was very good to excellent. I had haddock.

There is not much more to say other than I would go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIAM Q Q, Owner at Quinlans, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hello MEGATLX,
Thank you for your review.We are delighted that you enjoyed your take out.We have only limited seating but we are soon hoping to have more.
Kind Regards,
Liam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quinlans also viewed

Tralee, County Kerry
Tralee, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Tralee, County Kerry
 

Been to Quinlans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinlans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.