We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the heart of the town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brandon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brandon Hotel to your Saves list
Brandon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princes Street, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Finland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the heart of the town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the middle of September and found this hotel nice and situated in the heart of the town. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast(9.90€/person) was true Irish, not very healthy but there was plenty of everything to choose. Breakfast area was nicely decorated and quite roomy. Coffee and tea were served to the table - otherwise you were able to make your own selection of cold and warm goodies.
The complimentary spa section is nice plus to all hotel guests. There is large pool with jacuzzi together with steam and scandinavian sauna. Huge fitness center is located inside the spa too and is free for hotel guests as well.
Our room was spacious with roomy bathroom. Maybe TV is out of date but we didn´t have time to watch it very much.
Nice Italian restaurant is just around the corner( Il Pomo Doro). Worth of trying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    62
    53
    31
    26
See reviews for
38
60
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
129 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

A fairly standard hotel experience. The room was a good size. The adjoining pub/restaurant served good pub food at very reasonable prices. Breakfast was the self service style and the quality and range of the buffet was less good than other similarly priced hotels we stayed at in Ireland. The hotel location is central, and free parking is provided in a secure car park.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Brandon Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Lawrence
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are delighted to hear the bedroom and bar food were to your satisfaction. I will pass on your comments on the breakfast offerings to the relevant personnel. We take all comments on board and appreciate your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Brandon In the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a work trip.. was impressed with hotel on first impression but when i got to the room it was very dated.. there are no quilts on bed just old itchy sheets. Tv in like something from the 70's. Was looking forward to breakfast but i couldnt eat anything i tried cereal but the milk tasted off so tried toast the butter was horrible the sausages were like rubber.. decor is very dated. Staff talked about a guest when they left the room in ear shot of other guests.. wouldnt recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Brandon Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on the hotel; I am disappointed to read of your experience, I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered during breakfast service.

Your feedback was shared with the breakfast team and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back improving your experience with our hotel. It is regretful that these issues affected your overall stay.

I would be pleased to discuss the matter further with you should you wish to contact me directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed two nights with spouse and child. Found the room and public areas clean.
The hotel is well situated and has free car parking at the rear.
The bar has no atmosphere at all, the breakfast is poor and overall it has a very impersonal feel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Brandon Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are glad to hear you found your room and the location of our hotel to your satisfaction.

I apologize that you found the breakfast food to be poor; we provide a traditional full Irish breakfast with fruit juices, coffee, and tea or alternatively we offer a continental breakfast including cereals yogurt and fruit. We strive for excellence and pride ourselves on our food menu. We apologize these were not to your liking.

We take all customer feedback on board with the aim of continuously improving our service levels and food offerings. We hope to see you again and welcome you back to Tralee in the hope of exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Spent one night, Room was fine and clean, large with double and single bed. Did not eat at the hotel. unfortunately couldn't avail of the leisure centre as it was open too late - 10am on weekends - hence the three stars, otherwsie would be 4). Would return again when back to tralee.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Brandon Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Cillian,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear you were satisfied with your room. We do regret that you were unable to use our leisure facilities; we previously had the leisure centre open earlier on the weekends but found the facilities were not being used. We take all feedback on board in regards to opening times and are always open to change, we will review this with the relevant personnel in the leisure centre. Thank you again for taking the time to send in your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Brandon Hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

As a tourist guide responsible for large groups I did have an overnight in this hotel and have to say it was hit and miss. On arrival a friendly reception with a smile....the room perfect and nothing missing to ones comfort but breakfast was slow as it took the one man band more than ten minutes to notice me and all I wanted was a coffee. The reception in the morning was more or less hard to please as she had no smile and no matter how hard I tried it just wasn't possible to get them to be friendly. Important to know is that mainly the rooms in the top floor are perfect all others are hit and miss. Food quality is ok for a three star.Its a very busy place and definitely no good for a couple looking for a romantic evening away from home....feel of a train station....

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are the best one in this hotel as all others need to be seen before you decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Brandon Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us, we are pleased to hear you found the receptionist on arrival to be friendly and welcoming and you were satisfied with your room and facilities provided for your comfort. It is disappointing to hear we did not meet your expectations with breakfast due to your wait time for coffee. We appreciate the feedback and all comments will be passed on to the relevant personnel with the aim of improving our service going forward. We look forward to seeing you again and hope to surpass your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Have just spent 4 days at the Brandon. The hotel is excellently sited in the centre of the town close to shops, bars etc. It has a large secure free car park at the rear. The hotel is clean and very well maintained. Our room for 2 of us had a large double bed, a single bed and still had space for a table and chairs. All spotlessly clean. All the staff were very nice, polite and helpful.
The breakfast is a self service buffet and the food on offer is excellent.
I was a bit disappointed with the evening dinner experience overall. The restaurant was not available so we ate in the bar - not what we would have liked. The restaurant is very understated. We found it difficult to find a menu or to find out what was on offer before we sat at the table.The menu was very limited. Our evening dinner was just ok but not great. It was just too much hassle to eat in the restaurant after that so we walked the few minutes to other nearby eateries.
Apart from the evening meal issue the hotel was first class and I would definately visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Brandon Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Brandon Hotel. We are delighted to hear your comments on the staff; the location, room sizes and breakfast. it means a lot to us when we hear such positive feedback.
It is our deepest regret that we did not satisfy your expectations when it came to dinner service.

In relation to your review we have taken all comments on board. We have implemented changes starting with the opening times of the restaurant. Customers will now have the choice of dinning in our Galleon restaurant or to dine in the B Bar depending on their preferences.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Brandon Hotel and exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Brandon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandon Hotel

Address: Princes Street, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brandon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever the occasion, the Brandon Hotel Conference & Leisure Centre Tralee offers you a warm and friendly welcome in the heart of Tralee. Only minutes walk from Tralee town centre, it is the perfect location to relax after doing a spot of shopping, taking in the sights of Kerry or sampling the nightlife in Tralee. The Brandon Hotel encapsulates timeless elegance with comfort,and the names has long since been synonymous with quality since it opened in 1966. Guests enjoy an outstanding service, a charming and friendly atmosphere and traditionally furnished surroundings, not to mention state-of-the-art leisure facilities and a purpose-built conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Brandon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandon Hotel Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brandon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.