We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay in beautiful location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Killarney Road, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Tralee
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing stay in beautiful location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel with my mum for a one night SPA break. All I can say is Top Class! The service here was exceptional and rooms were beautifully finished and very comfortable with a turn down service at night, our room also had beautiful views of the gardens and Kerry mountains in the distance. We spent our day in the SPA, relaxing and getting treatments. Staff here are exceptional and really transported us to the relaxing Eden that is the Nadur spa. That evening we had a pre-dinner cocktail and then enjoyed a fabulous 4 course meal including a complimentary canapé from the chef…superb! Overall our stay was very relaxing, fabulous, friendly staff who couldn't have been more friendly, will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMcGillicuddyGM, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Corcaigh2010,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay and for giving us full marks for all areas. I am delighed to read your kind words and have passed them on to our team. I look forward to welcoming you back to Ballygarry House in the future.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    399
    83
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
84
218
22
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Was a lovely hotel...stayed here for a wedding..but didn't like the layout of the place. Had to walk outside the hotel to get to the wedding party area as dinner area and access door was locked,would have been awful if it had of been raining...food during wedding meal was lovely...but the room was too warm...but after the meal during the evening entertainment the room was too cold,resulting in most of us having colds the following day..staff here were lovely...and breakfast offered a great variety for us all...rooms were a little small but very clean...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMcGillicuddyGM, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Catherine C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay. I am surprised to read your dislike of the layout- the gardens are one of our most popular features and people usually like to enjoy them. If it is raining we would always have a route through the hotel to the pre wedding drinks reception. I have noted your comment about the air conditioning and passed this on to one of my managers who is going to look into this.

Kindest regards,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We enjoyed our two evenings at Ballygarry very much. We were traveling with a group tour that I was leading. The hotel was ready when the 37 of us arrived so I could quickly distribute keys and have guests on their way to their rooms. Rooms were great, staff was very pleasant (Melissa was wonderful and seemed to be there at all times of day and night), restaurant was good. Great location for day trips to the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMcGillicuddyGM, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear AtSeaAnne,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read that you had a lovely stay with us on your visit to Kerry.

Melissa was delighed to read your kind words and I am sure she does sometimes feel like she is here all the time! Thats the joy of having a close team of staff- the faces become very familiar!
I do hope you will get to visit us again in the future.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here recently for 3 nights on a tour of Ireland. Couldn't fault this hotel, reception staff were very helpful and attentive, room was spacious, clean and well fitted out, restaurant and bar staff were very friendly and the food was excellent.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMcGillicuddyGM, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Yorkshire_Lad_MOT,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. We appreciate your kind comments and I will pass the review on to all of our staff.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here last weekend with my family and it was lovely - I had to request a room change closer to lift due to elderly family member and we were obliged instantly by reception.The 2 bedrooms were spotless and just huge and ideal for toddlers to run around. Beautiful gardens too. The dinner in the restaurant was beautiful and considering we were on a package for the weekend the menu was very varied and the portions generous. One mature waitress was particulary attentive to our daughter which was great - bringing her some colouring books for distraction which i was very grateful for so I could enjoy my dinner. Breakfast saturday had great choice but sundays was a buffet and a more limited selection but everything was piping hot and the staff great considering how busy they were. The beds were very comfortable and if I had any crib it was the bedroom was quite warm at night but thats a personal choice. Saturday night we had some residual noise from a wedding downstairs. Overall very good and I would return here but request a quiter room.

Room Tip: A?C from outside room was more annoying at night than the wedding and while the room overlooked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMcGillicuddyGM, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Oreillykmc,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your kind words in particular about our staff. They are a great team and it is great to see familiar faces when returing.

I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay and I do hope that you will visit us again here at Ballygarry House.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Two of us stopped here during a business trip. From welcome through the door, bar and breakfast the next morning I could not fault neither the staff or quality. Great value, great food, free wifi, secure parking and good location 10/10 would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMcGillicuddyGM, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Peterhkirk,

Thank you for your recent post. I am delighted to read your kind words.

It is great to be complimented on these things as when travelling on business your needs can be so different, even for us to have WiFi readily available and free can make such a difference for ease of use and take the stress out of travelling.

I hope that you will return again to Ballygarry House,

Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Ballygarry house is a lovely friendly hotel on the outskirts of Tralee,from the moment you check in you are greeted with a lovely pleasant receptionist, rooms are spacious and very clean with a chocolate left on your pillow in the evening also a little "bookmark" with a verse,a lovely touch.Breakfast in the bright dining room is lovely.The gardens on a sunny day are beautiful just stroll around or sit and read a book on the many seats around,overall this hotel is a must visit if you are in the Tralee area.Suitable for a romantic break or if you are travelling with a family.Definately will stay here again whenever we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMcGillicuddyGM, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Aileen_9,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us here at Ballygarry House.

I am delighted that our little touches were noticed and your kind words are much appreciated. I will be delighed to welcome you back again in the future.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Address: Killarney Road, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#1 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.