We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, with only minor flaws” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leebrook, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, with only minor flaws”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

I stayed at Ballygarry House in Tralee for two nights with my husband and had a really wonderful and relaxing time. It was our second visit to Ballygarry, and we enjoyed both trips immensely. Although we didnt avail of the spa facilities this time around, we found it wonderful during our first visit. Our room this time seemed more modern, it may have been a new/refurbished wing, and it was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was fab, and extremely clean. Even though our room was facing onto the main road, I had one of the best night's sleep I had had in a long time!

I would have no hesitations in recommending this hotel. The reception staff and majority of bar and restaurant staff we encountered were wonderfully welcoming (the girl waiting on us in the restaurant looked like she'd rather be anywhere but there!) and overall it was good value for money (apart from the VERY pricey sandwiches in the bar - they could definitely do with lowering their prices. €11 for a chicken and stuffing sandwich??? Sans fries??? Recession anyone??)

Apart from the very minor flaws detailed above, you are guaranteed a really pleasant stay in Ballygarry.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    115
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
126
301
28
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We had to find somewhere to stay in Tralee at very short notice, and this hotel was a very lucky find on a miserable day. The room ( a basic double) was all we could need - at least twice the size of a good London hotel with all facilities and a large, very clean bathroom. The Sunday lunch was tasty & efficiently served, and the bar areas were busy but comfortable. Without exception the staff were all friendly & helpful. Reception arranged for a local florist to deliver flowers to us at the hotel at impossibly short notice. The manager is clearly hands on and this reflects on the staff. We hope to return for a more leisurely stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough for a relaxing break when you just want to get away from it all.
Super helpful staff throughout the hotel, luxurious rooms and delicious food.
Extra little touches like a chocolate on your pillow in the evening and a fluffy bathrobe and slippers left out for your comfort, all add to the feeling of being pampered here during your stay.
Hotel staff made it a weekend to remember, exceptional!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I have to say that this was one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. It is plush but not overstated, it is clean but not clinical, they have good customer service but not too in your face. The rooms were large, clean, warm and quiet. I loved the sitting room with the open fire.
It is very accessible to Tralee, Dingle, Killarney. If you are travelling to any of these areas, I would recommend you try this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

My wife and I have stayed in Ballygarry on numerous occasions now and without question it is amazing. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and are a perfect blend of traditional and modern. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. The hotel itself is set in a great location, with gorgeous scenery and gardens. The many lounges around the hotel provide lovely little areas to just relax and take it easy. The spa is without question a must, literally there are no words to describe it. We got married in Ballygarry this year and cannot speak highly enough about it. We didn't have a single worry with the hotel, the food was amazing, the function room fantastic and the professionalism of the staff was of the highest calibre. If you are planning a trip to Kerry, Ballygarry is the perfect hotel to stay. If you are looking for a hotel for your wedding then look no further than Ballygarry.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

My sister and I stayed at Ballygarry House for a night in September on the 'Girls night away' package. All we wanted was a night away, with a spa treatment, good food and a good nights sleep. Ballygarry fulfulled all of these. The hotel was wonderful - small enough to be intimate, lots of Irish staff (a rarity these days) and a great spa. We checked in and were given a lovely spacious room, and headed off to the spa for the afternoon. The spa was amazing, we had use of the thermal suite (sauna, steam room and hot tub) and spent an hour there relaxing before our back massages. These were fabulous - the best I've ever had - I was so relaxed afterwards. The food in the restaurant was excellent (and plenty of it) and I had a great nights sleep too. I'd recommend the hotel to anyone. A great trip away.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

This hotel had very friendly, helpful staff and we enjoyed our stay here. The spa is small but lovely and the amazing views really help you relax...! Rooms were large and comfortable and the food in the bar was very good.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Address: Leebrook, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#1 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.