We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The easy find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Tralee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel Tralee to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel Tralee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Tralee
1 review
“The easy find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

My wife and I recently went to Ireland and stay in a different spot every day for 5 days. On our 3rd day we stayed in Tralee at The Grand Hotel. We did not have any reservations and they welcomed us without any problems. The Grand has newly renovated rooms that are very appealing and modern, but most important the bed is comfortable and they gave us a room that was quite. They also recommended a very good restaurant that was moderately priced. Eileen Egan the manager chatted with us at night at the attached bar which is very nice. At the door I noticed a view awards that they had won. Just what you think of when you want to have a fine pint in Ireland, classy and warm with nice wood work and a few fireplaces. Also good company to tell your stories to. The best part about the Grand was the breakfast. The best one in Ireland easily and the best pace to stay in Tralee hands down.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    144
    37
    21
    14
See reviews for
122
165
35
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
antrim
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

First class hotel. The staff excellent and exceptionally helpful and friendly. Parking restricted to on street and free at night. However we where allowed to park our vehicles in the hotel delivery area car park at the rear of the building. We where on a bike tour of Ireland and the staff kindly allowed us to secure our bikes within the hotel. They could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

My boyfriend and I recently traveled to Ireland. We drove all over the southern coast, staying each night in a different town. We did not make reservations as we wanted to be flexible with our itinerary. We first looked at the Imperial Hotel and were disappointed with the rooms and general decor. The hotel was very old and dark. We then went to the Grand Hotel where we were met by a lovely woman who was very accommodating. She was more than pleased to show the room to us before we booked. The price was cheaper than the Imperial and was cleaner, brighter and the staff was delightful. Breakfast was delicious; the staff was prompt and happy to make changes to dishes to meet our needs. We hope to find ourselves in Ireland again and would absolutely stay at the Grand Hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taneytown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

Mr. & Mrs. Stephen G. Raley
Taneytown, Maryland 21787 U. S. A.

April 30, 2009

Eileen Egan, Manager
The Grand Hotel
Denny Street
Tralee, Co Kerry, Ireland

Dear Eileen;

My wife and I wish to thank you for the wonderful Rehearsal Dinner you managed for my son Andrew Raley and his bride Katie. It was difficult for us to visualize how each of the details surrounding the dinner would be accomplished seeing as we were here in the U.S. and you were in Tralee but when we finally met with you and realized how gracious you were our minds were put at ease. All your ideas as to how to make the party better actually did make the party better especially the vouchers for the guest to get drinks in the Pub which was also open to the public. That was a stroke of genius

Actually thanks aren’t enough of an expression of our appreciation for all the work you did to make Andy and Katie’s Rehearsal a success. When the party moved from the dining room into the Pub and the music began you were there making sure every thing was going smoothly. Because of your constant attention to each detail we were able to relax and enjoy the evening without having to worry about a thing

If we ever again come to Tralee we hope to meet you again and maybe have dinner with you to reminisce about the wonderful party our son and daughter-in-law had at you Hotel.

Many Thanks


Steve and Pat Raley

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

Stayed in the hotel for one night recently. We were late arriving so we just checked in, left the bags in the room and went out to meet friends. When we returned and had a better look at the room we were disappointed. Room was dark and small and overlooked a lane and backway. It was a smokers room too which was horrible. Carpet was grubby. Hospitality tray only had 4 milks which is stingy . As it was quite late and we were only there for one night we did not ask for a change. Food in hotel bar was expensive for pub food but it was excellent so was worth it. Breakfast which was very good finished at 10am which is early and check out was 11am which was a bummer. Not a relaxing morning really after a late night. On checking out I mentioned the smoking room and the receptionist said we should have requested a NON Smoking room. Maybe when one is booking the hotel should ask what is the preference. Will we return? Probably Not

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandTralee, Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, March 25, 2009
With regards to your recent visit to the Grand Hotel, we apologise that you were not asked on booking was your preference was for a smoking or non-smoking room, this was an oversight on our behalf. We have never refused a request for late check out or late breakfast. We strive to maintain good service to all our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

We are UK based and when we go home to Kerry, our visits alway include a trip to the Grand Hotel in Tralee.
The quality of the food and the way that it is cooked and presented is consistently of a high standard. The menu is alway varied to suit all tastes.
The service is excellent and it would appear the same staff are there for a number of years, which reflects well on the hotel and management.
The Grand is very popular with both locals and tourists alike. Everyone is accomodated very quickly. This is down to the excellant organisation of the manager/manageress. As soon as people are seated they are attended to straightaway by friendly, efficient staff.
We can not wait until are next visit.

Peter and Brenda Johnson
Colchester, Essex

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tralee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

Found this Hotel to be excellent in all aspects

Would certainly return again & again

The Manager (Eileen) extremly helpful and courteous staff also

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
1.1 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Fels Point Hotel
Fels Point Hotel
#10 of 15 in Tralee
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 15 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#3 of 15 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
1.2 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#4 of 15 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#5 Family Hotel in Tralee
#5 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very popular spot with both guests and locals in keeping with the ambiance of the hotel it is a traditional style pub. we offer a lively breakfast & Coffee morning our in house French pastry Chef will tempt you with his freshly baked scones Irish Brown Bread Pastries and desserts. Our bar food menu is second to none and offers a wide and extensive choice to cater all tastes. The bar is a lively place to enjoy a pint & a chat at the end of a busy day. We also have a very popular Traditional Irish Music Session every Friday night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Tralee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.