We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's possible to stay in a Castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballyseede Castle

Save Saved
You added Ballyseede Castle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ballyseede Castle
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Tralee
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
“It's possible to stay in a Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

On our girls trip around Ireland, we wanted to stay at a castle. Due to our budget we reserved one room for group of 4. We got a decent price and it included a delicious breakfast. The castle is about 15 minutes from the city of Tralee in a secluded and peaceful area. We parked our car on the castle grounds and immediately you’re greeted by the miniature horses and donkeys right across the castle. Once you enter the castle, they are two friendly dogs to greet as well. The staff was friendly too and if you meet Esther in the breakfast room, please make sure to ask her sightseeing tips - she's a hilarious spark :)

The hotel old in history and charming type hotel. It met our needs for two nights as a base to explore the Dingle Peninsula. Because we were a party of 4, they gave us the Family room which was located in the basement of the castle (formerly known as the servants quarters and felt quite haunted). The room was adequate – clean and comfy beds. The castle has many sitting areas to relax, chat and even wifi the net. The bar was full of guests…most wedding guests. The grounds were quiet to stroll around as well. I recommend this hotel as a base if you desire a different type of accommodation – a castle!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    350
    115
    35
    9
    15
See reviews for
141
239
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewood, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We arrived at Ballyseede while a very large wedding was in full swing! After making our way to the reception desk through the wonderfully colorfully dressed party goers in our jeans sweatshirts and sneakers we were greated by Esther. Words cannot express how wonderful she was. We know she was very busy with the hustle and bustle of the wedding but she got us signed in, took us to our rooms with some humor by informing us she knew we were coming and had the band set up for our arrival (LOL). We fould a nice little pub for dinner not far from the castle and waited for the wedding to wind down before bringing in our luggage. We were entertained by the wedding guests that partied well into the next morning. They provided us with quite a bit of entertainment from our third floor rooms. Breakfast was wonderful and Esther provided us with directions and options to get to Dingle for our day trip. We braved Conner's Pass on a gorgous day, shopped and drove the Slea Head loop. Upon returning to the Castle we made our way to the bar where we met some wonderful people and had a great bartender. We even taught him a wonderful American shot we enjoy here.
We would love to stay here again, even though it was one of the highest priced locations on our trip it was worth it. The rooms were extremely large with bathrooms to match. The grounds were beautiful and worth strolling around and still close enough to be a base for day trips. The staff was pleasant and made us feel just as important as the large wedding that was staying there. Especially Esther she runs like a well oiled machine!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We booked into Ballyseede Castle Hotel for just one night in November of 2013, during the off season. It is a comfortable hotel with gracious proportions in both the public areas as well as the guest bedrooms. Country walks rewarded us with vistas of the hotel from the woods and neighboring fields. The people at Ballyseede welcomed us warmly; they attended to our needs, offering midafternoon tea and snacks. We enjoyed the five course meal in the dining room, which was very tasty and well-presented.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful room overlooking the front lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

From the moment we walked in the castle door to the moment we left , we have never been made so welcome , what a place, the family owners , staff and fantastic food . The bedrooms are Huge with 4 poster beds it's like going back in time . I cannot recommend this place enough .

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was a guest at a wedding twice in this hotel... loved it on both occasions. Staff were v.pleasant & attentive & location it is a piece of heaven. As you drive in you take a moment & think WOW.... Venue itself may need a bit of updating.. but to be honest, you dont even really notice it eventually... Food was yummy.. drink a little bit pricey.. but overall I have to say I would recommend the place...

Room Tip: Didnt get to stay this time... as they have only limited amount & hotel was booked out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Was a guest at a wedding in Ballyseede two weeks ago. It was excellent. The staff were not only attentive to the wedding party but to their guests as well - which isn't always the case in other hotels. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The venue itself is BEAUTIFUL and has an incredibly professional but relaxed atmosphere. We stayed in the lodge house and not in the main castle. It is literally a 5min walk from the castle - a lovely way to start the day with a short walk to get breakfast in the main castle. Our room was quiet, spacious and beautiful. Beds so comfortable, I think I went into a mini coma! The breakfast was delicious and again the staff were very accommodating with requests. I thought it was great value for money also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCTralee, Owner at Ballyseede Castle, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. It is lovely to hear from wedding guest who have stayed. I'm delighted you enjoyed The Lodge, the new build on the avenue as you approach the castle. We love weddings and are proving a very popular choice in Kerry. As Kerry's only Castle Hotel it is growing in popularity and thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. Rory & Marnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was our 2nd place we stayed after Galway. Upon driving in you are greeted with 3 donkeys, a few miniature ponies & an amazing castle. We did not get to meet Mr Higgins but did meet & pet Einstein. It was nice to give him a few pets & not miss my own pup. The bar was great & then there was dinner! It was 5 courses of magical mouthwatering food. We all said it was a top 10 meal. If you plan to stay there, plan to dine there! I believe it was $50/euros a person which is a steal. They even made my 5th course into an Irish coffee w an upcharge of course but was still Worth it. The rooms were amazing & the shower delightful. Everyone who works there is awesome. You can even buy the water jug as a souvenir.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCTralee, Owner at Ballyseede Castle, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your lovely and personal comments. You have achieved to capture the essence of Ballyseede Castle. We love for people to enjoy their experience and this is reflected in what you said. Thank you again and call to us again. Rory & Marnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballyseede Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyseede Castle

Address: Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ballyseede Castle 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 4* Castle hotel located just outside of Tralee town on its own thirty acres of woodland. A very grand Hotel with two AA rosettes and shortlisted for Country House of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Ballyseede Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyseede Castle Hotel Tralee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballyseede Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.