We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but it's not a castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ballyseede Castle

Save Saved
You added Ballyseede Castle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ballyseede Castle
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Tralee
Fredericksburg, VA
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice place, but it's not a castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

First, let me say we did enjoy our stay here, but it has to be said that this is NOT a castle, but rather a manor house. If you are thinking of the fairy tale, medieval, towers-and-dungeons type of castle, this isn't one of them. It is a manor house build in the 1700's with castle design elements. Also, I would not consider this a 4-star property, as their site & most travel sites say. I would say somewhere between 3 to 3.5 stars. So, here are the pros & cons:

Pros: Amazing service from the staff...we really felt catered to from beginning to end; good food, nice common areas with wi-fi, cozy library/pub room; free parking; easy access to Tralee/Dingle Peninsula; Ballyseedy Wood nearby (great trails to walk; stroller-friendly; ruins of prior Ballyseede house); spacious rooms; kid-friendly

Cons: The hotel has some wear & tear that needs to be addressed, as this is the main reason I didn't give it 5 stars, nor consider it to be a 4-star hotel. You kinda get the feeling it's trading on its name and reputation a bit, or maybe times are tough, but it needs a thorough refreshing throughout. Things like moldy grout, cracked & chipping paint, worn out rugs & so on. Nothing major, but it's a little rough around the edges. Also, the decor...I guess the best way to describe it is to think of staying in this house right after the family moved out in the 1960's. The furniture fits with the period of the house, but looks like (and may be) furniture from the 50's or 60's. Since authentic period pieces aren't likely for a hotel, maybe they could try for a more "distressed" look on some things to make it look more antique/authentic. Basically, it won't really seem that special to anyone from the states that's used to seeing reproduction colonial-era furniture. Its the same type of furniture found in hotels here.

Finally, as is typical for many of my Ireland reviews, the beer selection is too limited. Once again Carlsberg was my choice for lager, and there was nothing hoppy. Oh, and you probably won't see the wolf hound...he is being kept away from the main house because of behavior issues.

So, would I recommend it...yes. Just go expecting a manor house experience & not a castle, and some rough edges. But it was overall an enjoyable experience for a 2 night stay. Any longer would be too much, I think.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    117
    35
    9
    15
See reviews for
145
240
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chanute, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Everything about the Ballyseede Castle was first rate. We had great rooms with plenty of space, and wonderful décor. The bartender was awesome and the food was great. We even went on a tour and learned about the resident "ghost"

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed there for two nights and did not want to leave. The room was lovely and spacious. The staff were very personable and helpful! Food was great and very affordable! Could not ask for a better hotel experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was a very pleasant 2 night stay at a beautiful castle. Expect fabulous lobby, dining room, and various drawing rooms & grounds replete with an ornate metal gazebo and outdoor seating area which are perfect for weddings. Expect to see at least one Wedding & Reception. We saw 2 wedding parties on a 2 night stay, but this was very interesting and there was no problem with noise from the weddings from our third floor rooms. Also, the first night they set up our own private dining area in a very lovely drawing room with a fire place. Very romantic, fabulous food, and impeccable service!!! Do not expect an elevator in this 4 story building, but they do help you with your baggage. Just not sure how handicapped friendly it is. The rooms were stately and beautiful, comfortable and clean, though a bit worn and ours was a bit musty. But, room service immediately brought air freshener. Overall very good experience, and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The location, accomodation, rooms, services and the most important assets - the personnel, deserve 5 stars. I have enjoyed everything there, even it was short, only 2 nights. You won't regret it if you ever considering staying at Ballyseede Castle.

Room Tip: I don't know if they have a fitness centre, but I clicked on the 5 stars and I can not revert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

From the front gate, driving down the tree-lined drive, you come upon the beautiful Ballyseede Castle. Enjoy the gorgeously appointed drawing rooms and grand entryway. We stayed in The French Room and it was lovely! Spacious room with large 4 poster bed, walls a stunning shade of red, tastefully decorated with antiques. We felt like royalty (or the Crawleys from Downton!) with the suits of armor in the hallway and tasteful artwork everywhere. Breakfast in the Stone Room was lovely. Would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights, Texas, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This place is absolutely gorgeous. The grounds, the castle itself and everything around it. One word of caution-they host about 2 weddings per week, so there are often crowds of people on site. That did not bother us at all, we actually enjoyed watching all of the stuff taking place. The rooms are well appointed and the grounds are kept in perfect condition. We had dinner in the O'Connell dining room and it was delicious. Perhaps the best part of our entire stay was the staff. Eddie is the staff member who checked us in and who truly assisted us through the entire stay. Eddie even took the time to show us around to some of the "off the grid" areas of the castle after we had dinner. It is staff members like him who make properties stand out among others. We cannot wait to go back and to hopefully have a longer stay! Thanks Eddie!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballyseede Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyseede Castle

Address: Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ballyseede Castle 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 4* Castle hotel located just outside of Tralee town on its own thirty acres of woodland. A very grand Hotel with two AA rosettes and shortlisted for Country House of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Ballyseede Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyseede Castle Hotel Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballyseede Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.