We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leebrook, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
ireland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is the nicest hotel to stay in in Tralee, I have stayed in 3 of the hotels in Tralee. The rooms are lovely spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff are warm and welcoming. The breakfast was very good and the service was excellent. One negative, I felt the Spa receptionist a bit brusque and inattentive but all in all this is a lovely hotel. I would defintely recommend if staying in Tralee.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast offering & the hotel in general. We are looking into who was on reception in the spa during your stay. Thank you for your comments.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    108
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
121
282
28
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just back from an annual Spa trip with my sister and cousins, we keep coming back because of the superb service & the ever friendly staff. From the girl on reception to the bar & restaurant staff each & everyone make you feel most welcome to Ballygarry. No matter how busy the hotel is they will always make time to have a friendly word. The food is divine in both the bar & Brooks restaurant. The spa is by far the best we have tried out, hence why we keep returning!!! Can't wait to visit again this weekend with the hubby.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Bernadette

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Undoubtedly our staff are our greatest asset & I have often said that I wouldn't like to run another hotel without the same team I have! It says a lot but they are a great crew with great pride in what they do!

I will also pass on your compliments of our Spa & food to both departmental managers.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My brothers wedding took place here last weekend and with us not being from Tralee the entire wedding party/guests were booked to stay in the hotel for the weekend. From arrival to departure was one of the best hotel experiences I have encountered. Padraig and his staff should be extremely proud as from the fabulous food in both the bar & restaurant & that was served at the wedding to the excellent service level we could not find any complaints. Every request was met without any trouble ensuring we were relaxed for the special day. The hotel was extremely busy over the course of the weekend but nothing suffered as a result. The rooms are of a very high standard well decorated with comfy beds and little touches like bottled water & a chocolate on the pillows are much appreciated. Bathrooms are spacious and have separate bath & shower which is an added bonus. Breakfast has a wide variety in choice from the traditional fry to French toast & pancakes all made to order. The hotel has a very welcoming atmosphere and traditional luxury feel unfortunately we did not have time to experience the spa but will return for a more relaxing weekend to enjoy the facilities.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your detailed review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the weekend so much. You all seemed to have a great time. Our head chef John has enhanced the food offering in style & quality a lot in the past year & it pays dividend when I read your review.

Our Accommodation renovation program means that no décor is older than 7 years in any given bedroom & ensures that comments like yours are consistent.

Thank you
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in the hotel after travelling up from Waterford. Our room was quite large as was the bathroom. Our room overlooked the garden which was pleasant despite the building work.

The breakfast was good and got top marks for being hot. We didn't dine in the evening but the menu looked good.

The hotel was well signposted and in a good location for our onward journey to Galway. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest

I am glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel so much. Breakfast is something we have put a lot of work into enhancing the last experience which a guest has before they depart. Thankfully its worth the effort & energy.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Visited the hotel in October for a wedding and stayed three nights. The hotel was homely and made us all feel very welcome on arrival, dinner that night was lovely and the staff were very friendly! The day of the wedding was perfect and very well paced which ensured that none of the guests got bored or were left waiting around. I had the vegetarian option of pasta for the meal and it was one of the nicest dishes I have ever tasted. The sandwiches and finger food were superb and breakfast on all three morning were A1, with the pancakes being far nicer than the fry.

The only criticism I would give is that I found there was not a great selection for dessert, but the dish I did order was lovely.

Overall, a great wedding in a lovely hotel and I hope I get the chance to visit again soon!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your glowing review. Its great to hear you enjoyed the wedding, food & service so much. We pride ourselves in efficient wedding service & that we can serve everyone in the room from first to last within 10 minutes.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Very impressed - reception staff excellent, rooms generous, love coffee machine in room. Staff extremely helpful.

Dined in the bar - good quality. Irish breakfast top class. The staff and service at breakfast excellent

No hesitation in recommending

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Ian

Thank you for the feedback. The Nespresso machines are a lovely addition in the rooms!! As we all say "you cant beat a good breakfast!" I will be sure to pass on your positive comments.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Great restaurant and in particular the Irish breads, seafood and steak are not to be missed. Superb service. Shame didn't get to the spa. Beautiful rooms. Only slight trouble - keys don't always turn the locks, need a card system. Will definitely come again when in Kerry!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear John

Thank you for your kind comments. All of our Breads are made in house by Roy, our Pastry chef so I will pass on your kind comments. We elected to stay with the old traditional Key because its so rare to get it anymore & believe it or not far more reliable than the key cards. Admittedly some are hard to turn so I will ask maintenance to oil them. Thank you for your feedback.
Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Address: Leebrook, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#1 Business Hotel in Tralee
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.