We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOUR STARS AND RISING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leebrook, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Athlone, Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“FOUR STARS AND RISING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

FOUR STARS AND RISING

We had a two night stay recently because we were guests at a wedding and the reception was held in Ballygarry House. As Tralee is a long way from our home base we decided to stay in the hotel the night before the wedding as well as the night of the wedding. It was a great decision!

Ballygarry House is simply outstanding – from the staff at reception, to the staff at the bar, the waiting staff in the restaurants and dining room and the domestic staff – we were met with genuine warmth and hospitality. The staff impressed at every turn – this is a well drilled team – what better ambassadors could a hotel have.

On the first night we decided that we were two tired to go to the Dining Room for a formal meal and instead opted to eat in the bar. The menu was excellent with sufficient choice to meet any demands – to call it bar-food would be to do it a disservice. This was casual dining but with first class quality food. We knew very quickly that we were onto a winner.

Our rooms (we were a party of six occupying four rooms) were excellent: spacious, stylish, well serviced and very comfortable. The showers were excellent and the attention to detail was everything (and more) than you would expect from a Four Star hotel.

The breakfast was buffet style but with extremely helpful and attentive waiting staff. The cooked breakfast was very adequate, the brown bread was wonderful the croissants as good as I have ever tasted in an Irish hotel. Overall it was a very good breakfast experience – the additional options of mushrooms / baked beans and/or potato-cakes would have made the cooked breakfast superb. But the hot food provided was cooked to perfection and was extremely tasty.

As guests at a wedding I have to admit I have NEVER experienced such a well-run event. From the drinks reception to the meal itself – everything was done with military precision. The skill with which orders were taken and service was delivered was a joy to behold. Ballygarry House is an Irish hotel which really has its act together – congratulations and a thousand thanks to all concerned. I feel I can recommend it to anyone safe in the knowledge that they will too will have a great hotel experience and from the moment of their arrival they will be in the skilled hands of true professionals.

The grounds are beautiful as is the nearby Ballyseedy Woods (which are well worth walking through) and its convenience to Tralee make it really special. We didn't get to sample the hot-tub or spa but given the quality of everything else I have no doubt they are excellent.

Whenever the opportunity arises I will be more than happy to return to Ballygarry House.

Room Tip: We had no problems regarding noise but if you are a light sleeper a room to the back of the hotel, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Gearoid

Thank you for your glowing review. Its refreshing to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. Its a fine art to getting all aspects of a hotel to hit the high notes. Thankfully our guests are enjoying the additions to facilities & service more & more.
Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    109
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
121
284
28
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here again in April 2014 for 2 nights. Our room was very spacious and had a huge double bed and 2 singles. The staff are really friendly and efficient. We ate in the restaurant and the bar, both were excellent. The breakfast was very good, I can recommend the eggs Benedict. Breakfast was extremely busy both mornings but the staff were extremely helpful and cheery. We are already looking forward to our next stay.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed everything. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My sisters and I have gone to Ballygarry House just outside Tralee three times and each time has been better than the last.

I can't recommend it highly enough - the staff in the hotel are exceptional - you can tell that they have been trained well and are just so pleasant to deal with.

We were there weekend before last and got a really good deal which included 2 nights B&B and 50 euro towards a spa treatment. I love their spa also - from the ambience when you walk in the door and can see the candlelit and gentle lighting to treatment rooms, to the complete confort of the relaxation room. I got a full body massage and the therapist whose name slips my mind was so good - she is originally from Russia - it was one of the best massages i've gotten which are a lot as I have a back issue. The only thing I would change about the spa is maybe make the sauna steamroom area a little bigger - would be great to have a pool too !!

The meal in the restaurant that night was top class and the service there again was brilliant. I got the duck and it was perfection - we got a lovely apertif aswell at the start which was a lovely touch. They couldn't do enough for you but were not in your face - perfect service.

There's a lovely walk nearby and theres a bit shopping centre closeby too.

