We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle West, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Centrally located budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is an old style hotel without lifts to upper floors, so if you have a problem with stairs this is not for you. I enjoyed my stay over the May bank holiday week-end. The room was comfortable and clean, my only complaint was that the milk provided for tea and coffee was out of date. The food in the bar down stairs was excellent and reasonably priced. Over-all the service was very good and staff very friendly and efficient. Good value in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveSheehan1, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Etienneandhelena

Thank you for submitting your review on your time with us. It is very pleasing to hear such positive feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and especially your meal. I will pass your comments on to our head chef Brenda and all the staff.
Tripadvisor is a vital tool in gaining more business so thank you for this review on here.
I hope you enjoyed your trip to Ireland overall and if you are ever in the area again , we would love to welcome you back to The Imperial.
Kind Regards
Olive Sheehan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    37
    9
    2
    8
See reviews for
20
36
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I had the pleasure of spending 8 days at the Imperial Hotel on Denny St., Tralee Co. Kerry and I must say as one who has stayed in hotel all over the world the Imperial Hotel in Tralee was the best experience I've every had. The staff, room and the service was next to perfect. The staff and the owners of the Hotel could not do enough for me and look after every whim I had. This hotel is the best place to stay in Tralee, Co. Kerry, Ireland.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool I hit this section by accident. Room on the back side of the hotel are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We went out for dinner here recently and regretted it, the staff were untidy with dirty uniforms unkept hair and dirty hands and fingernails they were barley 16 if that and serving alcohol.Glasses were dirty with lipstick stains on them and the food was mediocre, I ordered a curry which had clearly been made using a packet of sauce bought in the nearby store, will never go back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperialhoteltralee, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Mairead

It was with deep regret I read your recent review of your experience in the Imperial Hotel..

It is through customer feedback that a business improves, grows and progresses.

I take all your observations very seriously and would welcome the opportunity at your convenience to discuss the issues in greater detail.
You can contact me directly on 066 7127755.

Once again I would like to express my disappointment about your experience with us and look forward to hopefully hearing from you soon.

Kind Regards

Olive Sheehan
Proprietor .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambeg, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

the Imperial is right in the centre of town and with off street parking is very convenient. the rooms, food and staff are great. the breakfasts were great and so was the bar food, very reasonable too. I will stay there again

Room Tip: enjoy, the rooms at the back were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrykeel, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed in Imperial Hotel last Weekend on the 13th Dec for two nights. Our room was excellent, very clean and spacious, the staff were very friendly, which made our stay very pleasant , anytime we visit Tralee again,we won't hesitate to stay in the Imperial Hotel.

Gene,Aine Young.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were quests of Kerry International Film Festival this October and spent there 4 nights. Great hotel and great friendly stuff! Some of the nicest people we have met during our trip around the world ;-) . What else?? Fantastic breakfasts - you must try scrambled eggs with IRISH salmon and/or an amazing goat cheese they serve. They have also a nice pub with a really good menu and are located in the centre of town which is always an advantage. Friendly atmosphere of this hotel is something we will always remember and hopefully return there next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The location in the town centre was perfect for us and we stayed at the Imperial Hotel for a total of 3 days to attend my wife's daughters wedding. All the staff were brilliant and friendly, nothing was too much trouble from the moment we walked through the door. Food was excellent for breakfast and early bird dinner. I commented that their breakfast was far superior to the breakfast we had at the more expensive wedding venue hotel. We would have no hesitation in staying here again when we come back to Tralee.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back I think are quieter as Denny St is quite busy, we were at the back. Be aware that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperialhoteltralee, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Thomas
Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback, it is always good to hear.
I will pass on your compliments to our staff , I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the food.
Once again sincere thanks for taking the time to review the Imperial Hotel , we hope we will welcome you back on another occasion.
Kind Regards
Olive Sheehan
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 27 Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel, the distinctive style of services goes beyond automatic courtesy. Located in Tralee town centre, the Imperial Hotel has recently been totally refurbished to a very high standard. Double, twin and family rooms are available and are equipped with TV, direct dial telephone and complementary tea/coffee. All rooms have en-suite facilites. The hotel has a fine dining room as well as a large bar area frequented by guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.