We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banna Beach Resort

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tralee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banna Beach Resort
Save
You added Banna Beach Resort to your Saves list
Banna, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 53 Tralee B&B and Inns
west midlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We went to Banna and rented two sand dune cottages for two weeks each. I can only speak for my family (the other cottage was my sister and her family - but I know she said it was spotless and pretty much a home from home - she had a problem with hot water but it was sorted the same day).

Our cottage was also spotless. Both were very quiet - no noise at night from anywhere. Lovely and peaceful - but they were on the site boundary away from the main leisure centre which some have mentioned... although I never saw anything to be concerned about there myself.

Kids loved the pool - in it every morning. The life guards were good - keeping the swimming lanes clear for swimmers. The changing rooms were very clean - no smells as some have mentioned... and we were there every morning for two weeks. They always seemed to be being cleaned, in actual fact. Also had free hairdryers in the changing rooms.

A little shop on site which didn't sell much but was okay for a paper / milk etc.

The location was brilliant for many of the tourist attractions that the southwest has to offer - too many to mention really. We did attend the Rose of Tralee festival for three of the four days it was on, which was great entertainment. Dog racing. Dolphins at Dingle. Bunratty folk park. Muckross. Conor pass. Horse riding. Ballybunion beach (a few times!). Kenedy's pet farm. The list goes on. Everywhere we went was either free or good value for money. Dawsons tea shop in Tralee was great! We went to Kate Browns in Ardfert for a meal - good food / kids meals / reasonable prices if you stick to the specails board. Very child friendly really.

The kids loved Pirate Pete's - although they do need some decent seating in there - but it was great to kill some time between visits out.

The outdoor playground is well equiped and kept even older kids entertained.

We didn't go to the arcade or see much of the night entertainment as we were usually out elsewhere.

All in all, the staff at Banna were helpful, the handman on site was great - quickly sorting out any problem with no questions asked, and our kids loved it. The weather could have been better some days but we went shopping / cinema, and the sun soon shone.

We'd go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    17
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
52
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

It's ok...just.We stay here August 18th for a fortnight .
The positives are the pool is great for the kids,the staff are friendly and the nearby beach is fab. The negatives are the place is very run down,the site looks scruffy and the accommodation badly maintained .
We wouldn't go again and couldn't recommend the place. Its a real shame as it wouldn't take too much to make this place that bit better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnegad
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed 11 Aug for a week with 3 kids (3,5 and 5 months) and I have a mixed opinion. It consists of holiday homes surrounding a fairly shoddy bar, leisure centre and play ground. We stayed in the "new" Sand dune cottages. This 3 bed house was spacious, clean and furnished fine for our needs. Appliances all worked, sheets clean etc. Some landscaping is required around the grounds as grass long and road unfinished. Houses need painting The lesiure centre was OK, changing rooms should be kept cleaner, toilet cubicles dirty. Evening entertainment every night for the kids at 7.30 courtesy of resident magician, disco, puppet show etc. Not X factor. Then on to adult session from 9 til 12pm or so. Kids were welcome here too although the resort would flood light the playground so kids could play here and parents could get blathered while supervising them over their pint glasses. The worst feature here was the "arcade" consisting of very out of date games 3 or so not working correctly but mostly claw machines with 10 year old grifters lurking around ready to advise on best practices, which machines paid out etc. A real hole with maurading groups of pubescent teenagers mooching about looking for summer loving. Oh yea, Pirate Petes? The only thing Pirate about it was the name. I very rough, smelly, thrown together dump with a sticky floor and manky toilet. I brought the kids there once during the week. The staff were nice and accomodating and didnt interfer with parents or kids running riot. There was also a kid free bar for a quiet pint which openend till all hours. I wouldnt go here on a honey moon but my kids loved the place. Would I go back? Its too expensive for what it is and needs some serious modernising. I'll try somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: ask for new sand dune detached away from resort as its runs late and kids dont go to bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just back from a week at banna with my husband and 2 year old son, I was so disappointed as I was expecting so much more for the amount of money we paid and the reviews on this website, the bungalow was dirty and in very bad need of a painting inside and out, the floors were filthy and the couch was in bits and smelled disgusting so i took the sheets off the beds and covered it, the oven was filthy so we cook, the bedclothes were so shabby and over used and thankfully we brought our own travel cot, overall the place needed a good clean, grass was long and as you drive into the grounds its so run down, we used the pool once it was fine but pirate pete's could do with a serious makeover, didn't go into the bars but didn't look great from the outside. Pity because with good Management this place has so much potential and is very much needed in this country. We did lots of day trips which were great but I am sure you could get decent accommodation for half the price. Ballyheigue beach is much nicer than banna beach and Katie Browns in Ardfert is an excellent place to eat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

we stayed in banna for a week the place is just shabby! weeds growing at the entrance grass around our house was long and had dog foul on it, paint old and faded the inside of the houses were clean to be fair but old and dated faded and stained furniture,yes they do have everything but it is more of a 3 star rating than a four. i found the swimming pool the best part but the boys did say the smell of wee in the male changing rooms nearly unbearable at times.My 4 older kids did the camps and found the staff lovely but too many kids per group for one camp leader my kids did two days and refused to go back saying too much hanging around! i think to judge a place you have to ask would you go back then I don't think we would no but all staff we encountered were lovely pity about the rest!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just back and had a great time perfect for young families. Stayed one week this year hope to go back for two next year. Ticked all the boxes. We had a party of two adults a 14, 8 , 7 & 1 year old something for everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for new houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clane, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We are just back from a week in banna beach resort and this place is brilliant. We stayed in a three bedroom bungalow and were very impressed. The bungalow had everything you would need to live comfortably like washer/ dryer, flat screen tv, DVD player, microwave, patio area with furniture for eating outside.
The facilities are excellent with swimming pool, kids play area (indoors), outdoors playground, basketball courts and all weather football pitches. There are two good bars one for adults only and one that has entertainment every night.
The beach is a ten minute walk and has plenty of parking and sand for the kids.
We will definitely return here for our holidays next year and would recommend it to families who are looking for a great location to bring their kids away.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banna Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banna Beach Resort

Address: Banna, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Tralee
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banna Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.