We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowlands Hotel

Save Saved
You added Meadowlands Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Meadowlands Hotel
Oakpark, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Tralee
Dublin
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely modern hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a very nice modern hotel, on the edge of town. The bedrooms are very spacious and well equipped. The hotel grounds are very well preserved.
This is an excellent hotel, great breakfast, and courteous staff. It's a nice walk, only about 10 minutes walk from the town centre. Food is good, would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    41
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
43
57
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pa.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We didn't really know what to expect when we decided to book our accommodations in a hotel, rather than a B&B, which we had been doing throughout our 2-1/2 week trip to Ireland. The room was comfortable; clean and spacious, and the front desk staff helpful and friendly during our stay, which is always a plus! There was a nice breakfast with many tasty selections, but what topped that meal, was the dinner we had, in the bar, and then, lunch the following day, prior to our departure. There were local fish selections, and some of the regular Irish fare, but each meal was well prepared, followed by yummy dessert selections. The hotel, itself, is located within walking distance of the town center, and what a lovely surprise that was! There was a historical museum there, and much to our surprise, a gorgeous rose garden nearby, which was superiorly maintained. The local people were friendly and welcoming. We only wish we had another day in Tralee!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed for two nights in early August for a family wedding. The room we stayed in was perfect for two adults and two children as it had two large double beds and the bathroom which had a separate shower and bath was fabulous. The breakfast selection in the morning catered for all tastes and was very good. We also attended a wedding reception in the hotel and the food and service was excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 312
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templemore, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife who is invalided and requires a wheel Chair, we both stayed at The Meadow Lands Hotel and with the courtesy of the staff we were placed into the Executive Suite. Words cannot describe our delight with the cosy period atmosphere the décor and the Jacuzzi bath was so relaxing leaving was not an option. The hotel restaurants and bar were also of a period that created a relaxing mood of comfort with excellent food served by Jolly and efficient staff. We highly recommend this location to any traveller that wants to unwind. “The Meadowlands Have it All”
Tony.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant Hotel, only 5 mins drive from Tralee town centre. Hotel is slightly dated but we had a very pleasant stay. The staff make the hotel. The bar food and breakfast were very good. Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Recently went to this hotel for my daughters communion meal all i can say is from start to finish the staff couldn't do more for us. They had a lovely table set up for us on the balcony in the main restaurant but unfortunately some of the party couldn't get up the stairs but without a thought they brought the whole thing down. The waiter that took our order made my daughter feel very special on her special day was very appreciated i'm only sorry i didn't get his name before we left. i would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone for a stay as some of our party stayed there and the rooms are to a very high standard. To sum it up if you are ever in Tralee you would do well to stay here. sorry it took so long to post this review well done to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night over the June bank holiday weekend.The hotel is about five minutes from the centre of town.The hotel is very clean with friendly staff.There is a lovely library room on the ground floor.The bedrooms are very clean but old fashioned with various mixtures of timbers in the room.The bathroom is very strange as there is see through glass panels in the door.Breakfast is good with the breakfast cooked to order.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meadowlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlands Hotel

Address: Oakpark, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowlands Hotel, Tralee, is a unique, elegant and stylish 4* hotel that offers a traditional Céad Míle Fáilte to all who walk through its’ doors. This family owned hotel set in a tranquil corner of Tralee is a hidden gem, just 1km from the town centre’s many attractions including Tralee Sports & Leisure Complex, Siamse Tire, Kingdom Greyhound Stadium, Tralee Town Rose Park, Kerry County Museum and centrally located at the gateway to the Kingdom, it’s an ideal base for exploring the Wild Atlantic Way. Johnny Frank’s Bar is the ideal setting for relaxing in front of the open fire, serves food 10am-9pm and features Traditional Music sessions on a regular basis. Or treat yourself to a meal in our Award Winning Restaurant. Whatever you decide, The Meadowlands Hotel is the perfect choice for your break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Meadowlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowlands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.