We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly well made” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kerry County Museum

Kerry County Museum
Ashe Memorial Hall | Denny St., Tralee, Ireland
066-712-7777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 60 things to do in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly well made”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Lonely Planet review is right, this museum is an absolute treat. The entry is cheap for adults, the exhibitions are very interesting and well presented. "Kerry Lives" tells the story of the Kerry people through amazing photographs. The Museum Gallery takes you through the complete history of Ireland, with a special focus on Kerry (it is awesome to see the things we have seen or will see during our trip in Kerry!). Tom Crean is an institution here and the room dedicated to him is very complete. The "Medieval experience" is very elaborate and you truly feel like you are walking through medieval Tralee. The museum feels very complete, yet you can see everything within 2 hours, which is a big plus.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    39
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our trip to Kerry county museum was a great day out, very interesting and informative for all members of the family. The walk through medieval Tralee & the Tom Crean room was the highlights for us. Its located right beside the town park too which is lovely for a walk afterwards.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegregory, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“kerry museum,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Absolutely brilliant, took my seven year old and there was so much to do she loved it, and really educational. Value for money, it was only five euro and my daughter was free, I would highly recommend it, especially when the weather is bad and looking for something great to do.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

My son visits every wed for history club and he loves it. Claudia is fantastic doing arts & crafts with the children. Great fun and educational for kids

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley,kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An Insight into the history of Kerry - Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I thought this museum was brilliant. Giving you a detailed insight into the history of Kerry.
It's a MUST

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kerry County Museum also viewed

Tralee, County Kerry
Tralee, County Kerry
 
Tralee, County Kerry
Tralee, County Kerry
 

Been to Kerry County Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kerry County Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.