We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Srvice in a traditional hotel with great pub.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Tralee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel Tralee to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel Tralee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Srvice in a traditional hotel with great pub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Just returned from seve days in Ireland. We stayed two nights at the Grand asn the serive was exceptional. the hotel was imaculent and the environemtn warm and comfortable. We ate in the Pikeman Bar twice and once we were late. They stop serving at 9:30 but we were late comng back from golf. They accomodated us. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    124
    31
    17
    13
See reviews for
105
141
30
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

The management and staff at the Grand Hotel Tralee were superb. Four golfers arrived very tired after a five hour drive from Enniscrone and were welcomed by patient, attentive staff. The rooms were prepared, clean and tastefully decorated. The location of the hotel on Denny Street, across the way from a monument to Ireland's heros, lends a touch of glamor to this restored, historic building. Even on the street side, above the pub, the hotel was quiet and restful. Restaurants and ATMs (the necessities of life for golfers: fuel for tired bodies and money for greens fees) were close by. The only drawback was the lack of an elevator (lift) due to the historic building and construction codes. Breakfast was tasty and of sufficient size to get us off each morning with fully loaded fuel tanks. This is the place to stay if you are playing golf in the west of Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

My wife and I recently went to Ireland and stay in a different spot every day for 5 days. On our 3rd day we stayed in Tralee at The Grand Hotel. We did not have any reservations and they welcomed us without any problems. The Grand has newly renovated rooms that are very appealing and modern, but most important the bed is comfortable and they gave us a room that was quite. They also recommended a very good restaurant that was moderately priced. Eileen Egan the manager chatted with us at night at the attached bar which is very nice. At the door I noticed a view awards that they had won. Just what you think of when you want to have a fine pint in Ireland, classy and warm with nice wood work and a few fireplaces. Also good company to tell your stories to. The best part about the Grand was the breakfast. The best one in Ireland easily and the best pace to stay in Tralee hands down.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antrim
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

First class hotel. The staff excellent and exceptionally helpful and friendly. Parking restricted to on street and free at night. However we where allowed to park our vehicles in the hotel delivery area car park at the rear of the building. We where on a bike tour of Ireland and the staff kindly allowed us to secure our bikes within the hotel. They could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

My boyfriend and I recently traveled to Ireland. We drove all over the southern coast, staying each night in a different town. We did not make reservations as we wanted to be flexible with our itinerary. We first looked at the Imperial Hotel and were disappointed with the rooms and general decor. The hotel was very old and dark. We then went to the Grand Hotel where we were met by a lovely woman who was very accommodating. She was more than pleased to show the room to us before we booked. The price was cheaper than the Imperial and was cleaner, brighter and the staff was delightful. Breakfast was delicious; the staff was prompt and happy to make changes to dishes to meet our needs. We hope to find ourselves in Ireland again and would absolutely stay at the Grand Hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taneytown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

Mr. & Mrs. Stephen G. Raley
Taneytown, Maryland 21787 U. S. A.

April 30, 2009

Eileen Egan, Manager
The Grand Hotel
Denny Street
Tralee, Co Kerry, Ireland

Dear Eileen;

My wife and I wish to thank you for the wonderful Rehearsal Dinner you managed for my son Andrew Raley and his bride Katie. It was difficult for us to visualize how each of the details surrounding the dinner would be accomplished seeing as we were here in the U.S. and you were in Tralee but when we finally met with you and realized how gracious you were our minds were put at ease. All your ideas as to how to make the party better actually did make the party better especially the vouchers for the guest to get drinks in the Pub which was also open to the public. That was a stroke of genius

Actually thanks aren’t enough of an expression of our appreciation for all the work you did to make Andy and Katie’s Rehearsal a success. When the party moved from the dining room into the Pub and the music began you were there making sure every thing was going smoothly. Because of your constant attention to each detail we were able to relax and enjoy the evening without having to worry about a thing

If we ever again come to Tralee we hope to meet you again and maybe have dinner with you to reminisce about the wonderful party our son and daughter-in-law had at you Hotel.

Many Thanks


Steve and Pat Raley

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo Ireland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

Stayed in the hotel for one night recently. We were late arriving so we just checked in, left the bags in the room and went out to meet friends. When we returned and had a better look at the room we were disappointed. Room was dark and small and overlooked a lane and backway. It was a smokers room too which was horrible. Carpet was grubby. Hospitality tray only had 4 milks which is stingy . As it was quite late and we were only there for one night we did not ask for a change. Food in hotel bar was expensive for pub food but it was excellent so was worth it. Breakfast which was very good finished at 10am which is early and check out was 11am which was a bummer. Not a relaxing morning really after a late night. On checking out I mentioned the smoking room and the receptionist said we should have requested a NON Smoking room. Maybe when one is booking the hotel should ask what is the preference. Will we return? Probably Not

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandTralee, Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, March 25, 2009
With regards to your recent visit to the Grand Hotel, we apologise that you were not asked on booking was your preference was for a smoking or non-smoking room, this was an oversight on our behalf. We have never refused a request for late check out or late breakfast. We strive to maintain good service to all our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tralee
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very popular spot with both guests and locals in keeping with the ambiance of the hotel it is a traditional style pub. we offer a lively breakfast & Coffee morning our in house French pastry Chef will tempt you with his freshly baked scones Irish Brown Bread Pastries and desserts. Our bar food menu is second to none and offers a wide and extensive choice to cater all tastes. The bar is a lively place to enjoy a pint & a chat at the end of a busy day. We also have a very popular Traditional Irish Music Session every Friday night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Tralee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.