We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel we've stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leebrook, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best hotel we've stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I'm shamefully late in writing this review - we actually stayed at the Ballygarry for our honeymoon in March 2010, and perhaps judging by the number of other great reviews it has, this one is not entirely necessary, however, I'll write it anyway.

Firstly, when we stayed there (and I don't know if it has since changed) the Ballygarry was officially a 4-star hotel. I don't say this lightly, but it easily deserves five stars, much more so than the alleged 5-star we later stayed in in Cork (avoid the Hayfield Manor at all costs).

At the Ballygarry, we were given the biggest hotel room I have ever stayed in. It was clean and comfortable and I could not fault it in any way. The hotel staff were absolutely superb, and made us feel like really valued customers. On one occasion, one of the bar staff lit the fire for us in a private lounge and brought our wine through so we could have a bit more privacy.

The food was delicious, though I must say (and this would be my only criticism, if you could call it that) the portions were absolutely enormous. My husband and I have huge appetities but often found ourselves defeated half way through the main course.

The spa in the hotel was fantastic. We went in early March and were lucky enough to have the spa to ourselves for the vast majority of our stay. Bizarrely, we got five days of glorious sunshine, and I have to say, there are few moments of my life which measure up to sitting in the outdoor hot-tub on a chilly but sunny evening and watching the sunset.

A belated thank you to the Ballygarry for giving us such a wonderful honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    97
    22
    9
    6
See reviews for
106
256
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay while we we there. The grounds are beautiful, and we enjoyed sitting outside for drinks. They also have a very nice spa. The staff is very nice and attentive. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We had a very nice stay at this hotel with a large, well appointed room and excellent food. Service was very friendly. The hotel is a couple mile drive from downtown Tralee. We arrived about the same time as a tour bus pulled in so check-in was lengthy and dinner and breakfast dining had to be planned around tour bus customers. Excellent wheelchair accessible rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed in this hotel just last week with daughter just gone 3 and 8mt old son and hubby, it was fab. We stayed in a Family room which was def the nicest hotel room i ever stayed in very spacious, bathroom was really lovely full bath and seperate large shower. Staff were excellent so friendly and helpful and the food was devine, would def recomend this hotel. Oh the Grounds and the scenery just gorgeous, we will be returning here

Room Tip: We got a family room, and were totally supprised, but not sure if all the family rooms as that big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co. louth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

Lovely hotel with unbelievable friendly & helpful staff close to Tralee but quiet and tranquil- but what stood out was that one tiny hiccup was dealt with suburb- it's how a place deals with problems determines it's standard and they passed with flying colours !!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This hotel has it all, friendly, helpful staff, great food & fab grounds. The spa is lovely there too, got my make up done & a treatment, really happy with both. The rooms are spacious & beds are so so comfy! I can not speak highly enough of this hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

My family and I stayed at Ballygarry House last week and as always I just didn't want to leave. This is one of those hotels that makes you feel like your coming home. The staff greet you by name and they take time for every guest. The rooms are tastefully decorated and well equiped. The food in both the bar and restaurant is excellent. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the Spa is an oasis of total relaxation. But I have to say that what makes Ballygarry House such an incredible place is its staff. They really go that extra mile for the hotels guests. This was my first time visiting the hotel with our 6 month old son (we also have two older children) and it was no trouble for staff to sterilise bottles for us and help with babysitting. He had a fabulous day out at the Gap of Dunloe which was organised by one of the excellent team of receptions. Ballygarry House is a real 5 star experience!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Address: Leebrook, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#1 Business Hotel in Tralee
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.