We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grand old hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Tralee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel Tralee to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel Tralee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ithaca, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“grand old hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A very nice 'old' style hotel. Check in service was great. No elevators, but they took our bags up.
Rooms were comfortable and clean. Our window opened up to the alley and there was a bit of smell of garbage. Great location in the town of Tralee, but the hotel itself took us awhile to find due to one way streets. We ate at the hotel and had a good meal. Breakfast was also good/

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    129
    32
    18
    13
See reviews for
112
145
32
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed overnight with a golfing party. We arrived late, so really only slept over. Staff could not have been friendlier, lovely old style bar, with open fire in reception. Breakfast was served to us the next morning and would put many 5 star hotels to shame. Even got a complimentary newspaper. Superb value for money!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

A great place to stay in Tralee. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant and pub are great places for dinner and a pint or two. The service and food were very good. The hotel is close to the town center and the actual rose of Tralee gardens.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I am a travelling sales rep and regularly stay away. When working in Tralee I always stay at The Grand. I find it to be home away from home. The atmosphere and food in the bar is second to none. Rooms are always spotless and the location is so central. Management and Staff are among the friendliest and most hospitable that one could find and have always gone the extra mile to ensure my stay is pleasurable. I look forward to my return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A fantastic place for casual dining in the bar and for a little bit more in the restaurant. Great staff, fast service and scrumptious food. My family and I are about to head in there for dinner again right now!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandTralee, Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience at The Grand Hotel recently.
We have posted your comments on the staff notice board, they were thrilled with your feed back.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunlap, United States
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We did not stay there, but we ate there for supper. The food and service was very good. It had an old world atmosphere and charm. We would recommend it to anyone looking for a late night place to dine.

Room Tip: Bar is a great place for a late night meal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandTralee, Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We were delighted to learn that you were pleased with your recent visit to our hotel. Our food and service has received many compliments over the past number of months. We are happy to say our food is going from strength to strength.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business. Situated in centre of town, proper Irish bar and good restaurant. Modern rooms with large bed and large ensuite. Excellent free wifi. Very comfortable, very friendly. Will definitely be returning.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you Paul for your kind comments on Trip Advisor.
Delighted to read that you found our Wifi to your satisfaction as we have only recently updated our system.
We hope to meet you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tralee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#5 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very popular spot with both guests and locals in keeping with the ambiance of the hotel it is a traditional style pub. we offer a lively breakfast & Coffee morning our in house French pastry Chef will tempt you with his freshly baked scones Irish Brown Bread Pastries and desserts. Our bar food menu is second to none and offers a wide and extensive choice to cater all tastes. The bar is a lively place to enjoy a pint & a chat at the end of a busy day. We also have a very popular Traditional Irish Music Session every Friday night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Tralee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.