We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Meadowlands Hotel to your Saves list
Meadowlands Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oakpark, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely modern hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a very nice modern hotel, on the edge of town. The bedrooms are very spacious and well equipped. The hotel grounds are very well preserved.
This is an excellent hotel, great breakfast, and courteous staff. It's a nice walk, only about 10 minutes walk from the town centre. Food is good, would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    63
    24
    3
    6
See reviews for
71
80
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pa.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We didn't really know what to expect when we decided to book our accommodations in a hotel, rather than a B&B, which we had been doing throughout our 2-1/2 week trip to Ireland. The room was comfortable; clean and spacious, and the front desk staff helpful and friendly during our stay, which is always a plus! There was a nice breakfast with many tasty selections, but what topped that meal, was the dinner we had, in the bar, and then, lunch the following day, prior to our departure. There were local fish selections, and some of the regular Irish fare, but each meal was well prepared, followed by yummy dessert selections. The hotel, itself, is located within walking distance of the town center, and what a lovely surprise that was! There was a historical museum there, and much to our surprise, a gorgeous rose garden nearby, which was superiorly maintained. The local people were friendly and welcoming. We only wish we had another day in Tralee!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed for two nights in early August for a family wedding. The room we stayed in was perfect for two adults and two children as it had two large double beds and the bathroom which had a separate shower and bath was fabulous. The breakfast selection in the morning catered for all tastes and was very good. We also attended a wedding reception in the hotel and the food and service was excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 312
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templemore, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife who is invalided and requires a wheel Chair, we both stayed at The Meadow Lands Hotel and with the courtesy of the staff we were placed into the Executive Suite. Words cannot describe our delight with the cosy period atmosphere the décor and the Jacuzzi bath was so relaxing leaving was not an option. The hotel restaurants and bar were also of a period that created a relaxing mood of comfort with excellent food served by Jolly and efficient staff. We highly recommend this location to any traveller that wants to unwind. “The Meadowlands Have it All”
Tony.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Pleasant Hotel, only 5 mins drive from Tralee town centre. Hotel is slightly dated but we had a very pleasant stay. The staff make the hotel. The bar food and breakfast were very good. Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Recently went to this hotel for my daughters communion meal all i can say is from start to finish the staff couldn't do more for us. They had a lovely table set up for us on the balcony in the main restaurant but unfortunately some of the party couldn't get up the stairs but without a thought they brought the whole thing down. The waiter that took our order made my daughter feel very special on her special day was very appreciated i'm only sorry i didn't get his name before we left. i would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone for a stay as some of our party stayed there and the rooms are to a very high standard. To sum it up if you are ever in Tralee you would do well to stay here. sorry it took so long to post this review well done to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night over the June bank holiday weekend.The hotel is about five minutes from the centre of town.The hotel is very clean with friendly staff.There is a lovely library room on the ground floor.The bedrooms are very clean but old fashioned with various mixtures of timbers in the room.The bathroom is very strange as there is see through glass panels in the door.Breakfast is good with the breakfast cooked to order.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.9 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Fels Point Hotel
Fels Point Hotel
#10 of 15 in Tralee
4.0 of 5 stars 620 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#5 of 15 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#4 of 15 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Benners Hotel
Benners Hotel
#8 of 15 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlands Hotel

Address: Oakpark, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadowlands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on beautifully manicured gardens, the Meadowlands Hotel is a relaxing and enchanting oasis, located on the Wild Atlantic Way and at the gateway to the Kingdom of Kerry. Just 1km from Tralee Town Centre, the Meadowlands creates an ideal base for any visitors' tour of the county. The four-star family run hotel offers a friendly ambiance reflected in the helpful staff and elegantly furnished surroundings. The original Meadowlands Hotel, was purchased by the O Mhathuna Family from Dingle, re-built and re-emerged in June 1998 as the charming, intimate hotel the town has come to love. The O Mhathuna's insisted on maintaining the traditional aspect of the hotel and whilst this is apparent in all quarters, nowhere more does traditional local life come alive than in the infamous Johnny Frank's Bar, with its feature open fire, cascading staircase leading to the Library and the many traditional music sessions that ensure Caint, Ceol agus Craic! The family only use the best quality, locally produced ingredients and even source the fish from their own fish company in the village of Dingle on a daily basis, ensuring it's at its freshest when delivered to your table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Meadowlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowlands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.