We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they don't make them like this anymore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Tralee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel Tralee to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel Tralee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Utrecht
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“they don't make them like this anymore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

You'll need a satnav to find your room in this warren of creaking, endless corridors and steps.
Once you're in, the beds are good, the bathrooms solid, and it's all clean and tidy. Decor is distinctly dated, but you're in Tralee, so that's part of the deal.
The bar is popular with locals at the weekend, and the breakfasts will last you all day.
It's still grand.... just.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    124
    31
    17
    13
See reviews for
105
141
30
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We arrived, 4 very exhausted motorcyclists, to a lovely smiling greeting from the receptionist and a warm handshake from the manager. Nice rooms (some too small I am told) and a nice bar. The restaurant was just OK, but the breakfast was amazing.
Just what we needed before getting soaked on the next leg of our trip to Tipperary.
One little niggle; all the rooms are 'non-smoking', but they have ash trays. Which previous guests had obviously used... Remove the ash trays.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed for one night our room was lovely we were at the front of hotel
Facing road and we heard no traffic .We had great food in the bar it was very busy for a Monday
night our breakfast was lovely and the staff were very friendly, will stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
204 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
500 helpful votes 500 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed overnight at the Grand Hotel, Tralee and it had its charm but some disadvantages too. Denny Street is very attractive compared to most of Tralee and the hotel has character. Reception was most helpful and even though there is no lift, our case was taken to the room. The first room we were offered was uninviting, dark, depressing and not what we wanted. There was a double bed, a single bed and for some reason, a camp bed folded up in the corner. I went to Reception and they soon offered me an alternative room facing the street which was far better. Noise outside on a Sunday evening was minimal. The room was somewhat small and for some reason, the hotel still uses blankets rather than a duvet. The bathroom was fine and the shower powerful. There was a tea-making facility in the room but we didn't use it. There is a pleasant residents' lounge on the first floor and this was convenient. Wifi is in the room and was efficient and included in the rate.
The main bar is very attractive and full of character and the restaurant serves good food at average prices.
Breakfast was reasonable, the best part being the individually cooked options including smoked haddock.
Parking can be problematic and we had to drive around the block six or seven times before hogging the road when it looked like someone was driving out of a space. The hotel does have a parking facility a short distance away but with cases this is not too convenient.
All in all it was a pleasant stay but Tralee didn't do anything for us and we wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Be choosy before you accept a room as they vary greatly in quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Service was excellent, down from very friendly manager to the wait staff. Lovely town. The food was great and plentiful and to cap it off, the plates were nice and warm. The breakfast outstanding. The room was very comfortable and the place was spotless .Thank you

Room Tip: The manager is willing to be schmoozed a little to get a better deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We visit this hotel on a yearly basis and can only confirm what we have said previously. The service offered is first class from the management down. From the moment you step over the threshold you are welcomed by all staff. The management ensure the service is of the highest standard and the staff want to ensure your every need is catered for. The hotel is spotless, the rooms warm and comfortable and the food cooked and served in both the bar and the restaurant to a first class standard. The atmosphere is so homely and friendly. The hotel is well placed in the town and is ideally situated for a base if touring the Kerry area. Once again Dick and all his staff thanks for a wonderful welcome and enjoyable stay

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We had a very good, 2 night stay at the hotel and ate here both nights: once in the bar and once in the restaurant. Huge portions of well cooked grub, served by delightful staff.
Breakfast was also pretty good, but not outstanding.
All very clean, and the parking issue has been resolved with space in the nearby town car park.

However you should beware: payment is taken on check-in and without asking what currency we wanted to pay in. 3.5% commission was taken on the transaction that was put through in Sterling. Payment in Euros would have been more cost effective, but we were not given the choice. Annoying.

Room Tip: 302 is a very small double. You have to be pretty slim to negotiate the space round the extremely c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tralee
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very popular spot with both guests and locals in keeping with the ambiance of the hotel it is a traditional style pub. we offer a lively breakfast & Coffee morning our in house French pastry Chef will tempt you with his freshly baked scones Irish Brown Bread Pastries and desserts. Our bar food menu is second to none and offers a wide and extensive choice to cater all tastes. The bar is a lively place to enjoy a pint & a chat at the end of a busy day. We also have a very popular Traditional Irish Music Session every Friday night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Tralee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.