We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious family friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowlands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Meadowlands Hotel to your Saves list
Meadowlands Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oakpark, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Dublin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spacious family friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Called in late with tired kids and the friendly staff rescued the weekend break. Great service, great breakfast and excellent staff. Very child friendly. Great pub with nice music. Next time I will be here in time.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowlands2014, Director of Sales at Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to review the Meadowlands Hotel and for your lovely compliments about our staff and child friendly hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and do hope you will return for a longer break with your family!
Kind Regards,
Heather MacIver
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    48
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
54
62
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
england
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed here on a work trip a few weeks ago. Since I have been back to Ireland to Cork, Shannon and Dublin and not one of the other hotels come close to this one. At each hotel we used the function room for training to about 60 plus people each day. At the meadowland the attention to detail was fantastic and the staff here did everything to make sure the day ran smooth. The room I stayed in was very large and very clean the on-suite with Whirl pool bath separate shower and two sinks was a nice to have to unwind after a long day. The hotel has a restaurant and a bar area with it own menu. I choose to just eat in the bar both nights. One night had the steak which was so nice I had to put it as my Facebook status as it was the best steak I have ever had. The seconded night I had the seafood platter as I was told the owner of the hotel was also a fisherman. This was very clear when you tasted the quality and freshness of the fish. Nice people, amazing food great hotel. Would with out a doubt stay here with the family. P,s thanks for the loafs of soda bread the wife loved it as much as I did.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowlands2014, Guest Relations Manager at Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
As a family run hotel we strive to provide a quality and friend business and leisure service to our guests. We appreciate your amazing review as we very much enjoyed accommodating your group. Thank you for your compliments. We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Meadowlands Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Heather MacIver
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Meath, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

we stayed for 1 night during the stop off in tralee.. fab hotel with v friendly and helpful staff.
THANK YOU so much to the management for their substantial donation to The Friends of St Lukes Charity fund...
We also spotted some celebs enjoying the fab hotel bar..
KERRYMAN JOKE... A man asked the barman" Is that the Bomber Liston in the bar??
The barman replyed in his strong kerry accent...."Ahh nooo thats actually Alan Quinlan"!! We laughed all night.. so funny...as he was serious... mr quinlan was also there..2 sound fellas who gladly posed for photos..
we will stay longer next time..
jenny

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowlands2014, Director of Sales at Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Jenny,
Thank-you very much for taking the time to review the Meadowlands. We were delighted to accommodate you while assisting in the fundraising for such a worthy cause. We wish you the best in your fundraising efforts and do hope you will visit us at the Meadowlands in the near future!!
Kind Regards,
Heather MacIver
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Walking down the hallway of the Meadowlands hotel I found myself feeling a wonderful sense of peace and calm. Ahead of me was a glowing fire that said "Welcome!" in it's warmth. On the hall table the beautiful aroma of fresh flowers lifted my spirits and the smiles and genuine warmth of the staff made me feel that I was truly welcome here!
I have been using the Meadowlands Conference facilities and meeting rooms for over a year now and every experience has always been first class! My work matters to me so it is vital that the spirit, professionalism and ambience of any facility I use reflect my own ethos for providing a top notch service. Thank you to all the wonderful staff and to the owners Peggy and Paddy for everything you have done to make me feel so welcome! I highly recommend the Meadowlands! It's simply MAGICAL! Thank you for making business such a pleasure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowlands2014, Director of Sales at Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hi Sunny D,
Thank-you for such a glowing review. It is always a pleasure accommodating you for your meetings and events. It is lovely to be viewed as "Magical" . We look forward to continuing to work with you.
Kind Regards,
Heather Maciver
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Meadowlands Hotel is a really nice hotel. We were a party of six including a toddler, and we had a really good stay. The rooms are a lovely size and very clean. The food and service in the bar were excellent and the staff were very obliging and friendly. Would be happy to stay here again if I visit Tralee in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowlands2014, Director of Sales at Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
thank you so much for choosing the Meadowlands Hotel. We are all delighted to read your review and thank you for your lovely comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to again soon.

Kind Regards,
Heather MacIver
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I have been to hotels all over the world and in my opinion this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in and also the friendliest staff, the most amazing food and the homeliness of this hotel I would most definitely recommend it.Also a massive thanks to Áine who was amazing

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowlands2014, Director of Sales at Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear John,
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review and your compliments of our staff and food! We are also happy to hear your mention of Aine who we are proud to have on our reception team! We hope you will return to stay with us in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Heather MacIver
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I was booked into this hotel by j murphy and sons, me and two other colleagues were presenting conferences during the day ... we were looked after like kings !.. we could not want for anything at all.. the hospitality of this this hotel is second to none ,
the rooms are beautiful and this is not even the best bit !....you must go here and eat !!! OMG!! I had the steak here , this steak was the best steak I have ever eaten full stop, it melts in the mouth sooooo tender...(drools) the food portions were so good once I'd finished my meal I was like a balloon , again the staff are second to none, they could not be more polite and helpful , and the second day was the same I ate like a true champion , so much flavour in the food ....the last day we asked if we could have a loaf of their home made soda bread to take home :)... they were delighted to bake us some , and right now I have a few slices here in front of me whilst I type this up here ,home back in the UK Kent. I enjoyed my experience so much that my wife and I and the kids are 100% going to have a long weekend here.
Before I go I just want to say thank you to all the hotel staff at Meadowlands you guys made us feel at home and I will be back ,
thanks

Paul H

Room Tip: at for swimming pools I didn't look nor did I look for a fitness room ... I recommend the family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowlands2014, Director of Sales at Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Paul Hurkett,
Thank-you for such an amazing review. We were delighted to accommodate you and your conference and thrilled to read your compliments of our staff, food and services!! We hope that your family enjoyed the bread and do hope you will get a chance to bring your family for a visit in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Heather Maciver
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meadowlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlands Hotel

Address: Oakpark, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadowlands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowlands Hotel, Tralee, is a unique, elegant and stylish 4* hotel that offers a traditional Céad Míle Fáilte to all who walk through its’ doors. This family owned hotel set in a tranquil corner of Tralee is a hidden gem, just 1km from the town centre’s many attractions including Tralee Sports & Leisure Complex, Siamse Tire, Kingdom Greyhound Stadium, Tralee Town Rose Park, Kerry County Museum and centrally located at the gateway to the Kingdom, it’s an ideal base for exploring the Wild Atlantic Way. Johnny Frank’s Bar is the ideal setting for relaxing in front of the open fire, serves food 10am-9pm and features Traditional Music sessions on a regular basis. Or treat yourself to a meal in our Award Winning Restaurant. Whatever you decide, The Meadowlands Hotel is the perfect choice for your break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Meadowlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowlands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.