Perfect for a relaxing girly weekend or couples weekend

Room Tip: we prefer to stay in the new part of the hotel as opposed to the old but that's just personal pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. Your comments are very enjoyable to read & rewarding to the whole team. I will ensure that all comments are passed on to the management & staff.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is my 4th vist to ballygarry house and it never fails to amaze me.Stayed last weekend with my mum and sisters in 3 twin rooms in the newer part of the hotel. Rooms are fab with all the facilities you would expect from a 5 star i.e bottled water, robes and slippers and social and personal mags. Room huge with a very big bathroom as well. We stayed on a 1 night B&B dinner and a spa voucher at 115€ pp was excellent value. We enjoyed the therapy suite and outdoor tub before relaxing in the gorgeous relaxation room. Before dinner myself and my sister used the hotel's bikes to have a cycle around the amenity walk in Ballyseedy woods, just a stones throw from the hotel. The bikes were a nice touch and quite new and easy to manage. Dinner in Brooks was excellent with a fantastic choice and none of the usual supplements bar €5 for steak. However my monkfish, the duck etc were all included at no supplement. Excellent wine choice too and not too expensive. We got a fantastic red italian wine which was served by the glass in the bar as well(should have taken the name down it was a fab wine). Staff are fantastic and can't do enough. Breakfast quite good with the usual buffet of cereals fruit breads of bacon eggs etc , pancakes, eggs Benedict etc which can be ordered at the table (we didn't realise this until we heard people at the next table order - the menu was outside the door but maybe one on each table would be a good idea). Had fab treatments in the spa and the therapists were lovely relaxed for a hour or so in the relaxation room with fruit smoothies, teas and fruit kebabs Bliss. Checkout was brisk and the girl on reception was fantastic nothing was too much trouble all in all can't wait to ho back again hopefully will be soon. I hear they are in the process of building a gym which will be a great asset Keep up the good work ballygarry

Room Tip: Newer part of the hotel has beautiful decor in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay. The only thing we prefer more than a guest is a guest who keeps coming back!! The wine you enjoyed was an Italian, Montepulicano!

We hope to welcome you back soon & we'll have the fitness suite open in the next month or so!
Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

i discovered this special place by accident. i was planning in staying in killarney but received an email from the uk telegraph hotel sales and checked the reviews on trip advisor. a big plus was the excellent location on the motorway with easy access to killarney, north kerry and the dingle peninsula.

so i reserved a room and added on a flight from dublin airport to kerry airport. it is only a 10-15 minute drive from there. my flight was very delayed from the u.s., and i missed my connecting flight.

i was afraid i might not arrive on scheduled date, but not to worry , michelle very quickly emailed me back and answered my updates. she was very understanding and reassuring ; which is fantastic when traveling.

indeed all the staff were very friendly and helpful. this hotel is very quiet, peaceful with a very nice atmosphere. i never heard a sound in my large, spacious room. the only thing i missed was a refrigerator but was provided with two small min refrigerator which served the purpose. bewley's coffee and tea are used which are the best. there is some nice antique furnishing throughout the corridors and with pictures , prints. the design and ambience is very soothing.
the bathroom large and very nice with excellent sowers.

also the grounds and landscaping are very well done. i did not use the evening restuarant , bar or spa, but the guests were generally older .there several some families with young children but again there really no noise .

again all the staff were very pleasant and helpful, both michelle and melissa were extremely nice. also a plus is the staff is familiar with the local area; and there were really european workers who speak poor english as in other hotels i have stayed in throughout ireland.

also i liked the fact that just up the road there is large tesco supermarket and shops.

i spoke with the owner who seems to have a very hands-on approach to running the hotel. i believe for this reason and the irish staff that standards are so high.

i'm so glad i stayed here away from the crowds and traffic in killarney. this is a special hotel that helped create a memorable and wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review Ballygarry House. It was a pleasure to have you stay here & I trust you had a pleasant trip back to the US. Your feedback is much appreciated & I will pass on all your comments to the team.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We are just back from a wonderful stay at the hotel. From the moment we entered to the moment we left we had a wonderful experience. The staff were extremely friendly and a lovely homely atmosphere was created. The room was lovely and plenty big enough to fit myself, husband and three children. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful with loads of wondering paths to explore. The spa is also lovely with a great outdoor hot tub! The restaurant was very very good. Beautiful food in a lovely atmosphere. One of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Zoe

Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel. The gardens are beautiful & to sit in the hot tub & soak it all up in this great spell of weather we are having is bliss!!

I will be sure to pass on all the glowing comments to the individual departments.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I literally can't put into words how beautiful this hotel is! From our arrival to departure we were overwhelmed by the amazing service provided! I couldn't recommend this hotel anymore! We were given a complimentary glass of champagne as it was our friends birthday, such a lovely touch and it made the evening really special! All the staff were so friendly and helpful (especially Aine in the restaurant!)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Gemma

Thank you for taking a moment out of your day to review Ballygarry. We work hard at the guest experience & with reviews like yours it truly pays off. Aine is a character & a great asset to Brooks restaurant & I will be sure to pass on your kind words.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Address: Leebrook, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#1 Business Hotel in Tralee
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.