We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Castle!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ballyseede Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ballyseede Castle to your Saves list
Ballyseede Castle
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Castle!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was something I so very much looked forward to on our trip, they idea of staying in an actual castle was like a dream come true!

However, I was torn on the actual stay. They had some great employees and some not so great ones. You are pretty much isolated in this castle, where there is a restaurant, lounge and seating areas which is great for a night. The service was hit and miss.

The room was greatly appointed and decorated, however we ended up in the "basement". We paid for a Superior Deluxe Room and ended up on the bottom floor. As nice as the room was on the inside we faced a wall out our window. It was just something we wished we had been warned about.

The food was good and the overall decor of the castle was greatly done.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    125
    38
    11
    16
See reviews for
157
265
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartsville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

While planning our trip through Ireland, we wanted a night or two at a "castle". Ballyseede certainly fit the description. The staff was very helpful and the hotel was excellent. Our room was large and nicely filled with furniture. The pub dinners and the breakfasts were very good, Being able to use the lounges to relax in the evenings was wonderful. The castle dogs added a warm and friendly feel to the atmosphere. We would stay at Ballyseede Castle again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "Paddy" room on the ground floor and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

On our girls trip around Ireland, we wanted to stay at a castle. Due to our budget we reserved one room for group of 4. We got a decent price and it included a delicious breakfast. The castle is about 15 minutes from the city of Tralee in a secluded and peaceful area. We parked our car on the castle grounds and immediately you’re greeted by the miniature horses and donkeys right across the castle. Once you enter the castle, they are two friendly dogs to greet as well. The staff was friendly too and if you meet Esther in the breakfast room, please make sure to ask her sightseeing tips - she's a hilarious spark :)

The hotel old in history and charming type hotel. It met our needs for two nights as a base to explore the Dingle Peninsula. Because we were a party of 4, they gave us the Family room which was located in the basement of the castle (formerly known as the servants quarters and felt quite haunted). The room was adequate – clean and comfy beds. The castle has many sitting areas to relax, chat and even wifi the net. The bar was full of guests…most wedding guests. The grounds were quiet to stroll around as well. I recommend this hotel as a base if you desire a different type of accommodation – a castle!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We arrived at Ballyseede while a very large wedding was in full swing! After making our way to the reception desk through the wonderfully colorfully dressed party goers in our jeans sweatshirts and sneakers we were greated by Esther. Words cannot express how wonderful she was. We know she was very busy with the hustle and bustle of the wedding but she got us signed in, took us to our rooms with some humor by informing us she knew we were coming and had the band set up for our arrival (LOL). We fould a nice little pub for dinner not far from the castle and waited for the wedding to wind down before bringing in our luggage. We were entertained by the wedding guests that partied well into the next morning. They provided us with quite a bit of entertainment from our third floor rooms. Breakfast was wonderful and Esther provided us with directions and options to get to Dingle for our day trip. We braved Conner's Pass on a gorgous day, shopped and drove the Slea Head loop. Upon returning to the Castle we made our way to the bar where we met some wonderful people and had a great bartender. We even taught him a wonderful American shot we enjoy here.
We would love to stay here again, even though it was one of the highest priced locations on our trip it was worth it. The rooms were extremely large with bathrooms to match. The grounds were beautiful and worth strolling around and still close enough to be a base for day trips. The staff was pleasant and made us feel just as important as the large wedding that was staying there. Especially Esther she runs like a well oiled machine!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We booked into Ballyseede Castle Hotel for just one night in November of 2013, during the off season. It is a comfortable hotel with gracious proportions in both the public areas as well as the guest bedrooms. Country walks rewarded us with vistas of the hotel from the woods and neighboring fields. The people at Ballyseede welcomed us warmly; they attended to our needs, offering midafternoon tea and snacks. We enjoyed the five course meal in the dining room, which was very tasty and well-presented.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful room overlooking the front lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

From the moment we walked in the castle door to the moment we left , we have never been made so welcome , what a place, the family owners , staff and fantastic food . The bedrooms are Huge with 4 poster beds it's like going back in time . I cannot recommend this place enough .

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was a guest at a wedding twice in this hotel... loved it on both occasions. Staff were v.pleasant & attentive & location it is a piece of heaven. As you drive in you take a moment & think WOW.... Venue itself may need a bit of updating.. but to be honest, you dont even really notice it eventually... Food was yummy.. drink a little bit pricey.. but overall I have to say I would recommend the place...

Room Tip: Didnt get to stay this time... as they have only limited amount & hotel was booked out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballyseede Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyseede Castle

Address: Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ballyseede Castle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 4* Castle hotel located just outside of Tralee town on its own thirty acres of woodland. A very grand Hotel with two AA rosettes and shortlisted for Country House of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ballyseede Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyseede Castle Hotel Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballyseede Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.