We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Counting the days til I can return!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leebrook, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Counting the days til I can return!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

Firstly I have to say that this was not a planned weekend away. We received a voucher for 3 nights B&B and one dinner for a ridiculously low price when we bought a new washing machine!!! As it happened to be my husband's birthday, we booked this hotel on an impulse.
Well, what a great impulse. Everything was excellent about this hotel. Every single member of staff that we had anything to do with was polite and helpful. Our bedroom was quiet and comfortable and 'attended' to twice a day: the last time with a chocolate and a statement on a card to make you think.
The inclusive dinner that we had was delicious and as our son and his girlfriend joined us at this meal I know what such a dinner would have cost had it not been part of our package.
The spa was clean and the staff very welcoming. Lovely to sit in a hot tub outside when the temperature is actually quite cold.
The hotel is within walking distance of Ballyseedy Wood and is a delightful walk amongst really old trees.
If I had one, tiny complaint it would be about the breakfast on our third and last morning. On the other mornings our cooked breakfast was prepared to order and was delicious. Our last night two coaches had arrived and were breakfasted and gone before we were at breakfast, but it was a buffet style and quite honestly not the freshest tasting.
A very small gripe about what was overall a most enjoyable stay.
Thank you to everyone at Ballygarry House

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    97
    22
    9
    6
See reviews for
106
256
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

Just returned from a midweek break at Ballygarry House Hotel with my husband. We could not find a single fault with this hotel. Every single member of staff we encountered were friendly and could not do enough to make your stay more enjoyble. It is such a cosy hotel but at the same time, the staff give you privacy. Bar is lovely, food in restaurant and bar are top class, breakfast homely yet great choice. The Spa is one of the best I have been in, both decor and staff, our treatments were amazing and the staff again so friendly and made you feel so welcome compared to some of the bigger spas I have been to. You cannot help but relax in this hotel and they have so many nice little touches like turndown includes a chocolate with a bookmark. If you want a few days of pure relaxation, excellent food, friendly staff then this is the place. We cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Fourth time to visit this wonderful hotel and Nadur Spa. The superior double rooms are very comfortable, food is excellent, staff are friendly and spa staff are extremely professional and talented! Would recommend this hotel for couples who want to get away from it all and enjoy a quiet, relaxing few nights. Well done for keeping standards high.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

Just back from a short trip to Ballygarry and can't wait to return. Went on a spa break to treat myself and I have to say it was perfection from start to finish. Check in was fast and efficient. The room allocated was excellent. TV, DVD player, Stereo system...........it would be hard to beat the comfort. The bathroom was spacious and spotlessly clean.

However, it was my trip to the spa that was the crowning part of the trip. Just one thing there is no pool but to be honest it made no difference to my trip.

The staff were just so friendly, professional and efficient. Other spas could take a leaf out of how customers are treated at Nadur. Aoife, Claire and Miriam are all great ambassadors for Nadur and Ballygarry!!! My treatment was excellent and the relaxation room was bliss at dusk.

Food was first class ........Breakfast was good and the staff were most helpful. The food in the bar was superb. However, I felt that the bar could do with extra staff ............It seems a very busy spot and having sampled the food I can see why!!!

On leaving, checkout was efficient and everyone was so helpful.

Overall, I would recommend Ballygarry to anyone...........In terms of customer service and quality, Ballygarry is a top class hotel. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

I recently stayed in Ballygarry and can honestly say it is onr of the nicest places I've stayed in, I genuinely could no find fault with this hotel. Food was superb, spa experience was glorious, staff were so nice, room was lovely and spacious (decor was a tad old fashioned but it was still ok. The spa was possibly the nicest I've ever been in and I would recommend this hotel to anyone,

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

We went to a wedding at the Ballgarry and I can tell you that this is one of the best hotels I have ever been to. I have stayed at a lot of hotels for both business and leisure around the world and the Ballygarry sets the benchmark for service. The food was superb in every aspect and I had a well cooked steak for the main course. The rooms and bathrooms are very spacious. The hotel is so clean with staff all over the place making sure everything is attended to. The hotel grounds are well taken care of and there is ample parking. The restaurant is excellant and there is a very nice bar. The Nadue Spa is simply amazing and a real treat. The hotel is four star but is better than any five star I have stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Kerry
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

Stayed recently with my best friend for a spa day/night. Paid E150 for 1 night Bed, Breakfast & Dinner plus a 45 minute treatment in the spa and full use of the spa facilities to include outdoor hot tub. Fantastic value. Food was just gorgeous, ate both in the bar and restaurant. Service was great but staff in the lovely restaurant were just rushing about the whole time so not very relaxing and not enough time between courses. There was a wedding there the day we booked in so it was hectic at reception with only one poor frazzled receptionist on duty so we couldn't check in when we arrived but were quite happy to go into the bar for lunch as our treatment wasn't booked until 3. Our room was lovely, very big with a very spacious bathroom and robes and slippers for the spa. The staff in the spa were just lovely, in particular Bridget, and the treatment rooms were very relaxing and dimly lit. The relaxation room was really nice but would have been so much better is that was also dimly lit as a big glass window overlooked a garden where people could walk past. After my teatment I got offered the usual herbal teas but also I was offered a smoothie or a cup of tea or coffee which was nice with a few chocolate mints on the side of my cup! Situation wise its ideal if you don't want to move outside the hotel but if you want to go shopping in Tralee you'll have to drive as its alittle distance away from the town but much closer to Manor Shopping Park. Overall a lovely stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Address: Leebrook, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#1 Business Hotel in Tralee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.