We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Killarney Road, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Tralee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another great stay. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here again in April 2014 for 2 nights. Our room was very spacious and had a huge double bed and 2 singles. The staff are really friendly and efficient. We ate in the restaurant and the bar, both were excellent. The breakfast was very good, I can recommend the eggs Benedict. Breakfast was extremely busy both mornings but the staff were extremely helpful and cheery. We are already looking forward to our next stay.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    366
    77
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
75
202
19
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My sisters and I have gone to Ballygarry House just outside Tralee three times and each time has been better than the last.

I can't recommend it highly enough - the staff in the hotel are exceptional - you can tell that they have been trained well and are just so pleasant to deal with.

We were there weekend before last and got a really good deal which included 2 nights B&B and 50 euro towards a spa treatment. I love their spa also - from the ambience when you walk in the door and can see the candlelit and gentle lighting to treatment rooms, to the complete confort of the relaxation room. I got a full body massage and the therapist whose name slips my mind was so good - she is originally from Russia - it was one of the best massages i've gotten which are a lot as I have a back issue. The only thing I would change about the spa is maybe make the sauna steamroom area a little bigger - would be great to have a pool too !!

The meal in the restaurant that night was top class and the service there again was brilliant. I got the duck and it was perfection - we got a lovely apertif aswell at the start which was a lovely touch. They couldn't do enough for you but were not in your face - perfect service.

There's a lovely walk nearby and theres a bit shopping centre closeby too.

Perfect for a relaxing girly weekend or couples weekend

Room Tip: we prefer to stay in the new part of the hotel as opposed to the old but that's just personal pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is my 4th vist to ballygarry house and it never fails to amaze me.Stayed last weekend with my mum and sisters in 3 twin rooms in the newer part of the hotel. Rooms are fab with all the facilities you would expect from a 5 star i.e bottled water, robes and slippers and social and personal mags. Room huge with a very big bathroom as well. We stayed on a 1 night B&B dinner and a spa voucher at 115€ pp was excellent value. We enjoyed the therapy suite and outdoor tub before relaxing in the gorgeous relaxation room. Before dinner myself and my sister used the hotel's bikes to have a cycle around the amenity walk in Ballyseedy woods, just a stones throw from the hotel. The bikes were a nice touch and quite new and easy to manage. Dinner in Brooks was excellent with a fantastic choice and none of the usual supplements bar €5 for steak. However my monkfish, the duck etc were all included at no supplement. Excellent wine choice too and not too expensive. We got a fantastic red italian wine which was served by the glass in the bar as well(should have taken the name down it was a fab wine). Staff are fantastic and can't do enough. Breakfast quite good with the usual buffet of cereals fruit breads of bacon eggs etc , pancakes, eggs Benedict etc which can be ordered at the table (we didn't realise this until we heard people at the next table order - the menu was outside the door but maybe one on each table would be a good idea). Had fab treatments in the spa and the therapists were lovely relaxed for a hour or so in the relaxation room with fruit smoothies, teas and fruit kebabs Bliss. Checkout was brisk and the girl on reception was fantastic nothing was too much trouble all in all can't wait to ho back again hopefully will be soon. I hear they are in the process of building a gym which will be a great asset Keep up the good work ballygarry

Room Tip: Newer part of the hotel has beautiful decor in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

i discovered this special place by accident. i was planning in staying in killarney but received an email from the uk telegraph hotel sales and checked the reviews on trip advisor. a big plus was the excellent location on the motorway with easy access to killarney, north kerry and the dingle peninsula.

so i reserved a room and added on a flight from dublin airport to kerry airport. it is only a 10-15 minute drive from there. my flight was very delayed from the u.s., and i missed my connecting flight.

i was afraid i might not arrive on scheduled date, but not to worry , michelle very quickly emailed me back and answered my updates. she was very understanding and reassuring ; which is fantastic when traveling.

indeed all the staff were very friendly and helpful. this hotel is very quiet, peaceful with a very nice atmosphere. i never heard a sound in my large, spacious room. the only thing i missed was a refrigerator but was provided with two small min refrigerator which served the purpose. bewley's coffee and tea are used which are the best. there is some nice antique furnishing throughout the corridors and with pictures , prints. the design and ambience is very soothing.
the bathroom large and very nice with excellent sowers.

also the grounds and landscaping are very well done. i did not use the evening restuarant , bar or spa, but the guests were generally older .there several some families with young children but again there really no noise .

again all the staff were very pleasant and helpful, both michelle and melissa were extremely nice. also a plus is the staff is familiar with the local area; and there were really european workers who speak poor english as in other hotels i have stayed in throughout ireland.

also i liked the fact that just up the road there is large tesco supermarket and shops.

i spoke with the owner who seems to have a very hands-on approach to running the hotel. i believe for this reason and the irish staff that standards are so high.

i'm so glad i stayed here away from the crowds and traffic in killarney. this is a special hotel that helped create a memorable and wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are just back from a wonderful stay at the hotel. From the moment we entered to the moment we left we had a wonderful experience. The staff were extremely friendly and a lovely homely atmosphere was created. The room was lovely and plenty big enough to fit myself, husband and three children. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful with loads of wondering paths to explore. The spa is also lovely with a great outdoor hot tub! The restaurant was very very good. Beautiful food in a lovely atmosphere. One of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Zoe

Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel. The gardens are beautiful & to sit in the hot tub & soak it all up in this great spell of weather we are having is bliss!!

I will be sure to pass on all the glowing comments to the individual departments.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I literally can't put into words how beautiful this hotel is! From our arrival to departure we were overwhelmed by the amazing service provided! I couldn't recommend this hotel anymore! We were given a complimentary glass of champagne as it was our friends birthday, such a lovely touch and it made the evening really special! All the staff were so friendly and helpful (especially Aine in the restaurant!)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Gemma

Thank you for taking a moment out of your day to review Ballygarry. We work hard at the guest experience & with reviews like yours it truly pays off. Aine is a character & a great asset to Brooks restaurant & I will be sure to pass on your kind words.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I used this hotel only last week but have used it on many ocassions previously for both business and leisure with family. From the minute you arrive you are welcomed by highly professional employees which is consistent throughout this establishment. Nice bedrooms, good food and great service.

You will go far in Ireland to find a better 4 star establishment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear James

Thank you for your glowing compliments on the hotel. We are very fortunate with the staff who are all very professional & welcoming as a team. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee
Address: Killarney Road, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#1 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.