We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great welcome and stay at the grand hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Tralee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel Tralee to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel Tralee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lampeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Another great welcome and stay at the grand hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Once again,Dick and the staff have excelled with yet another great stay at the Grand.Everyone makes you feel so welcome and cant do enough for you from the smiling Ann behind the bar to Eileen who manages and makes sure everything is running like a well oiled machine.Quality of food is excellent for any time of day i,m already looking forward to the next visit having been going there for over 20 years

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    134
    33
    18
    13
See reviews for
113
150
32
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We arrived here when the weather was on the cold side... which was evident outside the hotel as well as inside our room! The staff was very responsive, turning our heat up and eventually bringing us a space heater. We were on the third floor (there are no elevators- so be weary if you are with elderly or handicapped travelers), so maybe lower floors fared better. Sadly, the bed was not very comfortable. We ended up with a full size bed (and another bed in the room too), although I thought I had reserved a king size. I'm sure it was my own mistake. The room was spacious though, as was the bathroom. Very clean. The employees were very nice and the location was perfect. Right in the center of the city. We ate at the pub for a late lunch (good food/good value) and had the breakfast in the morning which was included in our package. Decent buffet followed by a hot meal. Again, good food, nothing too fancy. The waitress, restaurant mgr., desk clerk, bellman were all very professional and kind.

Room Tip: As there is no elevator, older travelers may need to specifically request a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Grand hotel is ideally located in The centre of Tralee
Being welcomed by the warm open fire on a cold February evening and the equally welcoming manager on duty Eileen
I headed straight in to the lovely
Hotel bar to enjoy a pre dinner drink
Dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent
We had lovely local Kerry beef with a lovely Malbec from Argentina
The hotel room was spotless and comfortable
All hotel staff were great
Looking forward to getting back again soon

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I booked this hotel because of tripadvisor comments and was a little disappointed. Some parts of the hotel are quite old, although our room was modern inside. There is no lift and we were on the third floor. Fantastic location close to the city center, helpful staff. Breakfast was really poor for the price we paid. Poor WIFI in our room. For less of that money you would get a nice B&B.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Such comfort that can only be found at home, is in the heart of Tralee.Fantastic 2 nights and most welcomed by the staff. The atmosphere welcoming and the service was second to none. The staff were very helpful. The restaurant was clean and the food beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is third time i stayed in this hotel as i travel to Tralee at least once a year for business. This hotels is like one hard punch with power of excellent location (it seems like downtown was established around this hotel), cosy bar, always smiling staff with impeccable service and clean rooms. what else you need!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were driving south just 12 hours ahead of the storms and floods (2 January) - arrived in Tralee tired at 8PM and found the Grand Hotel by chance (I need to read Trip Advisor in future! - it would take some of the pressure of arriving in a new town and having to look for a place to stay). What a wonderful place/experience - owners and staff are so friendly and helpful. We ate at the bar - just very good and simple food - we did not look for anything else in town - you could barely stand up with the wind. There were many other customers - surely a good sign?

I am extremely fussy, I travel continuously around the world. All I can say is that if you want a comfortable hotel, with the personal touch, you will not do much better. It is also wonderful that we can still enjoy these grand and elegant hotels - the Marriott is fine but you don't go there for the charm. Thank you so much - I hope that there is room for me the next time I come to Tralee!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#4 Family Hotel in Tralee
#5 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very popular spot with both guests and locals in keeping with the ambiance of the hotel it is a traditional style pub. we offer a lively breakfast & Coffee morning our in house French pastry Chef will tempt you with his freshly baked scones Irish Brown Bread Pastries and desserts. Our bar food menu is second to none and offers a wide and extensive choice to cater all tastes. The bar is a lively place to enjoy a pint & a chat at the end of a busy day. We also have a very popular Traditional Irish Music Session every Friday night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Tralee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.