We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well run hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brandon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Brandon Hotel to your Saves list
Brandon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princes Street, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A well run hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The receptionist was helpful and of a cheery disposition. A lot of hotels can't pull that off and it is an automatic fail if you are greeted upon arrival with indifference.Nothing seemed to be a problem and if we had any kind of issue she was eager to have it resolved. Its location is very central. The restaurant staff seem to able to deal quite well with large groups.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Brandon Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Brandon Hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We will pass on your remarks to members of our management and staff. They work very hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay and will be pleased their efforts have been recognized.



We hope that you will visit us again when you are next in Tralee

Regards
Elaine C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    55
    49
    28
    21
See reviews for
38
54
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my wife and daughter between 31 October 2013 and 4 November 2013 when we visited Tralee for a family reunion. We much enjoyed the Irish breakfast that was served each day and I made good use of the large Leisure Centre which included both gym and swimming pool. The hotel is ideally located with a short walk to the town centre and good transport with the beautiful Kerry coast, the Dingle peninsula and the rest of Kerry and south west Ireland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Brandon Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate feedback from our guests. We are delighted you enjoyed our restaurant and leisure facilities. Yes we agree, Tralee is ideally located for exploring the beautiful Southwest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Elaine C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a hotel I would recommend to anyone, very well located central to all amenities, the staff were kind friendly and courteous, the rooms were immaculate and the food superb and the prices, very very reasonable, I have stayed in a lot of hotels these last few years and would have to give this hotel 10 out of 10
One girl in particular our receptionist Margaret went above and beyond the call of duty to help me get something that meant a lot to me and she made calls, till she got the item which I could not find anywhere on our travels.
From the time of our arrival to departure, it was like home from home.
I would like to sincerely thank each and every staff member, you were all brilliant and very professional at your jobs, but still held on to your sense of fun and friendliness , I will definitely be back

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent with tea and coffee facilities, beautiful fresh bed linen and fluffy white t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Brandon Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We will pass on your comments to our staff who will be very appreciative of your observations. The staff and management here at the hotel do their utmost to make our guest’s stay an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Brandon Hotel.

Regards
Elaine C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Hi just back from a great weekend .stayed in the Brandon hotel .tralee .the staff were great they couldn't do enough for us .(the food was lovely) ,had the steak ,,and all the trimmings it was very very nice .the breakfast was great, every thing you could want and more .great value we stayed for two nights b& b and evening meal also included .we used the swimming pool and the steam room, it was very relaxing .just want to say thank you to all the staff.see you all in June .from the Cork'ies .

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is quite and that's what we like when we go away .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Brandon Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Many thanks for sharing your experience at the Brandon Hotel. We’ll be sure to pass on your kind words to our Restaurant and Hotel Staff. It’s great to hear you enjoyed the food and the hotel amenities during your stay. Please keep us in mind the next time you are in Tralee.

Regards
Elaine C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Had to stay here for work. Staff very nice. Were kind enough to feed me even though I arrived just after the restaurant had closed. If not for that, I'm afraid it would be a 2 star. This hotel is huge and feels like it badly needs a facelift. Most of the decor feels quite dated. In the morning, there was no water at all in my room. While the receptionist apologised, I was still charged full price. I don't remember what the food was like, think I just wanted to get out of there. Tralee is a great town. If you are staying there, I wouldn't use this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Brandon Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and are pleased you took the time out to acknowledge their efforts.


We apologize that there was a problem with the water during your visit. Unfortunately we did have an unexpected leak. While the problem was being immediately attended to guests were offered use of alternative unaffected facilities.


Customer care and satisfaction is of great importance to us here the Brandon Hotel. We hope you will reconsider your position and stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We booked a family room and were very unhappy with the standard and quality of the room (320). When we arrived the chairs in the room had a broken arm and the upolstery was ripped, handles missing off drawers, phone socket was broken, no hairdryer, grubby paintwork, drawer fell apart when we opened it and the toilet roll holder was broken. In general the room needed an overhaul and in my opinion not acceptable. On a positive the bed were comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Brandon Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
I am sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We have reviewed your comments from both trip advisor and your letter and have taken appropriate action to resolve issues where possible. In addition, we have brought your comments to the attention of the relevant department to try and avoid these type of concerns in the future. Again, we apologize for any issues that you encountered during your stay. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience for our guests. We are continually doing property renovation to improve our guest experience. We hope that you will consider visiting us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff. No general manager to be seen, only bar manager. No kids menu. No half portions. Hotel in bad need of a face lift. Its such a shame for a hotel thats in such a central location and used to be the place to stay and dine in tralee before.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Brandon Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer and property services.

Our staff members make a genuine effort to make our guests feel welcomed at the Brandon Hotel and we greatly appreciate your observation of their friendliness. In addition, our management team is on hand to support our staff and guests. Typically in the evening this would include department and duty managers.




Normally we would offer guests a children’s menu including half portions. We apologize for the oversight that this wasn’t available during your visit.




Our commitment to investing in our property is ongoing; currently we are undergoing renovations in the majority of our bedrooms and doing work to the exterior of the building also.


Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Brandon Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brandon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandon Hotel

Address: Princes Street, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brandon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever the occasion, the Brandon Hotel Conference & Leisure Centre Tralee offers you a warm and friendly welcome in the heart of Tralee. Only minutes walk from Tralee town centre, it is the perfect location to relax after doing a spot of shopping, taking in the sights of Kerry or sampling the nightlife in Tralee. The Brandon Hotel encapsulates timeless elegance with comfort,and the names has long since been synonymous with quality since it opened in 1966. Guests enjoy an outstanding service, a charming and friendly atmosphere and traditionally furnished surroundings, not to mention state-of-the-art leisure facilities and a purpose-built conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Brandon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandon Hotel Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brandon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.