We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant lunchtime surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Tralee

Save Saved
You added The Grand Hotel Tralee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Tralee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Tralee
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Brilliant lunchtime surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I never stayed in the Grand Hotel but did pop in for a quick lunch last month. Always a fan of sea food I ordered their seafood chowder, It might have been the best I have ever tasted, and the portion was enough to feed me for the day. If you are fussy about your sea food, visit the Grand the next time you are in Tralee. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Delighted to hear that you were pleased with our seafood chowder. Our Head Chef Pat was thrilled with your comments and has passed on your remarks to the rest of his team. Hope to see you again sometime soon.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    117
    29
    18
    11
See reviews for
97
123
27
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We re-visited the Grand Hotel Tralee recently during a very busy week-end. After having a fine freshly cooked breakfast we were set up for the day. We always returned to the Pikeman Bar for our evening meal. The serving time here is so fast and the food and always freshly prepared. The staff always makes time for a smile and a chat. Live music at weekends by local musicians we felt relaxed and well looked after.
Joan /Anne

Room Tip: first floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you ladies for your very positive feedback on Trip Advisor. Our live music on Friday & Saturday is proving to be a big success. Hope to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here for a night in September, very central hotel but a bit dated, no elevator and very narrow corridors. staff were helpful and breakfast was very good. ate in the bar on the evening of our arrival, very nice steak sandwich...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. Delighted to hear that you were pleased with your food at the Hotel both for breakfast and dinner. Unfortunately we are unable to find a suitable location in the Hotel for a lift due to the fact that we are a listed building of immense historical importance. We are in negotiation with the town planners and hope to resolve this matter shortly.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed for a week at the grand,
Good accomodation staff very friendly and helpful
food in bar and the breakfast was outstanding,
Would highly recommend this hotel.
PS no problems parking had good advice from reception.

Room Tip: front of hotel rooms had traffic noise,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments on Trip Advisor. We were glad to hear that you had no problem with parking and that you were able to avail of our new free parking arrangements.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from spending 3 nights in the Grand Hotel on golf trip playingTralee GC. Staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Very buzzy with great atmosphere. We were in a party of 12 but the number was easily absorbed. Both breakfast and evening meals well cooked and delicious. Hotel owners engaging and customer attentive. Excellent value for money and a must to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Great to read your review on Trip Advisor and thank you for your generous comments. Your party were delightful to deal with and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Grand is a comfortable hotel with good restaurant and bar. The situation is ideal in the middle of town with shops and amenities in walking distance. Close to a number of great golf courses. Management and staff looked after us really well - nothing was too much trouble. Excellent value and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting the street are noisy - especially from road sweeper at 7am
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent review on Trip Advisor. Our Town Centre Location is very convenient for our guests and more especially that we can now offer free car parking. Hope to see you again sometime soon.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here during the Listowel horse racing festival. Good location for bus, train station and minibus.
Fantastic breakfast before setting off for day, with a good range of choices.
Extremely helpful and efficient staff dealing with our enquiries.
Like previous reviewers we used the pub next door, again excellent food and good value for money.
Overall a great hotel and will use them again next year for our trip to Killarney horse races

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for you high recommendation on Trip Advisor. Nearly every review we receive compliments the breakfast. Hopefully we will welcome you back for Listowel Races 2013.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
#4 Family Hotel in Tralee
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very popular spot with both guests and locals in keeping with the ambiance of the hotel it is a traditional style pub. we offer a lively breakfast & Coffee morning our in house French pastry Chef will tempt you with his freshly baked scones Irish Brown Bread Pastries and desserts. Our bar food menu is second to none and offers a wide and extensive choice to cater all tastes. The bar is a lively place to enjoy a pint & a chat at the end of a busy day. We also have a very popular Traditional Irish Music Session every Friday night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Tralee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.