We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Tralee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel Tralee to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel Tralee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Lovely old fashioned hotel, in need of a lot of TLC
Depending where your room is situated, you either get a really good nights sleep or some amusement from the locals on way home from pub.
Wasn't too keen on the aroma wafting up from kitchen/restaurant nor sharing breakfast with ants though.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back as they are a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    134
    33
    18
    13
See reviews for
113
150
32
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My wife and I were looking for accommodations in Tralee (Dingle Peninsula) for a couple of days. The GRAND HOTEL had good ratings. We called and they offered a very good rate with breakfast. We went by to check on the room which was very spacious and clean. We accepted their offer.

I have to comment that all of the front desk staff that we dealt with were extremely friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to accommodate. They were always smiling.

They arranged a bell boy to bring our luggage to the room. He was very fast and efficient. (This also applied at check out.)

The room we had (103) was spacious with high ceilings. The room faces the street but the sounds from the street were minimal. My wife and I are used to city sounds so someone who wanted a really quiet room might consider asking for one not facing the street.

Bathroom was clean and also spacious. Towels plentiful and clean.

Breakfast was a Full Irish Breakfast. Fresh cut fruit was available. Very tasty and filling.

Parking is arranged in a nearby open car park lot. 2-3 minutes walk from the hotel. Not a problem at all. There is a drop off point just in front of the hotel to load/unload luggage.

I would highly recommend. We have been staying at conventional B&Bs during this trip and decided on a hotel as a slight splurge. The difference in price from the Grand (EURO90/night) versus a nice B&B (EURO70/night) made the GRAND worth while. (Of course, rates may vary for different days and in different seasons.)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Three of us stayed here on a golf trip this week. The welcome at reception was warm and friendly, and the rooms, clean, well appointed and recently refurbished to a good standard.
Service in the bar was excellent and the Guinness in fine order.
Breakfast was plentiful, to a high standard, and the service was both friendly and efficient.
B&B was great value too!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Lovely old-time hotel staffed by friendly obliging people. These were the best beds we have slept in in any hotel of late. Room was spacious with nice roomy bathroom. Unfortunately only stayed one night but quite happy to recommend and hope to return one day.
Thanks!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

You'll need a satnav to find your room in this warren of creaking, endless corridors and steps.
Once you're in, the beds are good, the bathrooms solid, and it's all clean and tidy. Decor is distinctly dated, but you're in Tralee, so that's part of the deal.
The bar is popular with locals at the weekend, and the breakfasts will last you all day.
It's still grand.... just.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We arrived, 4 very exhausted motorcyclists, to a lovely smiling greeting from the receptionist and a warm handshake from the manager. Nice rooms (some too small I am told) and a nice bar. The restaurant was just OK, but the breakfast was amazing.
Just what we needed before getting soaked on the next leg of our trip to Tipperary.
One little niggle; all the rooms are 'non-smoking', but they have ash trays. Which previous guests had obviously used... Remove the ash trays.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed for one night our room was lovely we were at the front of hotel
Facing road and we heard no traffic .We had great food in the bar it was very busy for a Monday
night our breakfast was lovely and the staff were very friendly, will stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#4 Family Hotel in Tralee
#5 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very popular spot with both guests and locals in keeping with the ambiance of the hotel it is a traditional style pub. we offer a lively breakfast & Coffee morning our in house French pastry Chef will tempt you with his freshly baked scones Irish Brown Bread Pastries and desserts. Our bar food menu is second to none and offers a wide and extensive choice to cater all tastes. The bar is a lively place to enjoy a pint & a chat at the end of a busy day. We also have a very popular Traditional Irish Music Session every Friday night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Tralee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.