We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and friendly country house hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leebrook, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Elegant and friendly country house hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spent a lovely weekend here with family and friends. Low key elegance, great food and most of all genuine warmth and hospitality. The spa is really beautiful and I had a great massage. Convenient to Kerry airport.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    101
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
112
270
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Arrived here with two small children and we're given a bigger room ,which was spotless , the staff we're so friendly and the food is top class would highly recommend this hotel to stay in .The spa in the hotel is one of the finest I've ever been in

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on business in September 2014 and, as I was impressed, returned on a short 3 night break offer in February 2015 with my wife. This is a quiet hotel that is run mainly by local Kerry people. Really friendly Donegal man running the bar, all chat. Bar food, while not low priced, was very good quality and the breakfast was excellent. A menu for hot breakfasts not a buffet.....breakfast coffee could be stronger but then we had a nespresso in the room. We had a junior suite which is really a lovely big room facing the garden. The secret gem is the spa - had a really nice massage but the 'thermal suite' is free and a perfect quiet escape...an outdoor hot tub, a glass fronted sauna with mountain view and a steam room - no pool so no kids! A short walk away is Ballyseedy wood with an easy sign-posted forest walk and within 5 minutes driving you are in Tralee. This is a lovely hotel near Tralee but in a rural setting- we will go back again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLYMOUTH
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the pleasure of spending a night here. The hotel is wonderful. We had a superior double, the room was very nice, clean and spacious. We used the spa too, which is very modern and enjoyable. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed fillet steaks. We were looked after a lovely lady Sheila, nothing was too much trouble for her and she looked after our every need, this was repeated at breakfast and really made our stay. Overall a lovely hotel and would highly recommend.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this excellent hotel on business in January. The staff were very welcoming, they found me a superb room which was really comfortable. The Bed & breakfast was great value and I would have no hesitation in recommending Ballygarry house to anyone. I was staying on business so I didn't chance to use the leisure facilities but they did appear to be extensive and of a high standard.

Room Tip: The staff are very friendly, and will give you the best room available. The hotel is well in off the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place has amazing food, the rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The spa just finishes off the stay perfectly. For those who like a stroll after dinner, you can walk into the garden and feel you are somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently ate at brooks restaurant with my partner. The staff were extremely pleasant and very attentive. The atmosphere was very relaxed. The food was of a very high standard and each course was served promptly. for starter I had homemade potato and leak which was honestly the tastiest soup I've ever had, my partner had leg of duck a very large leg may I add. The main was a great portion, I had cod which was mouth watering and my partner had steak which he described as superb. For desert we had a taste of everything, four mini deserts which were amazing. I would highly recommend this restaurant staff were exceptional and the food was absolutely delicious. Fabulous experience.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa. I was delighted to read your feedback on such a positive experience.

Our staff here are second to none, Our head chef John O Sullivan will be delighted with your feedback on the food and i will be sure to pass on your excellent words of praise.

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and I do hope we can welcome you back to Ballygarry House in the future.

Regards,

Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Address: Leebrook, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#1 Business Hotel in Tralee
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.