We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballyseede Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ballyseede Castle to your Saves list
Ballyseede Castle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We booked a night at Ballyseede on our trip around Ireland mainly to say we did (when in Rome...). I honestly didn't have very high expectations and thought it would be just an over priced hotel. After staying there, I think everyone in our group would say it was worth it. The rooms were great, the public sitting areas were comfortable and inviting (with a bar to get a drink, or coffee/tea) and the restaurant was great as well. The service was great and atmosphere laid back (not like some very high end hotels that can be stuffy). The grounds were beautiful and very quiet; felt like wewere in the middle of nowhere. On our trip we mostly stayed at BnB's in or very close to towns so a castle in a quieter area was a nice change of pace. While you may not feel like you're in a castle in the rooms alone, the other public spaces (where we mostly spent our time) certainly did.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are not shown on the website so it's sort of hard to know what you're getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    125
    36
    11
    15
See reviews for
153
255
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

First, this was my 50th birthday and I wanted to something special. We arrived at the castle and were treated by the resident puppy Einstein. Ok, maybe greeted was a stretch...he just laid there and barely acknowledged us. The staff was awesome and we got upgraded to the honeymoon suite!!! I really felt like the princess at that point! We opened our bottle of wine and poured a glass (in waterford crystal of course we had recently purchased ) and walked around the grounds. Everywhere we went the staff was super friendly. The grounds are beautiful and there are miniature horses and donkeys in a field across from the castle. I felt like the lady of the manor surveying her property. We ate at the pub that evening and made an early night of it, (birthday, honeymoon suite, big slipper tub....you get the picture. The next morning we went to breakfast and the staff gave me a birthday card!!! We left reluctantly after breakfast but not before I accidentally left my wallet in the room. 1 hour later I realized my mistake and had to backtrack to the castle. I think the castle was trying to make me stay :-) Anyway, the owner had my wallet and some change I inadvertently left as well waiting at the front desk. They had already sent and email and left a message on my home phone! I will never forget the experience or the kindness I experienced here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Our 2 night stay at Ballyseede Castle was excellent. Although the room was small, it was comfortable and clean. The decor was lovely. The sitting rooms in the castle are beautiful and there is always a pot of tea and coffee with biscuits for the taking. The grounds are lovely. The restaurant is first rate and the food in the pub is good too. Breakfast was excellent as was the service. No, it's not actually what one would call a castle like in the1500's but it was close enough for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby, kansas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Ok, not 800 years old but its still a castle. We had a great 2 night stay, we stayed in a cozy room which was fine with us. Coming in after a long day touring to having tea and coffee in one of the parlors was a great way to wind down before dinner. Breakfast in the stone room was probably the best ones we had while in Ireland. Joe and Esther at breakfast are super nice. All of the staff is wonderful except for one reception lady. We drove here from Charles fort then drove Slea Head drive and Dingle then left and went to Cliffs of Mohr. I highly recommend a stay here. We also had the 5 course meal one night, something we had never done. It was ok and a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We had a cozy which was nice but cozy, if you need more space get a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

First, let me say we did enjoy our stay here, but it has to be said that this is NOT a castle, but rather a manor house. If you are thinking of the fairy tale, medieval, towers-and-dungeons type of castle, this isn't one of them. It is a manor house build in the 1700's with castle design elements. Also, I would not consider this a 4-star property, as their site & most travel sites say. I would say somewhere between 3 to 3.5 stars. So, here are the pros & cons:

Pros: Amazing service from the staff...we really felt catered to from beginning to end; good food, nice common areas with wi-fi, cozy library/pub room; free parking; easy access to Tralee/Dingle Peninsula; Ballyseedy Wood nearby (great trails to walk; stroller-friendly; ruins of prior Ballyseede house); spacious rooms; kid-friendly

Cons: The hotel has some wear & tear that needs to be addressed, as this is the main reason I didn't give it 5 stars, nor consider it to be a 4-star hotel. You kinda get the feeling it's trading on its name and reputation a bit, or maybe times are tough, but it needs a thorough refreshing throughout. Things like moldy grout, cracked & chipping paint, worn out rugs & so on. Nothing major, but it's a little rough around the edges. Also, the decor...I guess the best way to describe it is to think of staying in this house right after the family moved out in the 1960's. The furniture fits with the period of the house, but looks like (and may be) furniture from the 50's or 60's. Since authentic period pieces aren't likely for a hotel, maybe they could try for a more "distressed" look on some things to make it look more antique/authentic. Basically, it won't really seem that special to anyone from the states that's used to seeing reproduction colonial-era furniture. Its the same type of furniture found in hotels here.

Finally, as is typical for many of my Ireland reviews, the beer selection is too limited. Once again Carlsberg was my choice for lager, and there was nothing hoppy. Oh, and you probably won't see the wolf hound...he is being kept away from the main house because of behavior issues.

So, would I recommend it...yes. Just go expecting a manor house experience & not a castle, and some rough edges. But it was overall an enjoyable experience for a 2 night stay. Any longer would be too much, I think.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanute, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Everything about the Ballyseede Castle was first rate. We had great rooms with plenty of space, and wonderful décor. The bartender was awesome and the food was great. We even went on a tour and learned about the resident "ghost"

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed there for two nights and did not want to leave. The room was lovely and spacious. The staff were very personable and helpful! Food was great and very affordable! Could not ask for a better hotel experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballyseede Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyseede Castle

Address: Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyseede Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 4* Castle hotel located just outside of Tralee town on its own thirty acres of woodland. A very grand Hotel with two AA rosettes and shortlisted for Country House of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ballyseede Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyseede Castle Hotel Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballyseede Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.