We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballyseede Castle

Save Saved
You added Ballyseede Castle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ballyseede Castle
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Tralee
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The location, accomodation, rooms, services and the most important assets - the personnel, deserve 5 stars. I have enjoyed everything there, even it was short, only 2 nights. You won't regret it if you ever considering staying at Ballyseede Castle.

Room Tip: I don't know if they have a fitness centre, but I clicked on the 5 stars and I can not revert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    350
    115
    35
    9
    15
See reviews for
141
239
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

From the front gate, driving down the tree-lined drive, you come upon the beautiful Ballyseede Castle. Enjoy the gorgeously appointed drawing rooms and grand entryway. We stayed in The French Room and it was lovely! Spacious room with large 4 poster bed, walls a stunning shade of red, tastefully decorated with antiques. We felt like royalty (or the Crawleys from Downton!) with the suits of armor in the hallway and tasteful artwork everywhere. Breakfast in the Stone Room was lovely. Would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights, Texas, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This place is absolutely gorgeous. The grounds, the castle itself and everything around it. One word of caution-they host about 2 weddings per week, so there are often crowds of people on site. That did not bother us at all, we actually enjoyed watching all of the stuff taking place. The rooms are well appointed and the grounds are kept in perfect condition. We had dinner in the O'Connell dining room and it was delicious. Perhaps the best part of our entire stay was the staff. Eddie is the staff member who checked us in and who truly assisted us through the entire stay. Eddie even took the time to show us around to some of the "off the grid" areas of the castle after we had dinner. It is staff members like him who make properties stand out among others. We cannot wait to go back and to hopefully have a longer stay! Thanks Eddie!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at the Ballyseede Castle in Tralee, IE in May 2012 and cannot say enough about it. The grounds were amazing as well as the accommodations. We normally ate breakfast in the main dining room but had lunch, dinner or drinks in the bar, all of which we enjoyed. Of particular note, having been on holiday for about a week already we were missing our dogs from home but Ballyseede Castle had it all, including some very royal dogs. (We've since learned that one has passed away which were so sad to hear, but understand that Higgins the Irish wolfhound is well.)

Highly recommend considering a stay at Ballyseede Castle if you are in Ireland! You won't regret it!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here a night last week and it was charming! The castle is easy to find and close to town, so that is nice. We were welcomed warmly and shown to our room. The room was down stairs in "Paddy's Way" and we stayed in the Paddy Power room. The room was very nice! It looked newly re-done and it was comfortable and quiet. It had a lovely four poster bed and nice touches like bottled water with the hotel name on it. The grounds are lovely and the dog, Einstein, was also very welcoming to a good belly rub! The breakfast was good and the staff was very nice. A great choice to visit and stay!

Room Tip: The rooms downstairs were quiet and comforable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Ballyseede Castle. We stayed in the French room. It was very large and overlooked the back area where outdoor weddings are performed. The bartender was alot of help with suggestions of things to see in the area. And , of course, there was Einstein, the dog who lives there at the castle and collects tiny rocks in his mouth. The breakfast was outstanding and served in a beautiful stone room. There was also complimentary tea and coffee in the afternoon which was a treat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I returned to ballyseede recently and as usual we had a beautiful room with a 4 poster bed. The food was fabulous only bettered by the staff. I have never had a bad experience here no matter how busy they are. We will deffinitely be back :-)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballyseede Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyseede Castle

Address: Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ballyseede Castle 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 4* Castle hotel located just outside of Tralee town on its own thirty acres of woodland. A very grand Hotel with two AA rosettes and shortlisted for Country House of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Ballyseede Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyseede Castle Hotel Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballyseede Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.