We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID the place! WORST hostel experience EVER.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Finnegan's Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Finnegan's Hostel to your Saves list
Finnegan's Hostel
17 Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tralee
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AVOID the place! WORST hostel experience EVER.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My boyfriend and I booked for a week a double en-suite via booking.com and paid the deposit online. As soon as we got there though, we found a boy outside the door (whom we later found to be working there) who without even greeting us just asked if we'd booked. He didn't know who we were nor how long we were supposed to stay. He tried to charge us MORE MONEY than the expected amount. We paid during chek-in and had to insist in order to get a receip (a piece of torn plain paper with the number of nights and cost written in pen and the boy's signature - fiscally useless).
Then there was the room. Incredibly dusty, smelly and with dirty sheets (they didn't change them after the former guests, I guess!!), the bathroom was very small and I had to clean it before using it. The bed was oblique and crooked.
After a couple of nights spent sleeping with our clothes on (one night we even woke up with itchy legs!!), we decided to change hostel, and asked to talk to the landlady (Eileen) to get our money back in order to pay only for the number of nights we actually spent there. She said we coul check out at any time but we COULD NOT HAVE OUR MONEY BACK, and tried to convince us that we already exploited the occasion of paying less since we booked for more than one night (which of course was not true). As no receip was ever issued, there was nothing we coul do.
So we left Finnegan's and lost 200€.
Terrible service, zero hospitality. This hostel is as far to Irish kindness and warm welcome as one can ever imagine.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    18
    5
    8
    29
See reviews for
11
20
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

I would thoroughly recommend this hostel for the following reasons:
Eileen is an excellent host
The tariff is very reasonable
The hostel was once a stately home with plenty of room
There is an excellent restrauant in the basement of the hostel, with a great chef
You could relax in this hostel and not neet to leave. I would certianly recommend this to anyone wanting to lay aside for a while in a relaxed, casual environment, right in the heart of Tralee and next to a brilliant park, filled with the roses of Tralee

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Two tired travellers slipped into Finnegans to look for somewhere to stay for the night. Our bus westbound for Dingle had already gone for the day by the time we arrived to Tralee with the train.

Despite us not being very sociable as exhausted as we were, we were welcomed with open arms. It didnt take long to find that smile on our lips again. And still this was on a, as it seemed, very busy knight, as the hotel also have a restaurant. Finnegans seems to crawl on their knees to satisfy their customers.

If you want personal serive, to say the least, Finnegans is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

My team and myself stayed here for two nights! And it was great! The food was wonderful! The beds were comfortable. We had a bit of minor problems with our shower and not having bathroom stuff but it was all resolved on our arrival. Eileen is so wonderful and so welcoming. A very enjoyable place to stay!

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flensburg, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

it was such a terrible hostel-i just cant believe it-the romms are very impure-the bathroom was full of mould-there was no toilet paper in it-there was dust on my bed (unbelieveable)-the curtain rod was broken-there was no electicity on the socket-the rooms are badly soundprooved -and so on...we had to pay 20Euro for such a room?!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorrogil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

A group of us stayed in Finnegans for 5 nights over the weekend of the Rose of Tralee festival and fell in love with it instantly. The beds were really comfy, the building itself is gorgeous with a lovely kitchen and sitting room which looks out on Denny st. It was an excellent location right in the heart of everything (especially for the Rose of Tralee festival) But most importantly the staff and owners were amazing, they were so welcoming, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel at home from the minute we landed. Even my parents were made to feel welcome when they called around and could have a cup of tea and sit out on the front steps enjoying the view of the stalls and parades. We also had dinner in the restaurant where the food was second to none and the atmosphere was fantastic. A big big thank you to Hamish, Eileen, Damien, Marion and everyone else from Finnegans, we will all definitley recommend Finnegans to anyone going to Tralee, and none of us would want to stay anywhere else the next time we are in the area :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Such a shame. We stayed here twice in the last two weeks during a walking holiday and both nights we had a terrible nights sleep. The first night was due to rowdy guests but the second night was due to the actual staff. The 'host' got incredibly drunk and proceeded to assault his friends, guests and people in the street. We were awake for 3 hours in the night listening to swearing, screaming, glass smashing, fire extinguishers being let off, music played at full volume and the 'host' running into the dormitory and calling the guests names and trying to get in their beds!!!
It's a real shame because the hostel is beautiful, in a great location and has a good kitchen and good rooms.
Good luck if you stay here!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Finnegan's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnegan's Hostel

Address: 17 Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Finnegan's Hostel, Restaurant and Mary Anne's Tea Rooms, Tralee, Co. Kerry. Built by the Denny family in 1826 from the stones of the old Tralee Town Castle. It was converted into a cute quaint hostel whilst making the most of its original features. We have a mixture of dorms and rooms with forty beds in total. All the private rooms are en-suite. We also have two big rooms with open fireplaces, perfect for those winter days! Our cellar restaurant serves fresh seafood and steak and offers great value for money. We are just five minutes walk from the train (Irish Rail) and bus (Bus Eireann) station and we are just off the Main Street of Tralee town so its perfect for visiting the sites, or heading out at night! Across the street from us is the amazing Tralee town park. We are only thirty minutes by car from Dingle, the Ring of Kerry and Killarney. The history of the famous Kerry landmark Mary Anne's Tea Rooms: Mary Anne Hickey and her husband Bartholomew came from a farm in Crinne outside Castleisland, Co. Kerry. She had ten children and fifty-four grandchildren of which I am one. She loved baking and entertaining friends & family at her home and these tearooms are dedicated to her memory. Eileen Nolan (Owner) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Finnegan's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finnegan's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.